We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Buckingham Club

Show Prices
#120 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Buckingham Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 143: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Loved the Buckingham Club. It was on the 40th floor of the Chicago Stock Exchange so the views were stunning. The room was clean, the staff helpful and the breakfast was great. Absolutely no complaints and many compliments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
Management response:

We are so happy to hear that you loved The Buckingham Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to see you again.

Oulu, Oulu, Finland
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I enjoyed my stay here. It seems like an office building and they converted the 40th floor into a hotel. The view is amazing from 40th floor!. Rooms are dated but maintained well. The mattress seems to be pretty old and need replacement. It wasn't a satisfying sleep.They give complimentary breakfast but it is probably worst breakfast I've ever saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuwan F
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We searched long and hard for a nice hotel with a reasonable rate. Located on top of an admin high rise this hotel only has 20 or so rooms. Check in is far from normal as the front desk in the lobby does this task. No fear as the staff were great to deal with. We arrived at 1000pm on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crakas
Management response:

Well you certainly traveled a great distance! Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to see that you had a good experience. So sorry about your coffee. We do appreciate and welcome your feedback and if your travels should bring you back to Chicago we hope you stay with us.

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Really had a great time at this hotel, I have great and ok feelings about this hotel. Everything about this hotel is awesome the location, staff, view, price, gym are all top notch. But there are a few things that I would improve on. The rooms are a little dated, worm spots on towel racks and fixtures just looks cheap....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TristanL1978
Management response:

We're so happy you found us and chose to stay at The Buckingham Hotel. We certainly appreciate the feedback and always look for ways to improve our guest experience. We do hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The staff make this Hotel: Angela at the Front Desk and Merlan in Reservations made our recent stay so successful. The view of Lake Michigan and the Buckingham Fountain from our room was mesmerising. The ease of transport from O’Hare airpot on the Blue line was fantastic, and the options from the LaSalle/van Buren station made it so east to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Felicity J
Management response:

Always great to have visitors from the other side of the world! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the great feedback. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again should your travels bring you back to The Windy City.

Aberdeen
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I selected this hotel because it looked good and was walking distance from the L train from the airport. It's also walking distance to Union a station from where we were departing. Location is brilliant, in the heart of a vibrant city. The lake views from our room were stunning. Room was beautiful and well appointed. Staff greeted us with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrendaBill
Management response:

We are so happy that you had such a good experience with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to review and comment about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Algodones, New Mexico
Reviewed 9 September 2016

When we first checked in, front desk clerk gave us breakfast vouchers that she said were only good on Friday & Monday. She neglected to tell us that Monday the breakfast eatery would be closed and most of Chicago in that area would be closed. We had to walk quite a ways to find breakfast. In-room dining had the wrong...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karleen G
Management response:

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Please know that we are so sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to our standards. Your comments will allow us to further review our policies and help to improve our guests experience. We do hope you will give us another try next time...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely awful! Horrible useless staff, old tired rooms, no hotel amenities, awful bed and pillows, minimum of 2 elevators to get to the rooms. This is a "secure" office building with an ill conceived hotel stuck on the top floor. Do not even consider staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
Management response:

Hi, I am so sorry to read about your experience with us. Please contact me directly to further discuss the issues you had with your stay. I can be reached at joconnor@kempersports.com or please call me at 312-663-8900. Sincerely, John O'Connor General Manager

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 30 August 2016

A rather unique hotel with very nice rooms. I did find a few long hairs (mine are short) in the bathroom. However, other than that the room was excellent. The drink and snack bar were obscenely expensive, but the staff and hospitality were excellent. I had forgotten my phone charger and the hostess loaned me her own charger for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wildkit76
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are quite pleased to read that you had a good stay with us. We do love our views and always strive to match that experience with the rest of your stay. We hope you consider us again.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It was a wonderful 3 night stay. Surely be back here. Surely recommend friends to go for it. Close to to down town close to metra and subways. Eateries are also nearly 3 mints walk. Safe place wonderful for family stay. Cons: walls are thin if you have noisy neighbours you may here noise. Weekends onky have free brakefast. Plan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drsckol
Management response:

Just a quick note of thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to read that you had such a pleasant experience. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Chicago.

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#35 of 189 in Chicago
1,817 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Standard Club
The Standard Club
#132 of 189 in Chicago
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 189 in Chicago
626 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#122 of 189 in Chicago
1,886 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown / The Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown / The Loop
Often visitors' first stop in Chicago, The Loop is a good starting point to sample the city's energy and flavor. This central business district boasts Michelin-rated restaurants, upscale hotels, premier shopping, and enough arresting architecture to keep your camera busy for hours. You won’t find too many photo galleries of downtown Chicago without a shot of Millennium Park and Cloud Gate (“The Bean”), one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. A stunning skyline coupled with cultural attractions like the Art Institute of Chicago present a Downtown where work and play peacefully coexist.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Price Range: RM538 - RM1,627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Buckingham Club staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Buckingham Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't think there are bad rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles russelle175, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Lake view: fabulous!!”
 of 5 bubbles FelicityJ889, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles BrendaBill, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask to inspect room before you settle for it. Ask if their in-room menu is the correct one.”
 of 5 bubbles karleeng2014, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad views from any of the rooms.The NE corner suite probably has the best views. All rooms have both city and lake views.”
  • Lake view from my north-facing room
  • City view from my north-facing room
  • Panoramic view from my north-facing room
 of 5 bubbles Wildkit76, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay