We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn of Chicago

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,479: English reviews
Start your review of Inn of Chicago
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked our room 4 months in advance. When we arrived, they had given the room to someone else that night. They did get us a room at a different hotel for that night... but that was still unacceptable. The entire hotel is entirely too bland and dull. Best part we found was the hotel bar. We had a world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ezekiel K
Grand Blanc, Michigan
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This is an older boutique hotel but in the BEST location in Downtown Chicago. Our room was on the 21st floor overlooking the Magnificent Mile. The room is very simple, with a refrigerator (no microwave). Beds were comfortable. The staff was fantastic. No issues encountered. Very affordable in a great location. Within walking distance to shopping, attractions, restaurants and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickee S
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Vickee S, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed our location. I hope you can return and visit us again in the future! Warm Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I love the Inn of Chicago. Every visit has seen me greeted by friendly staff who go out of the way to accommodate me. That's probably why I return here on my frequent visits to Chicago. It's just off Magnificent Mile and so close to Navy Pier and other attractions that I've not had to use an uber unless venturing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Jordan C, Thank you for sharing your experience and for your continued loyalty! We are delighted to have you as our guest and look forward to your next visit! All the Best, Matt Karow General Manager

Montevideo
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Lady at the frontdesk was rude. She gave me my 200 dollar deposit in bills of $10 because she didn't want to be bothered to go to the back to get me hundreds like I had given her at check in. Juan was great though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Sebastian S, Thank you for your review and for visiting us. I apologize for this experience at our front desk. We will review this with our management team and follow up with our team. I will be sure to thank Juan as well for his efforts. Thank you again. Best Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Do not stay here. Me & my partner have been billed twice for the room & now the hotel are extremely unhelpful in resolving the issue. We stayed in Feb now in April & the issue has not been sorted out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear James W, Thank you for staying with us and sharing this feedback. I sincerely apologize for the billing issue you encountered. Please contact our MOD at (312) 787-3100 so we may resolved this. Thank you again. Kind Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

Montreal Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was dark, a bit dingyWhat I would have done to have just a small fridge,or a micowave. Not even an in- room safe. The worst: this lumpy bed!! At least, the room was clean, the bathroom, albeit small was clean. The location of the hotel was good, and central..the only real plus!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsohmer
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear jsohmer, Thank you for staying with us and for providing this feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our great location. As for the bed, we will certainly follow up on this as a lumpy bed is not something we want in our guest rooms. Thank you again. Kind Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

Tampa FL
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For the price n location can't be beat. Yes the room we were in was small and bathroom tiny but we were only there to sleep shower and plan the next adventure. all staff we interacted with were pleasant and seemed genuinely glad we chose their hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daltexranger
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear daltexranger, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing this feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed a great birthday weekend Downtown Chicago. We hope to see you again! Warm Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location was awesome and we were right in the middle of all we wanted to do while in Chicago! Room was small and dark, as was bathroom, but it was clean and comfortable. I was only in town for 1 night so it met my needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Passportlove09
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Passportlove09, Thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our great location and hope to see you again soon. All the Best, Matt Karow General Manager

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The office travel team booked my trip to Chicago one day short. As a result, I had to get on line a look for a hotel during a big convention. Prices were extremely high. The most budget conscious option was The Inn. Not bad but it is quite dated and small for the money they charge. Very small rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Denis H, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide this feedback. We are working hard on continued improvements and hope you can come back again in the future. Kind Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't let the pictures and lobby sway you. This hotel was completely subpar and in need of very affordable and fixable repairs. We booked a hotel due to a last minute children's hospital stay and wish we would have looked in another neighborhood. The rooms are dingy, dark, out dated and not well managed. The staff was fairly friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kruek
Matt K, General Manager at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review

Dear kruek, Thank you for staying with us and providing this feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. We are working hard on continuous improvement to make our hotel even better. Thank you again. Warm Regards, Matt Karow General Manager

621 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (383)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
One King Bed (28)
Viewed
One King Bed Handicap Accessible (31)
Viewed
One Queen Bed (24)
Viewed
One Queen Bed Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Two Double Beds (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#103 of 187 in Chicago
1,524 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#76 of 187 in Chicago
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Magnificent Mile

Neighbourhood Profile
Magnificent Mile
Over 400 stores pack the concrete along Michigan Avenue, the eight-block stretch known as Magnificent Mile. This area between Oak Avenue and the Chicago River is more a shopping paradise than a full-out neighborhood. For prime upscale shopping, this is the place to go. It’s busy, energetic, and packed with shoppers. You'll also find hundreds of restaurants and dozens of hotels, all on the mid- to high-end scale. Some of the city’s most iconic buildings like the Wrigley Building, John Hancock Center and other architectural marvels define the magnificence of this neighborhood.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Price Range: RM453 - RM1,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn of Chicago staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Inn of Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms had beautiful views! However the mattress ruined it...”
BizTrvlr82, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors provide great views of the city”
vickees, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“my corner room was great”
SoccerMom2012, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was on the 18th floor. There was almost no noise.”
Westerner124, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
  • Old and stained carpet
  • moldy fixtures
  • Leaky HVAC
  • Fixtures falling off the wall.
Laurent139NYC, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5