Hilton Chicago
Traveller (1995)
Newly renovated guest bathroom
Room & Suite (911)
720 South at the Hilton Chicago
Dining (89)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#140 of 211 hotels in Chicago
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the Hilton Chicago, Chicago's best address for business or leisure, where a $50 million rejuvenation provides you an environment where Classic meets Cool. The Hilton Chicago is located in the South Loop district of downtown Chicago, within walking distance of State Street and Magnificent Mile shopping, Financial District, Millennium Park, The Field Museum, Buckingham Fountain, Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetarium and Soldier Field. Overlooking Grant Park, Lake Michigan and Museum Campus, Hilton Chicago is in walking distance of Soldier Field's games and concerts, and near Pilsen neighborhood's bar and restaurant scene. Hop on the 'L' to Chinatown or simply absorb the arts featured in Wabash Arts Corridor. Enjoy a soulful evening at Buddy Guy's Legends. The Hilton Chicago is also convenient to noted learning institutions such as University of Chicago, Columbia College, Roosevelt University and DePaul University.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Paid wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Breakfast Included Offer

Location

720 South Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Midway Airport
14.3 km
See all flights
O'Hare Intl Airport
26.3 km
See all flights
Harrison
4 minChicago L
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles6,791 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Hilton Chicago has garnered mixed reviews, with guests appreciating its prime location near parks and cultural sites, yet many find the hotel's atmosphere outdated, particularly in regards to room decor and general ambiance. While the bar area offers a cozy retreat, reviewers often express dissatisfaction with the value, pointing out the high costs in relation to the worn decor and lackluster services. Amenities like the gym and pool are highlights, although service experiences vary, with notable criticism directed at housekeeping and staff responsiveness.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
6,791Reviews130Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,628
  • 2,023
  • 1,200
  • 585
  • 355
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AbelCarrillo wrote a review Jun 2023
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I have stayed at 4 different Hilton hotels in Chicago and this by far is my favorite! The hotel is beautiful and staff is amazing and friendly. There is an Irish pub by the hotel lobby with great food and Guinness on tap. Oscar and Mike by the fitness/pool center go above and beyond to accommodate and make you feel welcomed. Facilities are top notch. If you are not a Hilton Honors member, you need too and won’t regret it. You get room upgrades and food/beverage credits, Hilton does it right to make you feel special! Can’t wait to go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 20 Jun 2023
Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate the glowing review and thank you for the five-star rating of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago! It was a pleasure to provide you with the highest quality of service and accommodations. We love that you find our hotel to be beautiful with amazing and friendly staff. So glad you enjoyed Kitty's and loved the great food and drinks. We are delighted to learn of your appreciation for the services you received from Oscar and Mike. I will be sure to let them know and they will be recognized for their efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back and serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton Hotels are known. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristen S wrote a review Feb 2020
Clarkston, Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at the Hilton Chicago while taking my son on a tour of one of the colleges nearby. This was my second time staying in the hotel. It's location near several colleges as well as the beautiful park was a plus. The room was updated and clean. It had 2 bathrooms which was a great perk with our 2 teens in the room. Check in was hassle free and we were offered the option of an upgrade to our room for a nominal fee which we declined but it was nice to have the option. When we did have an issue with our room (the mini fridge wasn't working) maintenance came within a reasonable amount of time to address and fix the issue. Staff was professional and friendly. Parking is available but we did not use it this time. My biggest complaint was that there were Hilton employees stationed by the elevators trying to sell vacation club memberships. At first I thought it was just hotel security checking for key cards and then got stuck talking to this sales person for 10 minutes. I finally just said I wasn't interested and walked away while she was still talking. I got approached twice during my stay. I found this to be extremely annoying and thought is was inappropriate to station them by the elevators. The other thing to know is that NOTHING is given away for free here. There is a gym but you have to pay for a day pass. There is wifi but if you want it in your room, you have to pay. We are Hilton Honors members but we weren't able to get free wifi because we book via a 3rd party as we were cashing in rewards points from another company. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast but it was very pricey for what was offered. There were better breakfast options within close walking distance. Overall, a nice place to stay in downtown Chicago.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrianMarchi, Manager at Hilton Chicago
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the review of your past stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your positive rating in our overall service and accommodations. We are very glad to have you stay with us again. I really appreciate the detailed feedback you have provided. I am pleased to read that you appreciated our friendly staff, great accommodations and convenient location. Please accept our genuine apology for the disturbance you experienced with our Hilton Grand Vacation representatives. I will be addressing this with our team to ensure better practices in the future. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, so we can serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton hotels are known. Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Global66983687681 wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is just average. Don’t be fooled by the history and impressive lobby. This is not a five star hotel. The rooms are old and a bit shabby. There is a shower with a shower curtain, no mini bar, no complimentary water, no in room safe. The room service starts from 5:30 so if you are travelling from abroad and wake up early because of jet lag prepare to starve and be thirsty.

Also check that your room is clean. Mine wasn’t and I had to call to get someone clean it. The service works: I did get the room cleaned and some water from the front desk. But it is very average. They don’t help you with your luggage. They also take a fee from taking care of your bags if you want to leave them after you’ve checked out. I have never experienced that before even in a two star hotel!

It is just not a hotel that attempts to delight you as the five star hotels in many occasions do. I think that the management is not customer obsessed and doesn’t attempt to get visitors to return. The location is convenient, bed is comfortable and if you can get a good deal it might be worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrianMarchi, Manager at Hilton Chicago
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking a moment to share a detailed review of your past stay with us. We genuinely apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the accommodations and services that we provide. I just wanted to let you know that we no longer have mini bars in our guestrooms but we do have a mini fridge, so our guests may have the option to store their food and beverage. We do have an in room safe in our guestroom and it is located inside the drawer of the side table next to the bed. We are sorry for the lack of cleanliness as this is not our service standard of excellence and this review has been shared with our housekeeping department for corrective action. As for luggage storage, we offer complimentary luggage storage for arrival, however for departures we have opted for paid service for the security and proper management of the guest's luggage due to the volume of request for this service. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make the necessary improvements in our hotel. Please know that your experience does not reflect the overall performance of our hotel when it comes to service and product. We truly value each and every one of our guests and would want nothing but the best experience for them. We are regretful that you were disappointed with your stay and would like to have the opportunity to address your concerns. In this regard, may we request you to please contact our Front Office Managers at 312-922-4400 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
drpleasant wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a conference hotel that can't keep up with the number of people that stay here. I stayed for 5 days this past week and the carpet outside my room was never vacuumed during my stay. There was litter and dirt that I began to recognize as I came and left my room. On one night my room was not refreshed when I returned at 6pm. The heat in the room was also a problem. It was 77 - 81 degrees even when set to 68. I was told to open the window which wasn't easy. And one last issue, because the hotel is near Grant Park, there aren't a lot of places to eat nearby. This past week it was quite cold so I looked at the offerings in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was $35+ per person. I know hotel food is sold at a premium but this is simply too high. The other options are a faux Starbucks and an uninspired Irish bar.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrianMarchi, Manager at Hilton Chicago
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your time and feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago. I would like to apologize for the areas we feel short as mentioned in your response. Particularly with the litter left outside the room and the room temperature. I assure you that our management team has reviewed your comments thoroughly and are actively addressing the issue. It is our goal to provide the most comfortable and luxurious accommodations to all of our guests, and I’m very sorry that such a disturbance affected your experience. I hope you will consider giving our property the opportunity to restore your confidence at a future date. If you would like to discuss your stay any further, a Guest Services Manager would be more than happy to speak with you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us. Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stlmouse wrote a review Jan 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a busy property located within a 15-20 minute walk to the museum campus (Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, and Adler Planetarium) and a short walk to Millennium Park. The rooms were well appointed. Our party of 7 stayed in 2 different 2 Queen Bed, 2 bathroom room. This type of room is a major advantage of this hotel. The Diamond member benefit was a $20 voucher per night per room for breakfast at the coffee shop. I was under the impression it was a credit at this restaurant, but there are apparently restrictions on how the credit can be used. No upgrade was offered for the room and we were put on a normal floor. A bit of a disappointment for the Diamond status. Overall, it was a comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrianMarchi, Manager at Hilton Chicago
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your detailed review of your past stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your positive scores in our overall service and accommodations. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and convenient location. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to make the necessary improvements in our service. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding your Diamond benefits and would like to have our Front Office Managers have the opportunity to address. In this regard, may I request you to please contact us at your earliest convenience at 312-431-6943. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ina B wrote a review Apr 2022
Vaihingen an der Enz, Germany
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled with my husband for a conference that was taking place at the Hilton Chicago. When we arrived we noticed that construction was taking place on Michigan Street, so the main entrance to the hotel was closed. That closure partially blocked the windows of the only restaurant open, the Kitty O'Shea, which was really a tavern. We arrived early and were grateful that they could let us check in early. We were paying extra for a lake view, and were put in a room on the 21st floor. It would have been a beautiful view except for the fact that a huge television completely obscured one window, so we could only see the view from one window. The room is fairly bland, as I expected from a Hilton conference hotel. It had the requisite non-luxury non-cotton sheets and towels offered by Hilton.

Positives: 1. The location was good for walking near the lake.
2. They let us check in early.

Negatives: 1. The hotel had one tavern/restaurant to serve thousands of people from various conferences. There was a take out place that served pretty bad food at premium prices. There are few decent places nearby to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner.
2. The thermostat in the room did not work, so it was either too cold or too warm.
3. Housekeeping was only available with a 24 hour advance appointment. We reserved, but no one showed up. The housekeeping manager offered to send someone up when we called, necessitating that we vacate the room for more time. The housekeeper told me she did not keep the appointment because the "do not disturb" tag was on the door. No, it wasn't! It was on the floor, where I left it.
4. It costs $15 to use the fitness center. Yes, really!
5. The television remote did not work well, and there were very few good channels anyway.
6. On check-out my husband found that the hotel had overcharged for the "view" room, and the person he spoke to said, "we'll have to figure out what happened" before they would correct the bill. How about: Yes, sir, I apologize ! We'll fix that right away!

We had another 4 days to spend in Chicago, a great place to be during Chicago Restaurant Week. We stayed in a lovely hotel in the center of everything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Lake views can be nice, but may be blocked by televisions.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the ongoing sidewalk construction in front of our hotel and for the rest of itemized issues in the abovementioned comments. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to address these issues and make improvements in our service and accommodations. We would like to discuss this further with you, so please call our Front Office Managers at 312-922-4400. We always strive to create wonderful, heartfelt experiences at our hotel. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the exceptional service we are known for. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anonymous wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I wanted to love this hotel so much! We visited Chicago twice when the Hilton Chicago was closed, and couldn't wait to try it when it reopened. Such a majestic, historic building at a stunning location. We have been hit or miss with other hotel chains over the years, but Hiltons have always been reliably good to great, so we figured this flagship property would be outstanding (especially for the price, which was significantly higher than other hotels in the vicinity).

Our first room was super musty and dusty. The smell of mildew from the old carpet was oppressive. It was dark and looked like it hadn't ever seen sunlight. Very depressing and allergenic!

We were grateful for the front desk staff who transferred us to another room which on first glance (sniff) seemed much better. We dropped our stuff, went to find food, and didn't realize until we were back and settled into bed that the room was just as dusty as the other one (just not as musty and with much better sunlight).

It was too late to switch rooms (or hotels), so I took a washcloth and tried to wipe down the space myself. It was an act in futility, because the dust was coming from the filthy HVAC registers (that I couldn't reach), as well as the pot lights. Wiped down as much as I could, took allergy medicine, and checked out early the next day. The bed was very comfortable, but my allergic eyes looked like a raccoon had gotten into a fight. :(

No apologies from the front desk. No offer to credit some or all of the room charges. No real response other than a cursory nod when I suggested that they send housekeeping upstairs for a deep scrub before renting that room out again. I hate being high maintenance, and it already took all of my nerve to ask to be moved once, and then again to ask to leave early without penalty. Wish someone had pretended to care.

We packed up and moved down to the Homewood Suites a few blocks away (equally amazing location with stunning views, super clean, and significantly less expensive). But we lost 5 hours of hotel time between checkout at Hilton and check-in at the new hotel (Homewood stored our luggage until the room was ready). Our day would have been infinitely easier if we could have used the bathroom, taken a shower, changed our clothes, and had access to our belongings between sightseeing and moving our child into his dorm that afternoon.

At least the gelato at the cafe was delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Be careful with the rooms that face other parallel wings -- not enough natural light
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ioannis Vragkos, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as stated in your comments. This is not typical Hilton standards and we are truly regretful of your unfortunate experience. Please know that I will personally address your concerns with my team to ensure that corrective actions are taken to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. We are committed to taking care of our guest and what happened was certainly not acceptable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, Ioannis Vragkos Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven N wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I just stayed for five nights at the Hilton Chicago for a conference and had several problems while there. The housekeeping was poor - papers under desks and the bathroom vanity, an old sock left in the closet. One day, housekeeping never showed up at all. I had a significant problem with temperature control. If i had the heat on, it was too hot and uncontrollable. If I turned it off, the room became too cold.

The breakfast is decent, but overpriced. One morning, the server tried to charge me for a full breakfast when all I had was a continental one. Another morning, a female colleague was treating me to breakfast. The male server, assuming I was paying, gave the check to me. When my colleague took it, he commented that as the man, I should be paying. Not only was this unprofessional and inappropriate, it made us really uncomfortable,

On another occasion I called for assistance with an issue. The operator tried to connect me to the relevant party. After waiting on hold for several minutes, I hung up and tried again. The same operator answered, and after telling her I had been waiting for 7 minutes, she replied, "You just called here two seconds ago." I found this very offputting and unprofessional.

On check in, I was given no guidance on accessing wifi, and nothing in the information in the room helped.

Overall, with few exceptions,I found the hotel staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful. I would be hard put to recommend this place to anyone or to stay here again myself.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrianMarchi, Manager at Hilton Chicago
Responded 17 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the very detailed review of your past stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the service discrepancies you have experienced. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Please know that we value your feedback and your detailed comments have been shared with our management team, in the appropriate departments, so that we can follow-up, as needed, and address with our team members. It is a priority for us to prevent similar occurrences in the future. We are regretful of your unfortunate experience and would like to have the opportunity to address your concerns. In this regard, may I please request you to contact our Front Office Manager at 312-922-4400 at your earliest convenience. We look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rosimmom wrote a review Jul 2021
New Jersey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip since Covid. The hotel just reopened recently. Even though it was July 4th it was not fully booked. The hotel is not fully staffed yet but you would never know. Every single person we encountered was friendly, helpful, and nice. The hotel and our rooms were very clean.
Due to Covid, you schedule when you want housekeeping to come. You also make reservations to use the pool for a two hour time slot. It was so nice cause the pool was not crowded and you actually got to enjoy your time in the pool. Housekeeping would do a wonderful job.
We loved the room. We had a lake view room. Our room had two full bathrooms, one had a shower and the other had a tub/shower combo. It was awesome. We didn’t have to share with our teens and two people could get ready at once. The rooms are very spacious for a city hotel. The beds were very comfortable.
The location is right on Michigan Ave down the street from Millenium Park. Everything was walkable. The restaurants are opening up again. We didn’t have a car and it was ok.
We will definitely stay here again. We loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They have a parking garage. The Grant Park Bistro next door was very good. Also Yolk about three...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brian Marchi, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the 5 star rating of your stay experience at the Hilton Chicago! We appreciate you for taking the time to write a glowing review about your stay and for recognizing the friendliness and outstanding service of our staff as well as the awesome accommodations we provide at the hotel. It is always great to know that we are meeting the expectations our guests have come to expect and deserve. I'm glad to read that our hotel gave you easy access to the various tourist attractions nearby. There are plenty of cultural activities to do and see and it is wonderful that you and your family were able to enjoy that. We cannot wait to welcome you back, so you can enjoy another 5 star experience at the Hilton Chicago! Sincerely, Brian Marchi Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy B wrote a review Jul 2022
Onalaska, Wisconsin
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a perfect location for family sightseeing in Chicago with the museums to the south and the shopping, Navy Pier and Millennial Park to the north. Our group of three generations, including two teenagers, had three rooms in the same wing so we could access each other easily. Self parking, a large pool and fitness center, a casual restaurant and two bars make this hotel a comfortable "home" after being out all day. Although not cheap, I felt it was worth the expense for the security and spaciousness of the rooms and public areas. Our only complaint was that there weren't enough food choices available in the hotel and bars after the dinner hour, and one morning, when trying to eat a late breakfast, the casual food area was out of stock. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay in the Chicago Hilton on Michigan Avenue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Maggie Morales, Other at Hilton Chicago
Responded 31 Jul 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the five-star review of your recent stay at the Hilton Chicago! It was our pleasure to provide you with the highest quality of service and accommodations. Sincerely, Maggie Morales Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rachel414 asked a question Jun 2024
Grantsburg, Wisconsin173 contributions34 helpful votes
What type of shampoo, etc do they have? Is it the little bottles ? Or the larger pump ones?
Answer from Horse1988
Athens, Ohio262 contributions67 helpful votes
They had the little bottles
robertomf19 asked a question Apr 2024
Rio de 1 contribution
Tem café da manhã?
Answer from Kristen C
10 contributions2 helpful votes
We used the train system as it was considerably cheaper than a taxi. I’ve heard a taxi can be up to $50 one way, whereas a train ticket is $5 one way per person. It’s about a 5-minute walk from the train station (Blue line from O’Hare to Jackson). And I did the walk with my roller board luggage. Good luck!
Answer from World Traveler
464 contributions12 helpful votes
Parking was extra. There is a machine in the lobby to pay to get a ticket to exit. When we exited, the gate was up, so I guess we could have just not paid and driven out. Thinking it was $25 a day.
Guillermo A wrote a tip Jun 2024
Zapopan, Mexico1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to ask to get your room clean"
Read full review
Horse1988 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Athens, Ohio262 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some corner rooms are small."
Read full review
DougJ25 wrote a tip May 2024
New York City, New York1,118 contribution222 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A few days before you arrive, you’ll be asked to upgrade, with options like a higher floor or larger beds. Do it. Upgrades positive."
Read full review
lolaherman25 wrote a tip May 2024
Chandler, Arizona31 contributions42 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away, find a better hotel."
Read full review
G4874CQkarend wrote a tip May 2024
Montclair, Virginia45 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unless you get the Hilton member dining credits, go elsewhere to eat and drink."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 992 - RM 1,680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton chicago hotel chicago, hilton hotel chicago, chicago hilton hotel, hilton towers chicago
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,454
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HILTON CHICAGO: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 2,445 Photos (IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Chicago
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Chicago?
Nearby attractions include Fox In A Box Chicago (0.3 km), The Loop (0.2 km), and Jazz Showcase (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Chicago?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eleven City Diner, Yolk - South Loop, and Buddy Guy's Legends.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hilton Chicago located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hilton Chicago?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hilton Chicago offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Chicago HotelsChicago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChicagoHotels near Hilton Chicago
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire