We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Show Prices
#84 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,036 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,893: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel rooms very in design, but they were all clean. I've stayed here more than once for business. Everyone is friendly. The food is good and the bar is nice. As an IHG member, it met my expectations, but never really exceeded them. If you're looking for something to you, this is not the one but it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I started by checking in a day late so maybe their disinterest in being helpful was my fault. First, the check-in lady, Angie, seemed annoyed to deal with me. I had a check from my work to pay for the room, that I forgot and left in the glovebox of my car. She stated that I could not check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandycrothers
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 1 night. Not so great locality, though pretty much in heart of downtown. The other negative I really had a hard time figuring out the rooms on the 22nd floor, the signs and directions are really confusing. Overall with my experience staying in other Holiday Ins, this was the worst. The Wifi got disconnected, had a hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayan_salto
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Ayan, It is disheartening to learn your stay resulted in a mediocre experience and we failed to impress while being our guest in downtown Chicago. We apologize proper directions to your guestroom were not provided or not clear resulting in confusion when trying to access your guestroom. A $500,000 upgrade to the WiFi infrastructure was completed recently doubling the...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is a great choice if you need to access the Merchandise Mart (especially in the winter!) because you won't have to go outside. I found this hotel to be comfortable and clean, with nice views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, For those doing business in the Merchandise Mart, there’s no better choice than the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Connected via skybridge, the Merchandise Mart is not only home to designer showrooms and various businesses, it also features a food court, salon, shops, and access to public transportation all without stepping a foot outside! Thanks for...

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at plenty of Holiday Inn Hotels, but this one was horrible. First off it is hard to find, confusing on which street to turn on. Parking is 20 dollars if you get the parking, room pack. Parking wasn't bad, its across the street. You walk in and you have to go up to the 15th floor for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sydney M
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Sydney, We apologize your stay with us was anything short of a 5-star experience. From failing to provide a warm welcome and assistance from our doormen on the hotel’s first floor entrance to the cleanliness issues experienced in your guestroom. What you have described in your review is far from the standards and expectations set at the hotel and...

Cadillac, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While we had stayed at this property before, it had been a number of years since our last visit. It was a nice change from hotels on Michigan Avenue or in the River North area (although this probably qualifies as River North), but all in all was a bit disappointing. The distance from major attractions is a minor negative (very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJP1979
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is with regret your second stay led to be a bit of a disappointing experience and we apologize for falling short of providing you with a 5-star experience. Within the last year, the hotel has received brand new lobby furniture, a new 9-screen media wall, $500,000 WiFi infrastructure upgrade, as well as all guestrooms receiving larger 49”...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Well I am a experimented traveler. At this facility I had the worst experience ever. One of my bags just disappear from my room and the hotel staff did not take any responsibility about this issue, I have realized that when I was leaving the hotel and the manager on duty could not do anything to help me out (she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel C
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Nathaniel, What you have described in your review is far from the experience we wish to provide any of our guests and apologize for this unfortunate, isolated incident. The delay in performing the lock interrogation was a result of a broken machine and a new machine was ordered and shipped express to perform the lock interrogation. The interrogation resulted...

West Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Holiday is stunning with amazing views and world class customer service. Must stay! Service was outstanding and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I recommend this location when you are in Chicago.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slegrand1012
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Business Traveler, Your 5-star review and recommendation of the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated! It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to continue providing you with world class customer service during your future stays at the Mart Plaza.

Donna, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here last week for a company conference, and was very much impressed with the hotel. The location is incredible, and views spectacular. The hotel is actually in the old Chicago Sun Times building, and the hotel begins on the 15th floor with great views of the downtown. The beds were amazing (found out that they were brand new),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor A
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Victor, We’re honored to learn the Holiday Inn Mart Plaza has become your favorite hotel in Chicago! It was our pleasure hosting you during your company conference and we are delighted all aspects of your stay exceeded expectations. Your 5-star review is greatly appreciated and will certainly be shared with our staff for a job well done. Thank you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We will be revisiting this hotel again this week - it was a great location and we were able to walk to Macy's and other places we wanted to see while in Chicago with 3 little kids. The pool was nice and clean, sauna was family friendly. Hotel staff was very nice and restaurant was child friendly and we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karoliina V
ChicagoMartPlaza, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review

Dear Karoliina, We’re happy to read the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is the perfect hotel for you and your family! In addition to the hotel’s ample amenities, including a large indoor swimming pool, our River North location keeps guests within walking distance of top attractions and shopping on both State Street and Michigan Avenue via newly expanded...

1,097 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (672)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (77)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (52)
Viewed
Premium Skyline King Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 186 in Chicago
644 reviews
Near North Side
BEST WESTERN River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Price Range: RM471 - RM1,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay here if you want somewhere not family friendly, not spacious rooms, and dirty.”
 of 5 bubbles 888sydneym, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“chose a room on the north side”
 of 5 bubbles aelechi, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid first floor rooms. Twin rooms are ok, double beds are large enough to sleep two comfortably and gives additional workspace”
 of 5 bubbles Stumpy0211, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles SunSeekerMA, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Riverside has an awesome view”
 of 5 bubbles SpectreJon, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5