We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,154: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
 Click to rate
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is just like the other Hotel Indigo's, decorations, bar and restaurant. For what you want out of a hotel, clean, safe, amenities and location this one has it all. Great location to get to downtown, Rush and Division Street and really anywhere on the northside of Chicago. I enjoy staying here because you can really walk to lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianEH32766
Cedarville, Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

the weekend prices are outrageous and the hotel could have been cleaner. both on my pillow and on my towels: someone else's HAIR. there was a big, angry dust bunny on the floor who cussed me out. between the extremely loud, drunk ppl coming in between 1-2am, some raucous party outside on the street at 3:15am, and some super noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunfish1313
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, suggestions, and compliments. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your guest room. Our team works very hard to ensure that each guest room is thoroughly cleaned and we failed to meet our standards in this circumstance. Please know that this issue will be addressed and...

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am an IHG member and received an email to get a hefty bonus to stay at this hotel. Saturday night stays, including breakfast, were extremely affordable, so I gifted my wife a Chicago Staycation. Hotel is located in the Gold Coast, near a lot of shops and restaurants. Not too far from the CTA line. What is nice, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ORD-TGU
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments will be put to good use in our continual efforts to improve our guest experience and our product. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Sometimes I try Priceline deal and it's works but not this time. Staff were no friendly and room not clean. Bathroom toilet was tooooo little and looks like a trining toilet for kids. The Guy at the door Saturday march 11 at night was so rude. next time in Chicago we'll try another Hotel. I don't understand why places like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Echowebpr
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. Please know that we take great pride in our work and will work diligently to eliminate these service and mechanical errors. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

San Clemente
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 4 nights in January. Most of the staff was not overly friendly, however one waiter at the cafe was friendly and attentive. The room was cold and warm at the same time depending on where you were located. The room was somewhat L shaped, with the bathroom at the top of the L and the bed chamber at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaliFlower57
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a better experience with us. Please know that we will address the issues that you have brought to our attention and that we have a full-scale renovation planned near the end of this year!...

Karachi, Pakistan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Small but well maintained hotel located in downtown Chicago. The advantage walking distance to the main shopping malls of the city . The room was good but did not have a fridge or microwave which r essential for families staying with small kids. The hotel charges $ 49 for full day parking with the advantage of multiple in and outs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sajjadmahdi
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your suggestions will be taken under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and plan for a major renovation in the near future! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hassam is an incredibly attentive host at the restaurant. He always has a smile on his face! We had the special of the day – spinach, onion, ham, cheese and tomato omelette with salad and toast. It was an amazing breakfast! Delicious coffee!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracieannelong
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and your kind words. I will be sure to share your comments with Hassan and the rest of our team. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 5 nights and would give this property a thumbs up. The hotel itself is a little old, but the rooms are nicely decorated, Room was a little on the small side, but it was clean with a reasonably powerful shower. The major niggles were that there was no safe in the room and although there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank outrun78
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, your suggestions, and your kind words. We will be sure to take your suggestions under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while we did a college visit at DePaul University. The price was reasonable- 99.00 for college visit rate plus 48.00 per day valet parking fee. The location was great and so getting up early to be at our meeting made this location ideal. Check in was easy and welcoming. We felt safe. The lobby was pretty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Profmeow15
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay. Please know that our engineering team has been made aware of these issues and will address them accordingly. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Bangalore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the heart of Chicago with close access to the metro station. The rooms are old & very average with old furniture and decor. The bathroom too was clean & neat but fitting were very old. Thankfully, the staff was good and friends. This property works well for a budget stay. Given a choice, I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surmen
Eric P, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will use your comments to make improvements that we hope will improve the value of our property. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

674 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (365)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (131)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (240)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (33)
Viewed
Hemingway Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#88 of 187 in Chicago
1,470 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
1,356 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#121 of 187 in Chicago
547 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gold Coast

Neighbourhood Profile
Gold Coast
Located just north of The Loop, Gold Coast is one of Chicago’s most affluent and popular neighborhoods. The original Playboy, Hugh Hefner, once had a mansion here. In addition to prestigious hotels, historic mansions and luxury high-rise apartments, you’ll also find upscale specialty boutiques and Michelin-starred restaurants. Walk along Oak Street for your shopping fix and dance through the night along Rush Street. The Newberry Library is also a great stop to check out noteworthy exhibits and rare book collections.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay away, rude people, bar inside adn loud”
 of 5 bubbles Echowebpr, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor and away from elevator”
 of 5 bubbles outrun78, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room doesn't smell like the hallways”
 of 5 bubbles Profmeow15, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles pneece, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor, back( no view) or corner. Can be noisy on lower floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 815briank, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5