We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

CandlewoodSuitesUS$96*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$164*
US$96*
US$164*
US$96*
US$164*
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
 Click to rate
Hampshire, Illinois
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We experienced damage to our residence so we were required to move to a hotel while the house was being restored. We reserved the one-bedroom suite. Bedroom was roomy with a desk. Bathroom was also roomy but shy on storage space. Kitchenette with full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher where the top rack stuck and a two-burner stove. No oven, but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Hello Shirley P, I am sorry to hear about what happened to your home. It's good to know that you chose the Candlewood Suites Elgin NW-Chicago, IL for your extended stay needs. I'm pleased that the functional kitchenette served its purpose and that you were able to receive top-notch service from the hotel staff. We are thrilled when your expectations...

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had made reservations for 9 nights. Our dog was injured and had surgery the day we were to leave and arrive at the hotel. Not only did they understand and not charge us for that night, but we found out this is a pet friendly establishment. We have never taken a pet with but we had to keep an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
About Hotel's Favourite Review
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Worst management i have seen in my life so far. We have 9 rooms booked with confirmation and when we get there they ware sold out and no one helping us. Owner was rude he hang up phone on me. Then will call ihg and was on the call with them for 1 hr. They didnt help much either. Bottom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I appreciate you considering our hotel for your multiple rooms. On the other hand, I would like to sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations regarding the room reservations you booked for. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they...

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We have booked 9 rooms. We came form Cincinnati for tournament. Confirmation number # 61876534. My friend spoke with owner and he was rude like hell. When we arrived they said they overbooked the hotel. Importantatly he was not helping to find out any other hotel. This is first time it happens with IHG. It is so disappoint. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tarumathu1
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear tarumathu1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your reservation. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for...

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We booked 10 rooms at this hotel as we were 19 people coming from Cincinnati Ohio, we we got arrived at hotel they say they are over booked, owner was back side didn't want to come help us up at front, now he just told front desk to tell us get the hell out of the property we are 18...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miteshkumar P
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear Miteshkumar P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the troubles you had with your reservation. Your feedback is troubling and...

san francisco
Reviewed 28 February 2017

noisy room near front lobby. housekeeping ok, but only once a week. Furnishings and services were marginal compared to other long stay hotels. The remote controls did not work in any of the guest rooms!!! Manager/owner? (middle-aged Indian man) was quite rude about it and everything else. At first I thought that the other complaining guests were overreacting (and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweaterhead
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago, responded to this review

Dear sweaterhead, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apology for the unexpected experience you had with the service you received from one of the members of our management team. We also apologize for the experience you had with the noise and the condition of our facilities and the amenities...

Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Very nice and spacious rooms, the staff were helpful and friendly, housekeeping was attentive and always helpful when needed. It was great to have a treadmill handy, the free laundry was an unexpected and appreciated surprise, as well as the computer in the lobby. Great coffee on the house! Would recommend!! Bill & Kathy F.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wjfoley1954
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I booked this place at the last minute and had no issues getting the room of my choice. The front desk clerk was very helpful and offered to help me with my luggage. The room itself was spacious and the kitchenette was very nice and clean. It included a full size refrigerator, cooktop and dishwasher. The location was ideal as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith J
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We were double charged for our stay and treated with utter disrespect, being insomuch as told to "Not Waste Our Breath" because they wouldn't honor their OWN online rates..and we had to deal with this, all while in town caring for a terminally ill family member. We were not only demanded to pay CASH for incidentals, but then we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This place seems to have thought of most everything a traveler could need...AND it's very clean, well maintained, with comfy beds. This is our 2nd stay here and we'll be back when we need to stay in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank C

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
1.2 km away
Comfort Suites Elgin
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
4.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
99 reviews
4.4 km away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Candlewood Suites Elgin Northwest Chicago, IL is conveniently located 20 minutes from Chicago s O Hare International Airport ORD and only 40 miles from downtown Chicago off Interstate 90. If you are coming to the area for business we are only minutes from Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company and Nissan Forklift. While in the area be sure to experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall or visit nearby Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center or the Schaumburg Convention Center. We understand that extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your special needs. Candlewood Suites is designed from the ground up and our all suite hotel features full kitchens complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free, high speed Internet or relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. When you come to Chicago we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Address: 1780 Capital St, Elgin, IL 60124-7890
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Price Range: RM400 - RM602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago Hotel Elgin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are traveling with a pet rooms on the ends offer great access for where you can take your pet out to exercise.”
AllisonB527, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel, Marriot's are always nice.”
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
  • Right outside of our room.  The community storm drain used as an ash-can.
rebeccaj873, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Call the hotel directly, they have discounts that are not online.”
785sc, 14 Nov 2013 | Read review
“For added security, I would recommend ladies request the top floor, since the windows open.”
LorraineK661, 14 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Take a upper floor if it is available, Highway is not an issue with noise.”
914ScottK, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
CandlewoodSuites
US$96* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$96
Expedia.comUS$96
AMOMAUS$164
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates