We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Homestead

TravelocityUS$136*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$140*
US$136*
US$140*
US$140*
US$136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of The Homestead
 Click to rate
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I go to Evanston, I love staying here. It's less impersonal than a chain hotel. I can walk to Northwestern University and downtown Evanston. I enjoy walking along Lake Michigan which is a block away. The front porch is a lovely place to hang out. Restaurant is very good. I like the old style charm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria O
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor! We love having you stay with us, and appreciate the kind words about our location, restaurant, and charm. We take great pride in our customer service, and appreciate you noticing. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off, please DO NOT call this a hotel - this a bed and breakfast AT BEST, with a good bed and terrible breakfast! The hotel closes at 11pm, and then you have to call the gentleman who will open the door for you after that - I felt really bad waking him up at midnight because my flight was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelZoomer
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We’re sorry to hear you weren’t completely satisfied with your visit. We are indeed a hotel, and have been since the 1920’s. However, as a registered historic property that offers both transient and extended-stay accommodations, it is true that we don’t fit the look or feel of a corporate...

Harrison, New York
Reviewed 16 April 2017

staff was super friendly. If you are visiting northwestern this hotel is literally a couple of blocks off campus. A super easy walk. Beds were comfortable and the place was clean. Basic continental breakfast included. BIG issue though was that there was no sound proofing. We hear people walking down the hallway, turning their faucets on, flushing the toilets. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mela914
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Although we have never stayed in the Homestead rooms, we have visited friends who were very pleased. Most recently we had dinner and brunch in the lovely restaurant, "Hearth" , which is within The Homestead. It was very enjoyable, great ambiance, good food, good service, and best of all quiet so we could enjoy each other's company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet A
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We agree, Hearth is a great restaurant and certainly does provide great ambiance, food, service, and brunch! We look forward to welcoming you on the hotel side as well! Thanks again.

Novato
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed alone while my daughter was visiting Northwestern University. The location is fabulous, being two blocks from campus, two blocks from the water and one block from the grocery store and restaurants. The room is small, which is ok for me, but if there were another person with me, I would need a larger room. The room is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele A
New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel is sweet and fabulous if you're visiting a Northwestern student. The ginger snap cookies at tea time are marvelous. But it is old and musty... however, the internet works! The front desk is grumpy but malleable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy Victoria P
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

The Homestead is a quaint local gem. The hotel is historic and has plenty of charm. The restaurant has fabulous food - breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have stayed at the Homestead 3 times and had a nice time each time. Location is great for visiting Northwestern's campus. Be sure to request a room with shower AND tub. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NoodleTime
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We love staying here. Be careful when choosing room as some rooms are very small. We stay in the one bedroom apartment which suits our needs. Close to South Campus of Northwestern. It is an older hotel with charm.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary D
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with character. We did not find the bathroom small like some other reviewers. There is no coffee maker so that was disappointing but that was really the only negative. We would stay here again for sure if we are ever in Evanston.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lydia R
Akron
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We spent the weekend after Thanksgiving. The place is charming, and well maintained for its age. We really enjoyed staying there, bed was great and room was a nice surprise. The food was outstanding. The employees went out of their way to make our stay excellent. I would recommend this hotel and especially the food 100%. Thanks for letting us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 565jeanettes
Homestead_Hotel, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! We love reading reviews like yours and will be sure to pass along your kind words to our team, as well as the restaurant! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.2 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.8 km away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 km away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
5.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Homestead is a historical hotel, ideally nestled on a residential street just two blocks from both Northwestern University as well as the sandy shores of Lake Michigan. Just a five minute stroll to lively downtown Evanston, we provide our guests with inviting and comfortable accommodations in an appealing, European atmosphere. Each of our ninety guestrooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartment suites have been individually adorned with traditional decor, guaranteeing every guest a unique experience in charming and gracious surroundings. Complimentary continental breakfast and wireless internet are included with each reservation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1625 Hinman Ave, Evanston, IL 60201-6021
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Price Range: RM551 - RM914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Homestead 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Evanston
Homestead Hotel Evanston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Homestead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I love the 8th floor room 807.”
741margretg, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Free parking on the street is available after 9pm and before 9am, saving you a walk to the garage a block away.”
EPool, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a suite if you plan on staying more than one night. They have a kitchenette and are roomier.”
232DeniseB, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room in lower floors: elevator takes only 4 people and it is slow.”
825jaimeh, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask if the room has a tub if you want to avoid a tiny shower booth.”
clairecN9259JC, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$136* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$140
Expedia.comUS$136
Hotwire.comUS$136
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates