We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Main Street Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Main Street Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Main Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Amazing place to stay so close to all the shopping. Great hospitality. Lots of things to make you feel at home. Quiet and comfortable and well priced! We went for our anniversary and loved every minute of our trip. Can very easily walk to everything from this Inn.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tammyilustr8s
Berwyn, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 23 November 2015

This is our favorite and only place we stay in Galena. We visit every year during Nouveau Weekend, not to celebrate the wine but to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is always a great place to stay. We pull into town on Friday and don't have to get in the car until Sunday morning. The innkeeper at the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen S
Oregon, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was only my 3rd year staying at Main Street Inn and it was wonderful as usual. I am very pleased with the Main Street Inn and enjoy staying there. We all have such a great time and the location is fantastic! Can't wait for next year!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JulesbytheSea0321
Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This was our 13th year of staying at the Main Street Inn in Galena. All 14 of us are from Wisconsin and spend a girls' weekend in Galena each fall. We have such a great time, we plan on continuing this tradition - well, until we can't! Main Street Inn is very good to us. We rent all 6 rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HawaiiTraveler0909
McHenry, Illinois
Reviewed 24 October 2015

This inn is next to the trolley stop so offers a nice walk up and down Main Street. The innkeepers are extremely helpful. Though on the 2nd floor, they will meet you and carry luggage up for you, if necessary. There is a selection of 5 rooms of varying sizes. Ours was the smallest but there is a small parlor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louette A
Reviewed 10 October 2015

One positive: lots of HOT water. We stayed in the European Room one night 10/6/15. Did not investigate the hotel beforehand. Should have. The place was very shabby. Mattress was very old. Pillows were "broken" - they felt like sacks of flour; I had a stiff neck by midnight. There was a light bulb broken in the bathroom. Tiles on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris60148
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. It doesn't seem that we are a good fit for your particular needs, though we have many many guests that return to us time and time again because they love the Inn. Your stay was during our busiest 2 weeks of the year, so our apologies for...

Monmouth, Illinois
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This was our second stay at the Main Street Inn. We stayed in the English Room which is a large room with a king bed. The Inn is located in an old brick building, so expect the floors to be creaky and somewhat uneven in places. There is a flight of stairs to the guest rooms and no elevator. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LBB56
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed another stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here many times. I highly recommend it. The rooms are perfect size! The location of the Inn is wonderful!!! Super friendly customer service!! I love the beds!! So comfy!the main parlor has everything you need. From wine glasses and openers to games to play and popcorn and tea!! Wonderful place to stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MJStefko2012
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Booked a room here last minute on a very busy weekend when everything was sold out. Very accommodating and nice people to deal with. Prices were great and room was so nice. Location could not be better! Will definitely go back here when we visit in December..great place!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen W
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay! See you again in the future!

Highland Park, Illinois
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The location was perfect -- close to all there is to see and do in Galena -- but still quiet and private. Our rooms were comfortable, very clean and very pretty. It was a swelteringly hot weekend but the Main Street Inn stated cool with central a/c despite it's Victorian charm. We arrived to find a delicious freshly baked Cinnamon...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cjmcderm
MainStInnGalena, Owner at Main Street Inn, responded to this review

Glad you loved it!

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
3.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.5 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.7 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
119 reviews
0.4 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Galena's historic downtown Main Street, the Main Street Inn is a cozy, inviting place to relax that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places (circa 1850). We offer 6 luxurious and spacious rooms that will meet the needs of romantic adventures, friend getaways, or anything in between.Walk out our front door and take a stroll up Main Street. Browse through Galena's unique stores and boutiques, enjoy dining at one of Galena's fine restaurants, or simply enjoy the comforts of your room.Whatever your reason for coming to Galena, the Main Street Inn is here for you. Not sure what to do while in town? We can help you there too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Main Street Inn

Address: 404 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2231
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Price Range: RM421 - RM620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Main Street Hotel Galena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Main Street Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Main Street Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have their own unique style so I can't pick any one. I would have to pick all.”
 of 5 bubbles donaldbO3957PS, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rose room - cheapest - is very small. Spend the extra $10.”
 of 5 bubbles kathybrez, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are only 6 rooms, so book early if possible. Price varies based on the size of the room”
 of 5 bubbles sdr614, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“because the building is old, the room we stayed in had a much needed attic fan, so ask for the room with the attic fan in it.”
 of 5 bubbles bamah, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are only six rooms and all are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 604gailr, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5