We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sun Aqua Vilu Reef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in Vilu Reef in mid-July 2011 for 10 days. Before the booking I was considering either Water or Beach Villa, finally decided to go for a beach option and luckily we were right. Beach villas are also very spacious, and stay just at the beach, but in the shade of coco trees. At the same time water villas...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sasha_v85
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Sasha, Thank you for choosing Vilu Reef for the special occasion of your honeymoon and for sharing your experience here. What an absolute pleasure to read you have enjoyed every bit of your honeymoon. Glad that you found the Beach Villa and diving fantastic among other things. You positive remarks on our dedicated staff have been happily received by...

Manama
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I was in this resort from 26 June to 1 July 2011, I selected this island based on trip advisor's review which I am very thankful for. My room number was 161 which had a beautiful view, cleaned twice a day, the staff were very helpful and the snorkling area was lovely. What irritated me was the waiters that come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khadijaManama
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Khadija, Thank you for coming here and sharing your experience with us. It is so delightful to read that you had a wonderful holiday at the island and I do apologize for letting you down on the few occasions. We would like to assure you that Vilu Reef does certainly not condone such behaviors which go against our efforts...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Very friendly and helping staff, Good location, Well Maintained & Clean Pros: The Island is beautiful with very clean white sand beach. The Staff was very helpful & friendly and did cater to all our needs. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food was good and had a lot of options. Snorkeling was great. Cons: It would be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Beyond_the_line
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review here following your holiday. It is such a pleasure to read your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to learn you have had an enjoyable stay at Vilu Reef and we have been able to cater to all your needs. It was an absolute pleasure to be of service....

LONDON
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Having visited the Maldives on 4 other occasions, with different resorts for each trip, I chose the Vilu Reef after reading the many positive reviews on tripadvisor. I went all inclusive with my partner like I always do. Upon arrival on the island we were given instructions of what was/ not included in the all inclusive package... We were told...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank CPHANMER
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Maldives and we appreciate for the chance given to review your experience. We deeply regret to read that we have not been able to quite meet your expectations entirely but are grateful for your positive rating nonetheless. Your valuable comments are well received which would be looked into,...

Malta
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My title explains itself, believe me it couldn’t be better. I have always wanted our honeymoon to be special and always imagined to be on island away from all the noise pollution we hear every day. After doing research on Tripadvisor and asked some questions to some members Vilu Reef was the resort we chose. We went in September –...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paula Z
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for spending the special occasion of your honeymoon at Vilu Reef and for posting your kind review and recommendation. It gives us great pleasure to read you had a wonderful honeymoon with us and it was all that you hoped and much more. We give honeymooners special attention knowing how special the time is...

Milton Keynes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Having spent some time reviewing islands, my friend and I decided upon Vilu Reef for our holiday and we were not at all disappointed. Our holiday, from the moment we arrived to our departure, was excellent. Our room was cleaned twice a day, clean towels every day (both beach and bathroom), we did wish we had chosen a beach villa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beachbaby007
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback. I am most delighted to learn that your stay with us at Vilu Reef was absolutely pleasant, from the moment you stepped into the island till your departure. It is such a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and so rewarding that you found our team welcoming and...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was our 7th visit to the Maldives (yes, we're hooked) and I think this was the best island we've been to - it ticked all the boxes. Very friendly staff - after a day or so they knew you and chatted. Excellent food (we were half board) - although the curries were maybe a ltitle too hot for our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Millimad
ViluReefManagement, Management at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your family holiday at Vilu Reef and for the heartwarming review. We must say, it is an absolute delight to learn our resort topped as the best resort among the seven Maldivian experiences you have had so far and that you have enjoyed every minute of your stay. There is no greater reward than knowing...

Kent, England
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We visited Vilu Reef for the second week of April after spending a week at Filitheyo. The two islands are very different and although Vilu Reef has its attractions, Filitheyo would be our preference by some distance. Vilu Reef operates an hour ahead of Male time so daylight hours are essentially 7.30-7.30. On the plus side, Vilu Reef is a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank FolkestoneClaret
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent stay and taking the time to leave your valuable review. I am pleased that you are happy with some aspects of the resort that you found appealing but with much regret I read of your unpleasant experiences. Our house reef is enjoyed by our guests and we...

Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2011

To anyone considering going to Vilu Reef GO,dont be put off by any negative reviews,it really is as beautiful as their web site says. My wife and I visited in Febuary this year,we stayed in beach villa 145 and we found it to be perfect our bed being regulary decorated with flowers and leaves by our room boy,it was also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank westwoods2008
ViluReefManagement, Management at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here and we are extremely grateful for your recommendation. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay and our services were up to your satisfaction and outstanding. It humbles us that the smiles and warm hospitality of Vilu Reef has touched you which...

Oborniki Slaskie, Poland
Reviewed 2 March 2011

If you are looking for asmall island with beatiful smell of flowers everywhere, scenic views, nice house reef, which you can walk in 5 minutes - this is a place for you. We visited this place for last 10 days of February. Although the resort was fully booked we had amazing impression that there were very little number of guests....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sergiusz
ViluReef, General Manager at Sun Aqua Vilu Reef, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is such a pleasure to read your glorious review and we thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. What a short and sweet description of our beautiful island. Vilu Reef is known for its lush vegetation and plentiful palm trees that fringe along it's powdery beach. The island is tiny, but the myriad of facilities and...

1,562 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1518)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (268)
Viewed
Room/Suite (169)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (252)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (655)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhaalu Atoll
23.6 km away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,013 reviews
3.0 km away
Angsana Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru
#1 of 1 in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
886 reviews
36.8 km away
PER AQUUM Niyama Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort
0.8 km away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo
11 reviews
30.1 km away
Kandima Maldives
Kandima Maldives
#5 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sun-kissed sanctuary, our beautiful Paradise is covered by a lush layer of coconut palms and scented by the sweet fragrance of frangipanis and tropical flowers. Ringed by pristine coral reefs and clear turquoise waters, Sun Aqua Vilu Reef is a haven of peace, home to bright blooms and friendly fauna, with hermit crabs, grey herons and multi-colored geckoes among our exotic inhabitants. This delicate ecology offers quiet moments with nature, the opportunity to immerse in delicious serenity. Only 145 kilometers south of capital Malé, we're just a 35-minute seaplane ride from the international airport - a short but spectacularly scenic ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Aqua Vilu Reef

Address: Meedhuffushi, South Nilandhe Atoll (Formerly Vilu Reef Beach & Spa Resort)
Region: Maldives > Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range: RM1,678 - RM5,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Aqua Vilu Reef 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Aqua Vilu Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilu Reef Beach And Spa Resort
Vilu Reef Beach Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Hotel Vilu Reef Beach
Vilu Reef Maldives
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dhaalu Atoll
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dhaalu Atoll
#2 Spa Hotel in Dhaalu Atoll
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Aqua Vilu Reef staff and other travellers.
127 questions
Ask a question
Orange County, California

See all questions (127)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Aqua Vilu Reef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose a Aqua Villa that is turned to the west so the restaurant guest can't look into your sundeck”
SusanneR835, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Aqua Villa / definitly a room on the water, it's an amazing experience”
  • This was amazing - so very much appreciated!!
  • Arrival in our room
871sabrinam, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 428 has a tub outside( not an infinity pool)”
555tatianac, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sunset rooms with pool and hammock were the best room we found for value.”
Superfastfox, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request that you don't have a view of the local island from your villa. You DO NOT want the snorkeling side of the island.”
413antoinetter, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5