We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makanda Inn & Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makanda
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Makanda Inn & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Makanda Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed in the Sienna Cottage and although it was a very cool experience, you could hear EVERYTHING in the cottage right next to you (Indigo). I felt like we had to whisper and be quiet. If we went back, would probably book the cabin that stands alone down the path.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agonterman
MakandaInn, Owner at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear your Sienna experience was very cool! We are also sorry about the sound issue you experienced with the adjacent cottage. Due to the extensive wood framing of these two cottages, full sound isolation was not possible. We did add a double wall in the stair well and bathroom to dampen...

Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Tucked away in the woods is the charming rustic lodge and cottages. The lower level of the inn has a large gathering space for groups along with more secluded areas for a couple to have some privacy. We did not stay in the cottages which were set back from the inn. The rooms at the inn are comfortable and restful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schubarb
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you, your review is really appreciated! We think you've described the property wonderfully for those couples looking for that special getaway. We hope you will return again to relax and join us again for breakfast!

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Makanda Inn was our first B & B experience and did not disappoint! Malcolm and Lorraine were delightful hosts who made our stay extremely comfortable. We loved learning about the eco-friendly principles the lodge was built on and chatting with the other guests over breakfast . This inn ( and cottages) is perfect for those interested in hiking, golf, wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your first B & B stay experience. It was our pleasure to host your stay and send you home with knowledge about the Inn & Cottages, Eco-friendly construction. So much to do here as you mentioned. We look forward to your return visit, to see more of the area!

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the West End cottage over the weekend and LOVED IT! Very secluded and peaceful, close to our home but felt like a million miles away! Everything was perfect.. The innkeepers thought of every little detail to make this cottage a perfect home away from home! We wine trailed on Saturday and came back to the cottage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allie G
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of your stay in our West End Cottage! We've just recently added a new detail, a little fireplace in the living room area and it is a hit so far. We hope you'll travel back sometime this winter to enjoy it yourselves. We are so happy to hear staying here helped make this Birthday...

Wauconda, Illinois
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This was our second stay at the Inn, our first was in a cottage, this time we had a suite at the Inn. I loved, loved, loved the smooth river rock shower floor! When I first stepped onto it, I thought "oh..this is gonna hurt" the stones hit every pressure point in my feet as I moved around the shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimmerm2016
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

We are so glad you came back and have now had both stay experiences. Cottage and now B & B, here on the property. The river rock shower floor in 3 out of the 4 Suites in the Inn was part of the design plan for providing a Spa type feel in the amazing showers in our Suites. So glad...

Weldon
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The Inn and rooms were so comfortable and exceedingly peaceful. Breakfasts were exceptional and the hosts were very pleasant to be around. Hummingbirds galore and beautiful landscaping. Beds were so comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Makanda Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie O
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience for fellow travelers. Our goal for the Inn as a B & B is to provide our guests with a unique experience. We are happy you commented on both aspects of our Bed & Breakfast in your review! Come stay again soon!

Illinois
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Makanda Inn while visiting family in Southern Illinois. This is a hidden gem right in the heart of the Shawnee Wine Trail. The inn and surrounding area were beautiful, the rooms quaint yet modern, and the hospitality was excellent!! Lorraine and Malcolm are wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts they prepared during our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManiacalMoniker
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your compliments! We really enjoy preparing wonderful breakfasts for our guests before they head out for their day of adventure in the area! So many great things to do in Southern Illinois some as close as a few minutes to amazing sights within an hours drive. Our city dwelling guests often comment on the...

Reviewed 25 July 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Inn as a last minute trip. It was one of the last rooms available in the Shawnee Wine Trail area and we could not have been more pleased. Everything was clean, the innkeepers were amazing & friendly, and the breakfast was hot and good! Thanks for making this stay a great one!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanie H
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here! The Shawnee Wine Trail is a destination for so many of our guests and we are very happy to be located right in the middle of the Trail. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day right! We are so glad you enjoyed our preparations of Frittata...

Danville, Illinois
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Driving up to the Inn was such a wonderful start to the amazing experience of being surrounded by the Forest, and meeting the Innkeepers Loraine & Malcolm was so warm and friendly... they were waiting for us (as I had to call for specific directions to get there) and we were welcomed with smiles and hand-shakes, and they were so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorothea G
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We could not have written a better review ourselves for Couples seeking the perfect romantic getaway. "Green & eco-friendly" is a very important aspect about the property and all the accommodations here. We really do enjoy sharing those details with first time guests. We know you'll love your next stay with us in the...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

My wife and I have been on several trips to southern Illinois, but this was the first stay at Makanda Inn. We were looking for a quiet place to stay off the beaten path for our 5-year anniversary. I'm glad we found this place. We had one of the rooms in the lodge, and found it perfectly adequate. Bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Justin B
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how much you both enjoyed your first B & B experience here, for your special Anniversary getaway. We are definitely off the beaten path and how you described your stay matches perfectly with our goals for what we want our guests to experience! We think fellow travelers will appreciate what you've shared if, they...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makanda
25.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
14.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
383 reviews
26.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
330 reviews
18.0 km away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
15.2 km away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A unique B & B experience in the Inn! Southern Illinois first, Eco-Friendly Inn & 3 Private Cottage accommodations. Open year round! The four suites in the Inn are operated as a B&B, where you will enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. There are three cottages,2 are one bedroom and 1 is a two bedroom - two bath cottage. Breakfast is not included in the cottages, however it can be purchased on a limited basis. As a cottage guest, you are invited to utilize the common area of the Inn for your enjoyment and to access the free Wi-Fi service. The cottages do not have Wi-fi service. Inn suites have a refrigerator and coffee maker. The one bedroom cottages have a kitchenette which includes a two burner stove, sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The two bedroom cottage has a full size kitchen. We proudly serve Steam Shovel Coffee, a local micro roasted coffee that is supplied freshly ground in your suite and fresh beans are provided in the cottages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makanda Inn & Cottages

Address: 855 Old Lower Cobden Rd, Makanda, IL 62958-3120 (Formerly Makanda Inn)
Region: United States > Illinois > Makanda
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Makanda Hotel Makanda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makanda Inn & Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Louisville, Kentucky

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Makanda Inn & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Splurge for the cabin. Has everything you need.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“At the inn 2 rooms face east, 2 face west, for either sunrise or sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles schubarb, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms, the property is large and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kimmerm2016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms to the right of the entrance. Balconies!!!”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieO455, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The property is small and designed very well, so I feel every room is a treat!”
 of 5 bubbles dorotheag457, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5