We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barra Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Barra Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Just to be clear we did not stay at Barra Lodge, but we were here quite a few times for lunch and beers as we were using dive barra as our dive charter (they are awesome btw!). The main reason we didn't stay here is that we believe that the units are very overpriced compared to other offerings in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RuanVanDerMerwe
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ruan Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate your support of our dive center and beach bar and the fact that you enjoyed the diving and our beach bar. We take note of mention of service speed this is something we will work on so that the next time you visit the beer gets too you faster... More 

WINDHOEK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed here 22 - 27 December 2014. Very disappointing. The food was very average and the accommodation definitely not on standard. No maintenance has been done for quite some time. We took our 2 children with us : age 21 and 25: if drinking is considered entertainment every day, then yes you are at the correct place. If sporting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank NidiaWindhoek
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Nidia Thanks for your review, we thank you for you and your families visit. Happy to hear you enjoyed the beach chalet with this last December having been a scorcher airconned rooms are definetly a winner. We take note of your concerns and will deal with them immediately. We do hope next time you will find one of... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2015

We stayed at Barra Lodge in December. At R1800 for our unit it was totally over priced for the following reasons: • Electric two plate stove – for a 6 sleeper, only 1 plate works • Kitchen tap has rotted out the counter top and is loose • Had no water for 2 or 3 hours at times • Mosquito... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianB197
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Adrian Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you have taken to write. We apologise that we never met the standards you expected and can assure you we are taken all action we can to sort this out. We have looked at the room you stayed in have sorted out the issues. We will see to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Inhambane Province hotels

Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2015 via mobile

We spend 5 days at Barra Lodge during December 2014. Totally over priced for the poor service, poor maintenance, theft from our cottage (most probably the cleaning lady) , quality and selection of meals in their restaurant (prawns on average only 2 cm long !) . Menu normally has only 2 options for main course. Day visitors (who do not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaco S
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jaco Thanks for your report. We are sad to hear that your stay was not up to standard. Going through your report we have taken note and are taking action. Regarding the theft you experienced could you please email us the details we will follow it up immediately. Great to hear you enjoyed the activities, its something we pride... More 

1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We went to Barra lodge over December 2014. Our room was presentable (No Aircon) but it seemed to flank the main service road that the public and deliveries trucks use. Every morning, cars would drive up and down the road forcing us to wake as early as 05:30 - our room had no view. We looked out at a sand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Andrew Thank you for your feedback, which we have taken careful note of. We are sorry that everything was not up to your standard, we will certainly use your feedback to make the necessary amends to surpass your expected requirements. Let us know when you want to visit again and we will organise an air conditioned room for... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2014

Barra beach is the place to visit if you're looking for warm, clear sea to play around in. Barra lodge is beautifully situated next to the beach with a restaurant overlooking the sea. Theres horse riding, and other activities to enjoy on your stay in the beautiful inhambane beach

Helpful?
Thank Tsholofelo M
BarraInhambane, Public Relations Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always love and appreciate positive feedback. We hope to see you again! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

I've been traveling to the Tofo area for almost 12 years now, never stayed at Barra Lodge - thought I'd give it a try - Mistake! Terrible service, arrived in our Casita in last week of September 2014 to find that the room had not been cleaned prior to our arrival, rat turds on bedding and on floors, went to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley S
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Stanley Thank you for your feedback, we certainly apologise for your experience you had during your visit with us. We will look into the issues you mentioned and deal with them accordingly. We do hope should you visit again or be in the area you will see that Barra lodge is up to the great standard we are... More 

Rome
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family have just returned from a stunning holiday at Barra lodge. We spent a week at the lodge and we all loved it - 2 adults and 2 teens. We stayed at the Cabanas, fabulous location on the beachfront. The cabanas are a 3 bedroom apartment, each bedroom has en-suite bathrooms and air con. Two of the bedrooms have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana W
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Ana Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our lodge. The marine experience at Barra is one not to be missed and it's good to hear you and your family were able to enjoy and appreciate the experience this little piece of paradise offers... More 

Klerksdorp, North-West, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had the unfortunate privilege to stay at Barra Lodge during July 2014. The accommodation is totally overpriced and compares to accommodation that can be found for much cheaper around Inhambane and Tofo. It is clear that this establishment had seen better days and the management is not involved in the day to day running of the resort. Throughout our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Louis712
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Louis Thank you for your feedback, we are sad to hear you never enjoyed your stay. We will certainly look into the issues you mentioned and deal with them. We do hope should you visit us again you will see and improvement. Thanks again More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in the cabanas. The special offer they're having at the moment offers very good value for money. The cabanas are beautifully located, well equipped and very spacious. The pool was dirty when we arrived but they came and cleaned it when we requested but it still stayed green. Cabanas wifi wasn't working but resort wifi was. The resort... More 

Helpful?
Thank PorterCapeTown
BarraInhambane, Online marketing at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Porter Thanks for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We continue to look at ways to improve our resorts facilities and hope on your next visit you will see the improvements. Keep an eye on our website and sign up for our monthly newsletter were we often have specials running. Regards Barra team More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
16.1 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#7 of 16 in Inhambane Province
53 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
146 reviews
1.2 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Inhambane
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#4 of 14 in Tofo
150 reviews
7.3 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 12 in Tofo
191 reviews
8.2 km away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#2 of 14 in Tofo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range: RM952 - RM2,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Barra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barra Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Barra Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabanas are equipped wit air conditioners and are for large families. Lot of accommodation on offer. Ask before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles lindieb961, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It seems you can't really choose as allocation is changed as they please.”
 of 5 bubbles 574gerriem, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose aircon type cabana, beach facing.”
 of 5 bubbles Willj225, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The 6-sleeper chalets are great for a well-priced self-catering stay”
  • The lovely, large, well-priced chalet
 of 5 bubbles L3702HXmarkm, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Best value are the cottages, but if you can afford an upgrade the cabanas are reallly good too.”
 of 5 bubbles albert0ds, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay