We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barra Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inhambane Province
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barra Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Barra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 August 2012

When we arrived our cottage was filthy the shower was disgusting, one of the knobs was broken and the general appearance of the room was nothing like the photos on the internet(not that i expected it to be). Did I mention the beds and linen...shocking! Thank the stars I packed my own. The Linen were had stains and even after...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vuvu S
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were very concerned to read that your stay was below standard. Although some of our rooms are basic accommodation as advertised, we will be looking into the quality of the linen. We truly appreciate the feedback.

South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This year we were back, dragging along another 3 families! The kids had the time of their lives and we loved it too. We requested 4 chalets next to each other, but got 3 and one further away. That probably being a bit of an inconvenience but also a bit of a blessing as we were positioned no 1-3 instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeninaSouthAfrica
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Kids, family, friends and fun. We recognise that at Barra and are so happy to hear that we met your needs and expectations. I am also glad you got to experience the authenticity of Mozambique. That's what it is all about. We really hope to have you back with us again.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 12 July 2012

What a magical 5 nights spent at Barra over long weekend of April/May... The service was fantastic - Joaquim, Zeca and Love Joy looked after us like ROCK STARS!! Great food (prawns, prawns and yes... more prawns) and location (you can't find a better beach and swimming). The bungalows are perfect, all you need and 20m from beach...it was lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winemistress
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

every time you close your eyes...that shall be our theme song! thank you for a lovely review. We really do take pride in our lodge and our 'rock star' staff. We hope to see you back again soon!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Good food and service (including airport transfers) in a great location on a fantastic long, wide beach. Chalets private but not mosquito-proof with no aircon or ceilng fan.Another guest had a problem with a shower not working. Good dive centre on site but diving not great, as reefs littered by fishermen. Snorkelling "available" but not when requested. Facilities shared with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarinL65
Management response:

Thank you for your review. Gaining the guest experience and perspective is so vital to us and our operations. Over-fishing in Mozambique is a problem, one that we have been working on and continue to work on, with the local government and local communities. We will get there eventually. The diving itself is spectacular. An avid diver myself, if you...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 June 2012

It's a little out of the way, but the resort is beautiful and the beach is stunning. Food at the beach bar was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrts
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad to read that we have met your expectations from your stay with us in May. Its always nice to hear from our guests and we really appreciate the feedback. Next time you come up, we hope to have you stay longer too.

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff are friendly and the food was amazing. Only problem was the hot water. Had to shower with cold water for 3 nights. Extremely close to the beach and its nice and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nwabisa M
Toronto
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at this resort for 5 days,coming from South Africa en route to North America. The flight to Imhambane was in a turbo prop plane,but very comfortable. There was pickup to the hotel.On Arrival sign in was easy and they told you how to get to various places on the property. The dining room was going to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank capetowntraveller
BarraResorts, Manager at Barra Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us some feedback on Tripadvisor. I am new to the resort and just wanted to let you know that we have read your review and I am happy to hear that Barra met your expectations. Barra Lodge is our flagship lodge in Southern Mozambique and we are very proud of the role it plays in the...

Durban
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We left feeling that there was no love invested into Barra... just a cash cow owned by a corporate company (a mining company). The beach is average (for mozam) with a very bad current and a couple guests got into serious difficulty while we were there. The coconuts falling around the pool are very dangerous... at least two a day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana C
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband and I was fortunate to join the Travel and Sport team for a year end getaway at Barra Lodge. We arrived by plane on Monday 5 December. The airport was a bit chaotic, but what can one expect from Africa? Barra Lodge sent a shuttle as we were a large group and even stopped on the way at...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank MariettedeVilliers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Wonderful 4 day stay at Barra. Real value for money. Service was excellent especially restaurant staff. We bought fresh crayfish and prawns and the waiter of beach bar offered he would kitchen to prepare for us. Food was excellent and fresh. Rooms are rustic which was what I wanted. Cleaning staff superb. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank khalidgalant

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane Province
16.1 km away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#8 of 17 in Inhambane Province
57 reviews
1.2 km away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#2 of 18 in Inhambane
68 reviews
0.0 km away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
206 reviews
7.3 km away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#4 of 14 in Tofo
156 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Tofo Mar
Hotel Tofo Mar
#5 of 11 in Tofo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barra Lodge, the flagship Lodge of the praia da barra area, is set in one of the most picturesque areas in Mozambique, with spectacular views of pristine beaches and the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Situated 485km north of Maputo, access by road is on a tarred road which is suitable for normal vehicles. The road from Maputo to Xai Xai has been upgraded and resurfaced. Please note that there are numerous towns and villages en-route and the main road often passes directly through these villages. Speed limits are enforced in these places and it is advised to drive with caution. Do not drive at night. From the historical city of Inhambane it is only a 30 minute drive to Barra Lodge and transfers are done by the lodge staff. Barra has secluded, unspoilt beaches, and is bordered by the Inhambane estuary on one side and the sea on the other. The lodge is nestled amongst groves of coconut trees and the warm Indian Ocean offers safe bathing all year round. Wide open, sun-drenched beaches offer endless hours of strolling pleasure. Barra Lodge caters for families with children and is geared towards fun and activities for the whole family. Other Services Offered: - Conference Facilities: Seating up to 60 cinema style, audio visual equipment available. - Weddings: We also cater for weddings, cocktail parties and special functions. - Activities Room: DSTV, pool table, table tennis, darts. - Swimming Pool: With kids paddling pool. - Curio Shop: Basic toiletries, sweets, clothing and curios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barra Lodge

Address: Praia da Barra, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Inhambane Province
Price Range: RM998 - RM1,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Barra Hotel Inhambane
Barra Resort Inhambane
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Inhambane Province
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Inhambane Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barra Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Barra Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabanas are equipped wit air conditioners and are for large families. Lot of accommodation on offer. Ask before you book.”
 of 5 bubbles lindieb961, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“It seems you can't really choose as allocation is changed as they please.”
 of 5 bubbles 574gerriem, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose aircon type cabana, beach facing.”
 of 5 bubbles Willj225, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The 6-sleeper chalets are great for a well-priced self-catering stay”
  • The lovely, large, well-priced chalet
 of 5 bubbles L3702HXmarkm, 14 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Best value are the cottages, but if you can afford an upgrade the cabanas are reallly good too.”
 of 5 bubbles albert0ds, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5