We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Orbitz.comUS$111*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$136*
US$111*
US$136*
US$111*
US$136*
US$111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Panoramas (33)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Urbana, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. We loved the Hotel and the complimentary breakfast. It was worth the extra money. The drive down north shore drive to downtown was worth the 45 minutes. Loved the area around the Hotel as well

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksO2880NQ
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Thank you marks02880NQ! Thank you so much for staying with us! Our location is ideal and an easy trip into the city. The Bed and Breakfast Package is a great value when you stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Warm Regards, Sarah

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room temperature could not be controlled. When we asked for additional towels we were told there were none available because they were in the wash. Absurd for a property of this size. Not every good customer service. Bathrooms are very small almost to the point of being unusable.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 224sala
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

224sala, I apologize for your recent experience in our hotel. There have been a few days of extremely unseasonably warm temperatures that we were not expecting. At this time we are installing a new AC system within the hotel that will be complete this week. Unfortunately we were not able to combat these unexpected days. A hotel of this size...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gf booked the wrong weekend on Expedia. This was her fault but neither Expedia or the hotel can change the date bc The room was prepaid for. She didn't catch it until she sent me the confirmation. I called the next morning and nothing has been done. Why can't you put what I've paid for towards another date and let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_valentine
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Dallas_Valentine, We can adjust your reservation without penalty. If you called Expedia exclusively they may not have been able to adjust it. Please reach out to me with your contact information and we'll look into here at the hotel. Warm Regards, Sarah

Reviewed 1 week ago

So strange. I just told Doubletree in a survey that i had a bad experience, and the next thing they ask me is to share my experience on TripAdvisor. So here goes .... Doubletree in Skokie Il has poor heating/AC conditions. If you are traveling with kids, be prepared to stay in warm rooms. The staff told me that they...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H9536TZmarting
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

H9536TZmarting, On behalf of the entire hotel team we apologize for the inconveniences you and your family experienced this weekend. There have been a few days of extremely unseasonably warm temperatures that we were not expecting. At this time we are installing a new AC system within the hotel that will be complete this week. Unfortunately we were not able...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Complaining is not my style but there seems to be a complete lack of planning at this property this week. I want to preface my remarks that I never had a negative experience at this hotel over the past 25 years. I have stayed here on multiple occasions. The hotel hosted my daughters wedding and I have held other social...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Steven S There have been a few days of extremely unseasonably warm temperatures that we were not expecting. At this time we are installing a new AC system within the hotel that will be complete this week. Unfortunately we were not able to combat these unexpected days. As a long time guest of the hotel you have experienced the great...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel in great location and looks nice. The plumbing is a real problem. First room had a drain that would not open in the tub and the shower sprayed water at high velocity all over the room. They moved us to another room, which they claimed was larger but was exactly the same size except for the even smaller bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerXYZ2015
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Dear TravelerXYZ2015, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the tub not draining. I'm sorry to hear that in our attempt to make it right by providing a room upgrade the plumbing issue persisted. We appreciate the feedback and will share it...

Marlton, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel, reasonable rates, comfortable beds and pillows, complimentary tea and coffee, easy check in and out, free wifi, free parking, IHOP across the street. We stayed two nights and had issues both days with getting their shuttle to the yellow line Skokie train station as featured on their website. The first day they told us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 12H20ski
DoubletreeSarah, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Hello 12H20ski, We were delighted to have you stay with us and enjoyed the area with easy access to the city and transportation. While our shuttle is complementary we have many guests who request to use it for various things. This is why we urge our guests to request shuttle service in advance as on demand transportation is rarely available....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in room 217, it was very uncomfortable, to begin with there was no fridge in the room which following a request was provided in the empty space where one should have been all along, there was no a/c operating when I complained about this I was told that I was staying in the old part of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C O
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Dear Daniel C O, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the room temperature. Our rooms are equipped with a two way pipe system, meaning we can only have heating or cooling operating at one time. I understand how frustrating this is and I'm sorry...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Because we waited too late to book a room in downtown Chicago at a reasonable price, we decided to stay in the Northern Suburbs, Skokie to be specific. The hotel offers a comfortable and quick check-in and the lobby is very clean and tidy. The staff was warm and professional. The room was clean, updated, and comfortable and everything worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harith R
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Dear Harith R, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, in spite of the events taking place at the hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the events and guest being loud. We do our best to keep our guests...

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place. Parking is Chicago is a problem but enjoyed this location which is close to so many wonderful things and places to visit. Foods around the area and the park was really nice. Enjoyed seeing shamrock parade

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
DoubletreeSarah, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore, responded to this review

Dear Sandy C, Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that we were the convenient location for your Chicago visit. We are close to public transportation and our complimentary parking is always a plus. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the Chicago area. Sincerely, Israel Arteaga...

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (202)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (39)
Viewed
Deluxe King (28)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skokie
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore (Skokie)
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Chicago Wilmette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
1.2 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Skokie
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded Hilton's Prestigious "Conversion of the year" Award. Our hotel is stylized in European fashion with rich appointments creating a truly ambient setting. We have world-class, full service executive meeting center that is certified by the International Association of Conference Centers (IACC) and so much more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore

Address: 9599 Skokie Blvd, Skokie, IL 60077-1314 (Formerly North Shore Skokie Hotel)
Region: United States > Illinois > Skokie
Price Range: RM451 - RM923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Skokie
Doubletree Chicago North Shore
Doubletree Skokie
Skokie Doubletree
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
BURTON
3 months ago
Nashville, Tennessee
1 month ago
Newmarket, Canada
Nashville, Tennessee
1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure, if you are traveling in warm weather, that the air conditioning is turned on.”
jkdk55, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel.”
TravelerXYZ2015, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the West on a high floor are best.”
601harithr, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask desk staff to select your room based on what you need (quiet, view, extra space, etc.), rather than selecting your own room in advance.”
Writer114, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a completely different hotel and enjoy yourself more than you ever could at this hotel property. They do not value customers.”
226jas, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$111* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$111
Expedia.comUS$111
TripAdvisorUS$111
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates