We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Oglesby, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Utica is a real old time caring about people. You stop in at any restaurant in town, you will be treatied like a local friend! Starved Rock Lodge is a quaint lodge and dining hall, main meeting room with fireplace to just feel the warmth. Began here in the 50's sleigh riding, skating in the hidden ponds, walking the trails...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristina D
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review, it is always a heartwarming to come across someone who has had a lifetime relationship with the Lodge. I do want to make note though that we do offer more than just a nature experience. We have an indoor pool and hot tub, live music groups almost every weekend of the year, over...

Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewed 10 March 2016

I chose this location because it was close enough to home for a short trip and because the have pet friendly cabins. The grounds were nice and well kept, our cabin was basic with nice furniture, and rustic decor. Our cabin had 2 queen beds, no TV which was fine. The bathroom could use an remodel, as I am 5'9"...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank colleen f
Frankfort, Illinois
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Booked our stay using Starved Rock's Valentine's Day promotion. For $225 we got an overnight stay, a $40 voucher for dinner, a $15 voucher for breakfast, a voucher for a pound and a half of fudge, a complimentary bottle of wine of our choosing, 2 souvenir wine glasses, and a bottle opener. Upon check-in, we were pleasantly surprised to find...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana L
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your package but do apologize that the food was not to your liking. I have shared your comments with our Chef, Food & Beverage Manager and our General Manager - hopefully your next visit will be everything you had hoped for.

Michigan City, Indiana
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

First time coming here, & I will definitely return! Couldn't have picked a better time of year either. The frozen waterfalls are stunning! One cool thing about going in winter is that you can walk on areas that would have running water in summer so you get to see more. So many trails with great views of canyons, rock structures,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AW350M3
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

What a nice review, I think you covered all the bases. We can't wait to see you in the summer, I think you will find our new bedding and carpet has really spruced up the place.

chicago, il
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I have been going to Starved Rock for over 60 years, and have seen many changes to the Lodge. Have stayed in the cabins and in the Lodge. We always have a good time. It has a very warm atmosphere, partly due to the blazing fireplace in the fall. I got my biggest fish ever on the river. The hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skacian
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review we appreciate the comments and are happy that we keep meeting your expectations. More changes are ahead with all new carpet throughout the Lodge and Hotel as well as new bedspreads and curtains. Hope you like or warm "lodgie" look and feel.

Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Built by the CCC in the 30's, there aren't many places like Starved Rock Lodge. Good value, great hiking, great lodge, indoor pool is a +. Lots to do if you like the outdoors. Definitely go across the river to see the locks and bald eagles. Also the buffalo at Buffalo Rock State park. You can also go to Lasalle...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian C
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

Well, said, thanks so much for your comments about the Great Hall. As the new owner of the Lodge it was frustrating for me to see how the families camped out and brought in all their own food and drinks, but I tried to just put on a "Merry Christmas" face and go with the flow. I do think we...

Pekin, Illinois
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

The boyfriend Surprised me with a trip to starved rock...and bought the new year package. Pros hiking, waterfalls, food, drinks, music, clean, safe, fun, pool,hot tub. Cons flooded trails no signs, wasn't informed it was a theme party for new years, treated rudely by one staff member because we were underdressed(everyone else was very kind however), rustic cabin...no tub,tv,fireplace,fridge etc....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Autumnd7
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

What a great surprise glad you had a good time but sorry you weren't informed of the theme for the party. We have a theme every year and some people dress up and some don't. I would recommend a stay in the lodge next time or a Sunset Cabin which does have TV's tubs and some have fireplaces. You must...

Reviewed 28 December 2015

We had visited the lodge a couple of times during the busy visitor afternoons and this was our first time staying for the weekend. Once the sun goes down and the hikers and such have all gone home, the place is transformed into a cozy and peaceful lodge. Breakfast in the dining room was Norman Rockwell-like as we sat by...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marlo G
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to see you again soon. Have a safe and happy holiday.

Lewistown, Illinois
Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night celebrating our 27th anniversary. Updated to a hotel wing room thinking more space and quieter. Got one right, the room was nice and spacious. But between kids running up and down the hallways until midnight and the guy in the next room sounding like he was in mine it was not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Winterhawk2015
Amy T, Owner at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review

I'm sorry about your noisy night since we are an older Lodge and under the protection of the Historic Preservation act it is difficult for us to make structural changes to try to fix noise issues. We do in fact provide ear-plugs in some of the nosier rooms. Next time I would suggest staying on the 2nd floor of the...

Wheaton, IL
Reviewed 22 December 2015

The Starved Rock area is somewhat unique as it's one of the two areas of the northern half of Illinois (Galena is the other) that actually offers any great chunks of appealing scenery, We had booked a three night stay at Starved Rock Lodge for the first week of November in the last bits of lingering fall color and were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WindyCityTarheel

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
1.5 km away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
7.4 km away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
12.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
7.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
12.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2668 E. 875th Road, Utica, IL 61348
Region: United States > Illinois > Utica
Price Range: RM761 - RM792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Grand Ridge, Illinois
3 months ago
Grand Ridge, Illinois
2 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try getting a cabin”
TheRealMKS88, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful views on the higher floors!”
gordonj141, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take advantage of the tours and activities the Lodge has to offer.”
trib_ona, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lodge rooms are nice, but we preferred the larger hotel room we had this year with a larger bathroom.”
753larryp, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a cabin unless you're taking all four rooms. There is no sound-proofing in the connecting doors.”
  • A King cabin room on the sunset side. Beware the connecting doors and no sound proofing.
diane560, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5