We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan\/Gurnee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Residence inn the week of our son's PIR and it was great. It is located 4 miles from the base, around the corner from Sarge's Meet & Greet and close to walmart and several restaurants. It made everything very convenient. The staff was very friendly and awesome and kept our towels fresh and beds made neatly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becci H
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were going to stay at the Courtyard, but at the last minute we changed our location to the Residence Inn. They had a good free breakfast and we stayed in a two room suite with TWO bathrooms and THREE tv’s. It made everything very convenient. And the beds were great-so comfortable. I wish we could buy one for home.... More 

Helpful?
Thank feathers134
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Congratulations on your Sailor's successful graduation from Navy boot camp Phenckel! We're glad to share in such a joyous occasion for you and your family. We can't thank you enough for choosing to stay with us and for sharing the details of your experience. Our team and especially John & Charita were thrilled to hear your comments. We hope you... More 

Jupiter, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We have an amazing visit to watch my son graduate from the Naval training at Great Lakes. The staff at Residence Inn were simply tremendous. From check-in to departure, they were absolutely tuned in to what families need during this important family event. From support before the trip, to special touches for graduating sailors during the visit, it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your business and sharing your feedback Rhonda H! Our team is extremely proud for your son and family and we sincerely appreciate his service to our country. We're thrilled to hear we were able to provide you with such an awesome experience. The team makes it their daily priority to make everyone feel special... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

While impressed with the proximity to the naval base, and extremely happy no matter WHAT facilities we had, for the price, I could only give 3 stars. Partially updated but kitchen cupboards were old. Odd smell in room. $100 nonrefundable pet fee was high and thus this should not be considered pet-friendly. There is no indoor pool and hot tub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Africarn2
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Africarn2, Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit. We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. We certainly wish your experience would've been a "5" and will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate team members. Although the pet fee may seem unfriendly I can assure you it goes toward our process... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Employees were OK and rooms were clean but this place is VERYy old. I was there for 10 days and my room had a mouldly odor the whole stay. I told the front desk and nothing was dome. Housekeeping changed my AC filter on day 7 and admitted they should do it a lot more often. It helped a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barrovian70
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Barrovian70, Thank you so much for your loyalty to Marriott and for sharing feedback from your recent stay. We're sorry we were unable to connect during your stay even after multiple attempts and that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide the highest quality of product and service to every guest regardless of their travel... More 

Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

First class - clean, spacious, roomy with a fireplace that ignites with a switch on the wall. Beautiful pool and hot tub. All the amenities of a great hotel. The only problem I had was there were no waste paper cans. Guess what? I found it under the bathroom sink! II would suggest putting it near the TV! I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank 470earlp
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

470earlp, We're very happy to see you found the services and amenities to be all that of a "great hotel". We strive to provide a guest room that is always clean and comfortable so that when you think of hotels in our area, you think of none other than the Residence Inn in Waukegan. We can't wait to have you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Average hotel but needs a remodel to remain fresh. Staff is pleasant but a bit quirky. WiFi internet is painfully slow even at the paid "enhanced" level (dial-up may be faster). Cell reception on AT&T is also very weak in this area (not hotel's fault but with poor Internet creates a toxic environment for business travelers trying to communicate). Guaranteed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Ryan G, We sincerely appreciate you choosing the Residence Inn during your recent visit. Your feedback is so important to our continued success. Our guest experience is our #1 priority so you can be confident in knowing your comments are taken seriously. We do hope you'll provide us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2016

went for the week-end to a basketball tournament. Great quite location; near to restaurants and shops. Hotel was very CLEAN. Outdoor facilities were great; - pool, basketball / volley ball court plus patio tables and bbq. Great breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank 777maxineg
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind review 777maxineg. Our team was very happy to hear we were able to provide that home-like feel during your stay. We strive to provide the best experience we can to every guest, every stay! Hopefully you did well in the tournament. Please come back to see us again! More 

Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days, had a random woman from off the street show up every night for free food and drink. She would also confront the guests for cigarettes and what ever else. Employees appeared to be aware of her, they watched her every night. This hotel has college students show up every evening as well, some kind of foreign... More 

Helpful?
Thank cg41318
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

cg41318, We sincerely appreciate your business and feedback. Being an extended stay hotel we do cater to a wide variety of guests and it is our goal to provide the best experience we possibly can. It is important to us that every guest feel comfortable while staying with us. We truly hope you'll return and allow us the opportunity to... More 

Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

It was a wonderful experience. Very clean and great atmosphere for my girlfriend and I. Matt at the front desk was a big help and made it simple and fast to check in ! Check it out. The pool , spa, basketball and volley ball court was a fantastic environment for families . We will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank bbbryceb
Dave C, General Manager at Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review

bbbryceb, Great to hear we were able to provide you and your girlfriend with the service and amenities you needed for an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the special mention of the service Matt provided. We'll be sure to let him and the rest of our team know how happy you were with the overall condition and atmosphere. We can't... More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
1.3 km away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.7 km away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
93 reviews
2.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thrive on Long StaysThe Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee offers superb convenience and comfort among Waukegan and Gurnee, Illinois hotels. Choose from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom suites at this hotel, with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Work comfortably at your spacious desk with voice mail and free high-speed internet, and take advantage of your fully-equipped kitchen with our complimentary grocery shopping service. Start your day right with our daily free hot breakfast, and join us Monday through Thursday for a complimentary light dinner social, featuring our Manager's Barbeque on Wednesdays. Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee is located minutes from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center, major corporations, Six Flags® Great America and Hurricane Harbor theme parks, fine shopping at Gurnee Mills or Premium Outlet Malls and a mix of history and fun at Bristol Renaissance Faire or in Historic Long Grove. Welcome to our little piece of Chicago at Residence Inn Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 1440 S White Oak Dr, Waukegan, IL 60085-8300
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Price Range: RM438 - RM844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Residence Inn Waukegan
Waukegan Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#3 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms not facing the road must be quieter. You could hear cars and there was construction noise outside across the road one morning.”
 of 5 bubbles feathers134, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are here for the graduation, ask questions, Staff knows the details and are helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles wantwogolf, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for what you'd like, the staff will give you more than what u asked for”
 of 5 bubbles pankaj1203, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room attached to the main building or its a cold or hot walk depending on the time of year.”
 of 5 bubbles SherryKearns, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a third floor room, very quiet..”
 of 5 bubbles Debbiebear51, 6 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay