We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lion Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lion Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of The Lion Inn
 Click to rate
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Visiting my elderly mother,and wanted to get out for a break so decided to come to this very friendly pub for some lunch and free wi fi. Excellent choice on the menu,snacks,full meals,desserts. I had a very nice snack and didn't feel at all uncomfortable being on my own.

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

A few minutes drive from the main a12 in the village of Theberton. Very much worth the slight detour. We popped in for Sunday lunch on the way home. A very friendly and warm welcome from the landlord. Quite simply a great pub, really good Sunday roast, brilliantly kept beers, roaring fire. Children and dogs welcome too. Will go back...

1Thank simongill1981
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the lion inn for one night. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. It is a dog friendly pub, where Sam was treated as a welcome guest. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was delivered to us in the morning, which is a lovely touch. Would happily visit again...

2Thank macsai1
Great Cressingham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Visitors here a few days ago and we greeted by a happy landlord and friendly kitchen staff the menu is exquisite worth a visit 100 percent recommend this place to my friends and family. Will be coming back very soon to try a taste of their seasonal menu. I first heard about the pub in the local advertiser with a...

3Thank Tyler P
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

My mum and I stayed for an overnight in the twin bed chalet at the Lion Inn we really enjoyed our stay the staff were really friendly and helpful. The best bit for me was being served a full English breakfast eating outside watching the sheep in the adjoining field in the morning the manager/owner couldn't do enough for us...

2Thank Jill F
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Awful Sunday lunch,very little choice all food reheated.Must have gone on the wrong day.Locals hogging the bar.Friendly waiting staff is the only good comment I can make.We were very disappointed as we had read some very good reviews.

Thank jimpot21
Tom L, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us. I'd be very happy to discuss this matter with you as we pride ourselves on offering good service, good beer and good food as our many positive reviews attest. Please do call me at the pub to discuss this further. Yours sincerely, Tom Lagden Owner

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We had a nice welcome, friendly staff and very good pub food. Our accommodation, a wooden cabin in a very quiet location, had adequate facilities, but was let down badly by dirty flooring and unvacuumed carpet from previous guests. We expected a bit more for £70 room only. A big plus was the freedom to come and go as we...

Thank Julia R
Tom L, Owner at The Lion Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julia, I'm sorry if there was a problem with the cleanliness of the floor in your cabin during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking steps to ensure that this is rectified. The rug in question has now been removed from the cabin and scrapped and we have instigated a more rigorous procedure to check on general...

Reviewed 11 July 2016

We were given a friendly welcome when entering the pub. A good selection of beers. The food was good but on a quiet weekday evening it mainly came out of the microwave. Fairly close to the RSPB Minsmere reserve.

1Thank Rob F
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We had a great evening at this pub yesterday and I simply couldn't fault it. We were given a warm welcome even though it was busy and given helpful advice on the nicely balanced choice of beers available. These showcased a number of different Suffolk breweries and the beer was very well kept. The food too was excellent. I chose...

Thank Alan P
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2016

While camping in Theberton my brother and I had two evening meals in The Red Lion,the landlord is very welcoming and freindly and all the locals at the bar said hello as we entered the place. There is a very good choice of beers and largers + a wine list,the food is the usual pub grub with something on the...

Thank iand857

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (6)
Room/Suite (1)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (3)


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Address: Main Road | on the edge of the Minismere Bird Reserve, Theberton IP16 4RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Theberton
Price Range: RM353 - RM387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lion Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't have a room just popped in for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles 509MICHAELG509, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay at The Red Lion we just ate there.”
 of 5 bubbles iand857, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Try the guest ales.”
 of 5 bubbles bonzo1977, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are only two chalets and the one furthest away from the pub means no one walking art your window and views over the field”
 of 5 bubbles Balgownie, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Speak to Michael or Caroline at the Lion about chalet availability.”
 of 5 bubbles barryl784, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5