We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shadeland Inn

PricelineUS$55*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Shadeland Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shadeland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Jesus take the wheel! I was in town visiting my 2 yr old granddaughter and thought this looked like a nice place by the internet pics. First of all the front doors were rickety and didn't open well. The desk staff was rude and never smiled or greeted guests. The room we got was 129. The smell from the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ernestine w
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Although we did not respond to this comment in 2012, I’m writing to let you know that this feedback was used as part of our continuous improvement efforts. This property has been significantly enhanced and improved since you stay, and I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations at that time. I hope you will try...

Niles,mi
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Where do I begin? First of all the staff are rude! Then we get to the room . The bathroom smelled like a dead body. It was filthy. The door had stains all over it and didnt close properly. THe shower had water spraying out of everywhere but where it was spposed too!. Then a baby cockroach crawled across my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie W
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I sincerely appreciate these comments from 2012 and apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. In the time since then, we have changed and improved every aspect of this property, including the staff. I hope you’ll visit again when in the area the next time and see how we’re better than ever before. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Website quates $39.99 night, was charged $53, but didn't use website. Roach found in bathroom! Room filty with visable fingerprints on both sides of bathroom doors, linens and curtains discusting! None of room cleaned properly. Pool NOT heated- but lobby is, and felt like sauna. No fridge or microwave as stated, only ONE ice machine in whole place and in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angelafate
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations in some ways during this stay in 2012. Since that time, we have significant changed and enhanced this property and are now better than ever before. If you come this way again, please stop in to see how we’re better than we ever were before. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Missouri, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for GenCon 2012, and I was hesitant because of the poor reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The front desk was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and larger than I expected. Low water pressure, but that's to be expected in a hotel. It was a great stay overall, and I will definitely be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Babs B
Grayslake, Illinois
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and son were scheduled to stay two nights... After checking in and going to their room and not feeling safe they checked out as quickly as possible. If nothing else one should feel safe whether it's the Hyatt or the Roadway Inn. Of course they wouldn't give my wife her money back for the five minutes she stayed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trent W
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate these comments even though you are speaking on behalf of a relative rather than about your own experiences. Still, this is a safe, vibrant neighborhood and we take pride in it. Every aspect of this hotel has been enhanced since your comments in 2012, however, and we have reviewed our security features as well. I hope...

Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I don't know what to say other than this was a horrible stay. The pictures look nothing like the room does. Or even the hotel. It really should be condemned. The "Indoor pool" is surrounded by leaky ceilings and the water is green. I wouldn't dare touch it. I booked online and ended up in a room in the very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMarsha09
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Even at the time of your feedback in 2012 we routinely satisfied hundreds of guests each month. Today, we’re better than ever. Comments like yours were used in our effort to revamp and revitalize this property, and we’re proud of the clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations we provide. I’m sorry we fell short when you were here. Sincerely,...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I don't know what else to say other than this hotel is just horrible. The lobby looks nice, so you do get the impression that it might be a good place to stay. But when we got to our room that impression changed entirely. The only reason we even stayed the night is because the room was paid for by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TigerEyes9
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Comments like yours were used in our continuous improvement efforts, and we sincerely thank you for offering your opinion. I’m sorry we fell short of your expectations. We’ve now improved every aspect of this property and are completely different and better than when you stayed with us in 2012. I hope you’ll try us again and see what...

Dothan, Alabama
Reviewed 31 May 2012

this place is nasty as hell the owners should be ashames of theirselves ughhhhhhh the only reason why i didnt leave is because my uncle was there & i had to make sure he was ok i was not gonna leave him there by himself i wish we would have stayed at the holiday inn express like the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chelcie r
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While your comments are from 2012, they deserve a response. We’ve used these and other comments to improve the property and are now better than we ever were before. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of complete satisfaction in your case and challenge you to visit us again when you’re in the area to see how we’ve...

Jasonville, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family and I stayed for two nights here. The receptionist was very, very nice. Everything else was terrible though. The light in our room was almost hanging from the ceiling. A bottom piece of the lining along the wall was falling off. The coffee was terrible. The continental breakfast consisted of muffins. There were very few, and they weren't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heather315
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for these comments. Although they were years ago, please understand that they were important to us and help us as we’ve made changes and improvements to this property. We strive for 100 percent satisfaction and are meeting the needs of hundreds of guests each week. I’m sorry we fell short in your case all those months ago...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 12 February 2012

OMG!!! Stay as far away from this hotel as possible...not only is the staff rude and ignorant...they have the filthiest rooms I have EVER SEEN...including BED BUGS!!! And when we told them about it they didnt even care. Holes in the carpet and stains on the counter tops, dirty blankets on the beds, hair in the drains,the security lock was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tiny W
rodewayinnindianapol, Webmaster at Shadeland Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While we have never had an insect problem in this hotel, I can see from your comments in 2012 that we did not meet your needs when you stayed with us, and that’s a shame. I sincerely apologize to you and encourage you to visit us again when in the area. You’ll see that every aspect of this...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Quality Inn East
#100 of 178 in Indianapolis
90 reviews
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#121 of 178 in Indianapolis
183 reviews
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#93 of 178 in Indianapolis
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#102 of 178 in Indianapolis
67 reviews
Castleton
Days Inn Indianapolis Off I-69
Days Inn Indianapolis Off I-69
#127 of 178 in Indianapolis
140 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy Eas...
#119 of 178 in Indianapolis
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Shadeland Inn

Address: 3525 N Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46226-5708 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Price Range: RM274 - RM305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shadeland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shadeland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Indianapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shadeland Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shadeland Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book elsewhere!”
FREPLUG, 26 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go with a hotel CHAIN and spend the extra money.”
lorettaf740, 13 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay on the floor if you must, with the AC in the lobby, you'll stay cooler than upstairs.”
BBBnRicter, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Pick a different hotel”
25BR25, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Run far away from this place!!”
Adiqna7722, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$55* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$55
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates