We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We look to welcome new visitors to our city and have created a warm, friendly environment - a home away from home - where travelers can relax by a fire, share their experiences and sleep in comfort. Located in the heart of the historic Old Northside, the Stone Soup Inn offers all the beauty and comfort of an upscale turn of the century home. After stepping into the large foyer, relax by the baby grand piano in the living room or cuddle up with a good book in our library. All of these rooms contain beautifully detailed woodwork and hardwood floors. Breakfast will be served in our distinctive dining room or, weather permitting, on the large, wraparound porch. On the second floor, share stories with other guests in the sitting room or outside on the spacious balcony overlooking the front garden and Lilly pond. Decorated with a combination of Mission-style and Victorian-era antiques, guests will find a comfortable, convenient place to stay as they explore nearby historic sites and downtown attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
63Somewhat walkable
Grade: 63 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 1 km
18Attractionswithin 1 km
102Reviews
41Photos
0Q+A
27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 20
  • 12
  • 8
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+3
If you are blind or just throwing away money there is a 118 year old experience (which must be how old the microwave and stove are) to be had. Doorknob falling off, dirty floors on entry, and a stove the would not heat that did not have platforms to hold the coil burners in
Read more
Response from Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Stone Soup Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We never like hearing something wasn't to a guest's liking. We are immediately looking into the issues you brought to our attention and will remedy anything found promptly. We hope to see you again in the future and would ask that you let us know if anything is in need of attention prior to departure so we are afforded the chance to fix it or offer other accommodations. Thank you for your time.
Read more
Look, I’ve stayed a lot of places. I don’t normally stay at bed and breakfast. I was a very late registration at a conference at the convention center downtown, and every chain hotel within walking distance of that district was booked. This was the very first thing to come up on
Read more
Response from Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Stone Soup Inn
Responded 19 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are sorry that a bed and breakfast is not to your liking. With the charm and historic architecture of a 117 year old gem comes things like central heating and cooling. We are not a hotel. We are happy to adjust these upon request but received no request. The fan/light is controlled by switches on the wall, for that reason, we have short pull chains for guests know to adjust them at the switch. We can open and close vents to meet you comfort needs. Please ask. The bathroom is located in the hallway and is a much more secure situation than adjoining rooms for strangers. No guest will be able to enter your room by accident. We clearly state that the room you occupied is a shared bath. To clarify, there are 4 rooms on the 3rd floor, 4 rooms on the 2nd floor and 2 rooms with exterior entrances. We were not empty during your stay. Bed and breakfast guests are very polite and considerate patrons. Our breakfast is not microwaved or frozen. We offer a wide selection of continental breakfast items and on weekends only an accompanying egg dish and breakfast meat. The room you selected was $104 and $119/night. We are competitively priced in the Indianapolis market.
Read more
The Stone Soup Inn is housed in a beautiful arts & crafts style building with a welcoming innkeeper, comfy room (I stayed in the Blue Room), delicious breakfast, and nice amenities (snacks, beverages, dvds). I only stayed overnight but I would definitely go back. It's so
Read more
Response from Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Stone Soup Inn
Responded 14 Aug 2018
We would love for you to move in! Best compliment ever!!
Read more
This B & B is a gem for preservation of a Prairie/Craftsman style home with nice features. All the bedrooms are on the 2nd & 3rd floors (no elevator). It does not have much in sound insulation. The breakfast healthy but not hot. The host was solicitous and helpful but not on the
Read more
Response from Carlislehouseinn, Owner at Stone Soup Inn
Responded 8 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind words. Our innkeeper does live on site but runs errands between check-ins. We serve a continental breakfast weekdays and hot on weekends. See you next visit!
Read more
We must have chosen the wrong weekend for this B&B. The water heater had gone out and we stayed on the 3rd floor which was extremely warm. No temperature control in the room itself. It was in the hallway. Breakfast was risky on their part because it was not something everyone
Read more
Response from Villa I, Owner at Stone Soup Inn
Responded 1 Jul 2018
Please note that we have responded numerous times to this review and continue to offer our apologies for the water heater going out. It has been replaced. Bed and breakfasts are not hotels. We offer the innkeepers' choice of hot breakfast on weekend and a full continental array of other breakfast options daily including weekends. We will gladly adjust the HVAC upon request. The inn is an 117 year old beauty that has central heating and cooling.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Not the best in cleanly care
clean?
Door to outside makes me feel "so very safe"
Stove does not work, no burner supports does not heat
118 year old microwave that came with house.
PreviousNext
12345
"If you don't choose Stone Soup you are on the right track to a good stay"
"Likely not a good place if you have disabilities"
"Top floor was hot. Other guests we spoke with said their rooms were fine on other floors"
"Not all rooms have attached bathrooms. Some have shared bathrooms. Check first!"
"Some rooms do not have a private bathroom. If you have trouble with stairs, this is not the place to stay!"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
stone soup hotel indianapolis
LOCATION
United StatesIndianaIndianapolis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing