We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clifty Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clifty Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Inn is beautiful and would have rated 5 stars except housekeeping and maintenance need to pay closer attention Urine splatters left on toilet seat Takeout food box left under sink Large wet spot on bedroom floor and most important security lock missing from door Bed and pillows were great. Room was quiet. Would have been nice to have known... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don M
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for an overnight visit on Thanksgiving and also for dinner. The Inn itself is beautiful, very attentive staff, clean attractive rooms with comfy beds and lots of pillows. The thanksgiving dinner was amazing! $23/person, all the traditional sides and then some, turkey, fried chicken, baked salmon, ham, and roast beef. Loaded salad and fruit bar. Loaded dessert bar.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RWilliams1123
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Inn itself is nice enough, no complaints on room or service. However, we paid more than we would have because of the nice pool advertised on the website. We were traveling with gymnasts and siblings and looked forward to rewarding them with swimming after working so hard for their meet. When we arrived the pool was empty and being... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that our pool was closed during your visit. If you contact me we will look at your reservation when you made it and see if we can do a room adjustment. Again I am sorry that you were not notified. More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Our room was bright, clean, spacious, and well-equipped. What else would anyone want? The bed was comfy too. Check-in/out was quick and easy too. Housekeeping needs a bit of training but that didn't cause a real problem for us. We'd recommend this spot and stay here again. The wi-fi worked great too.

Helpful?
Thank DavidLou
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and about your stay. Watch for our winter specials. Hope to see you again real soon. More 

Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Beautiful state park on a wooded bluff above Madison, IN. When you enter, the ranger mentions the two highlights of the park - Clifty Falls and the view of town and the Ohio from the Inn. We were there following a day of heavy rain and immediately road up to the falls. They were gushing and roaring, making a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack L
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the falls, we are so happy that the water was flowing during your hike, pictures cannot explain how gorgeous they are you haft to see them in person. We are so happy you enjoyed the view of the river from your room. Hope to see you again... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The rooms are beautiful and clean. We had buffet for breakfast, lunches and dinner. Very good variety and great waitresses. Our group was 104 people. Con: We were on the third floor and we had to go down to the front desk three times for room keys- none worked when we arrived, the fourth time the front desk came up... More 

Helpful?
Thank abelmom
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had the inconvenience of your keys and tv but glad they could fix them for you. The lady bugs are a problem in the parks we try to control them, but sometimes a few slip thru. Hope to see you again. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We started 2 nights in the parkside wing. Don't be confused that there would be a park view. There is a parking lot view. The room has been updated with slate style tile throughout the bathroom and shower. The mattress was very nice and there were 10 pillows to choose from. There is no elevator in the parkside wings. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick O
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we will get the bird feeders filled thank you for letting us know. More 

Arthur, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The Clifty Inn is a great place to stay when visiting the Madison area. Located in the State Park, the inn offers a wounderful view of the Ohio River. There is an indoor swimming pool that is good for the kids.

Helpful?
Thank Galen T
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

It was great to hear from you, we are so glad you took the time to let other's know about your experience. Be sure to watch for our upcoming specials. Hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Went for breakfast before grandsons soccer game. We all decided on the breakfast buffet. Oatmeal, cream of wheat (brown sugar, raisins, honey available) cold ceral to. Scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs with peppers and onions, hash browns, hash brown casserole, sausage pasties, sausage links and ham. Lots of other things too. It was all good. You can order off the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed the breakfast bar. Hope to see you again. More 

Carmel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We've been going to the Clifty Inn for about 15 years now, but only every other year. It started out as a half way destination for those of us from north of Indy and those from TN. We love that the Inn provides sitting rooms, tables outside to watch sunrises and sunsets, a fire pit, hiking trails, nature center for... More 

Helpful?
Thank spajnky
Renie S, General Manager at Clifty Inn, responded to this review

We love to hear from our returning guest, thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about what you enjoy and sharing your memories with us. See you real soon. More 

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
4.2 km away
Hillside Inn
Hillside Inn
#3 of 7 in Madison
156 reviews
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn Madison
Comfort Inn Madison
#4 of 7 in Madison
96 reviews
4.9 km away
Super 8 Madison/Hanover Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Best Way Inn
Best Way Inn
#7 of 7 in Madison
56 reviews
27.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Carrollton
27.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
Red Roof Inn Carrollton
#3 of 7 in Carrollton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Clifty Inn

Address: Clifty Falls State Park, Rte. 56, 1650 Clifty Hollow Rd, Madison, IN 47250
Region: United States > Indiana > Madison
Price Range: RM351 - RM573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Clifty Hotel Madison
Clifty Falls State Park Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clifty Inn staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
17 days ago
Evansville, Indiana
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Indianapolis, Indiana
10 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Clifty Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor river view room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles RWilliams1123, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view room for a nice view to the south if possible. It's worth the few extra $.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidLou, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You need a room on the upper floors for best views. They are usually the first ones booked. Our frig was noisy, so we turned it down.”
 of 5 bubbles L2475MOjackl, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the third floor overlooking the back and the river. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles abelmom, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the river view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 758galent, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5