We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hartwood Inn

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hartwood Inn
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Hartwood Inn
 Click to rate
Avondale, Arizona
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here because it was the only place that would allow a dog. While it is about as far away from the Ritz as you can get it wasn't horrible. I would bring flip flops or some sort of foot covering because to go barefoot is not a good idea. The floor is extremely dirty. It is very old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee A
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I called to ask what the rate was and was given the rate (after I informed them of what date I would be staying there and how many people would be staying). While I was getting my card to book the room, after they knew what days I would be staying and after I verified the amount a 2nd time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank B A
Natalia L, Owner at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Your review was "deleted from here" by Trip Advisor because it violated their guidelines.

Reviewed 8 February 2016

$40 Bucks vs $102... Just needed a room for a couple nights. No complaints. Mgr works hard to deliver on expectation of peace, quiet and functioning room... So there are nicer hotels in the area but you'll pay for it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James C
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I booked a room here and when I cancelled the reservation I was still charged 10% of room for the inconvenience of the cancellation. The man on the phone stated it was to pay for the credit card transaction fee. WHAT A HEIST!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzette11464
Hartwood_Inn_Manager, Manager at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzette11464, We end up NOT charging you for cancellation. It is true that the company whose booking engine we are using charges us 10% per every online reservation regardless whether it was subsequently cancelled or not. If our attempts at renegotiating the terms of our contract with this company are unsuccessful, we will remove the option of online reservation...

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 15 September 2014

Room was definately not clean. Floor, walls, bathtub, and carpets filthy. Smelled like smoke overpowering the room. Looks nothing like the pictures. We stayed one night because everything else was booked. Definately do no waste your time or money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dick W
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Awful filthy room. Front desk would not answer their phone when we called from our room. Holes and stains in sheets. Filthy shower curtain. We ended up buying Lysol spray and wipes to clean the room ourselves. Had booked 2 rooms long distance for a 3 day stay. The only reason we continued to stay for the duration is because...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank coloradogirl0363
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Only room available in town and if we weren't so tierd we would have keeped driving. Room was not clean floors need steam cleaned bad, smelled a little had to check the room for bug's shower curtain was dirty, rooms looked NOTHING like the pictures, bathroom floor was gross tile chiped. Stayed in a room by the office there were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amana C
Marshalltown, Iowa
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here one night only because everywhere else was book within 60 miles, so we had no choice. The part of the motel that we stayed in is like the old strip type motels, where you enter your room from the road. First thing I did upon entering the room is take my husbands penlight and check the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nursekris89
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had never been inside a room there And did not know what to expect. The only thing that could have made it nastier is bedbugs and roaches... Which I had to check to make sure there weren't! Absolutely no heat in room. Had to be about 45 degrees when we went in... Two hours later it warmed up. A nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ohtobeadog
Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Hartwood Inn for a Motorcycle Rally in a neighboring city Sept 9 & 10, 2011. Our room was so dirty and smelled of Old Cigarette Smoke and Urine the smell was so awful I kept our door open for air as much as possible. We asked for a new room but they were booked due to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reachingforthestars

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midwestern non-franchise motel. The motel has following room types: smoking rooms, non-smoking rooms, pet-friendly rooms, and wheelchair access rooms. The rooms have one queen-size and two full-size beds. The rooms have following amenities: microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, cable TV with over 60 channels plus HBO, and free long-distance calls within US and Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hartwood Inn

Address: 1312 Gilbert Street, Charles City, IA 50616
Region: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Price Range: RM257 - RM304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hartwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hartwood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates