We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sterling Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sterling Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1.5 months in April/May 2016 while between homes. Hard to beat for the price at about $62/night, although was hoping for better rate for long term stay. Nice room with plenty of room, comfortable bed, kitchen, & small couch/chair that wasn't very comfortable, but swivel TV allowed me to lay in bed and watch. Overall quite satisfied. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Warren J
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walked into the room and although it looked fairly clean, it didn't "feel" clean, which was then evidenced by the 2AM wakeup from being bitten dozens of times. Flipped the lights on and pulled the sheets back and saw several bedbugs. Night clerk apparently wasn't able to give a refund, he said to call back the next day. No real... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9lennon9
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Afternoon 9lennon9, We sincerely apologize for for what happened to you. Our Front Desk should have directly refunded you for your stay and I apologize that they didn't we tried to reach out to you and directly refunded the stay before we received the request from the third party, because we understand that this should never happen to one... More 

Travellers are raving about these Clive hotels

Amana, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are in town for tax class and always stay here. Great price and value. It is not really a motel, more like studio apartment. Stove fridge small kitchen living room sofas king bedroom and bathroom. Clean and nice. Great value.

Helpful?
Thank AmanaSH
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you really enjoy staying with us. More 

Shenandoah, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These are old apartment buildings converted to hotel rooms. The space is nice. A large room with a bed, couch, full kitchen, and a bathroom. This is more of a studio. For the money it was a nice stay. A few concerns/things to address:. The owners/management - if you're reading - you need a sign to highlight the lobby. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank John O
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning john, Thank you so much for your honest review. The hotel is under new management and we will start a complete room by room remodel/preventive maintenance plan that will start this December. I will share your review with our owners, but please accept my sincere apologize for the inconvenience. More 

Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm not sure "hotel" is quite the right term for this place. Our room was basically a studio apartment. It was a super cool place. Funky layout, a super neighborly feel, I could see it being a really cool place to stay for a few nights in the summertime. The room itself had everything we needed. If you're traveling as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Linda, We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the bed and the bed linens. The room that you got checked into had a proper queen size bed, but we do apologize that their was no bed linens in the room for the sofa bed. Unfortunately our night clerk is unable to leave the front desk because he... More 

Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the night before our flight. The staff on duty were very nice. They took the time to show us our room before we paid for it for our approval. The room was like a mini apartment. I will be honest it could have used some paint touch ups on the bottom of the bathroom door, but other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Salmandy
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Salmandy, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back. More 

Mason City, IA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We always stay here when in Des Moines area. The units are spacious and have a full kitchen. Saved lots not having to eat out so much. Also, they have a nice breakfast. Some area show some wear but for the price and size of units, it's worth what you pay. Check for groupons and save even more.

Helpful?
Thank intheknowtoo
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you so much for you kind words and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to welcome you again. More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here twice in the past 8 years or so when it was Chase suites and was very happy. It has changed for the worse to sterling hotel. Rooms are absolutely horrific. The first room I was in the Internet did not work at all. It smelled and was dark and dank. I was given another room where wi... More 

Helpful?
Thank digger-ace
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Digger-Ace, Please accept our apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. Unfortunately we experienced a higher volume of internet user due to a sell out of the hotel. I will discuss your feedback regarding the room with the responsible department managers. Once again please accept our apologize. More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Terrible. Rotton doorframe. Broken blinds. Had to put blanket over it. Dirty inside. Caulk on stairwell. Would not recommend it didn't feel safe. Lots of motels in the area to choose from.....this is not the one to stay in.

Helpful?
Thank Hapdog133
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning, Please accept my apologize for poor maintenance of the room. I will address this with our maintenance manager to prevent this from happening again. More 

Des Moines Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I reserved a penthouse suite, 2 BR, 2 bath, with kitchen and living room. The space was nice. Downstairs was pretty clean, good paint job. The problem was the upstairs suite. It has been a long time since it was last painted and it looked very tired and worn. The lighting was horrible. Worst of all was the clump -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara M
Matt E, Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Good Morning Sara, Please accept our apologize that the room you stayed in wasn't properly maintained and cleaned by our maintenance and housekeeping department. Please feel free to reach out to our Front Desk Manager to discuss your stay. More 

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
243 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: RM302 - RM413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sterling Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check for groupons”
 of 5 bubbles intheknowtoo, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms facing the i-80”
 of 5 bubbles iabug, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very quiet neighborhood with dining options within walking distance, but the upper floor is not accesable by elevator, stairs only.”
 of 5 bubbles dtillytwo, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles Jsleos, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“friendly people and we liked the kitchenetts in our room for our cold things.”
 of 5 bubbles conniev565, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay