We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 356: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Everything was great! The beds where a little to hard for myself and my grandpa but thats just our opinion. The front desk staff was very nice and attentive. Very beautiful location! Restaurants close by and rewards members parking!!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much Tara. I am glad you enjoyed my hotel and we hope to see you and Grandpa back again. Happy travels to you.

Lee's Summit, Missouri
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Best Western a couple weeks ago when in town for a concert. The motel is right off the interstate and is very easy to get to. It is also convenient for going into downtown Des Moines. Upon arrival the front desk clerk was cheerful and professional. She asked if we wanted a room on the third...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve K
About Hotel's Favourite Review
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Steve for the great words about my hotel. I am glad you like our location and my staff. They work so hard to please and accommodate that it is nice to share your compliments with them. Thanks again and happy travels to you. When next in Des Moines don't forget to stop by.

Tinley Park, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice upgraded room at a reasonable price. Good location to food and gas. I have stayed here 2 times and will continue,due to good location and will continue because of location and price. ........

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Peter. I am glad you enjoy our location and recognize the value that we offer in our amenities and accommodations. Happy travels to you and we hope to see you back when next coming to Des Moines.

OSWEGO, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Located with numerous shopping/restaurants available. We stay here to visit our kids who go to Iowa State and Drake. Great easy access to express way to visit both campuses. Will continue to stay here throughout their college attendance.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeannef228
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Jeanne for a great review. I would be thrilled for my hotel to be your base for the duration of your kids college. Go Cyclones and Go Drake!

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Complimentary wine, beer, sodas, pizza, and chips served in the lobby for a few hours each evening. Very nice surprise. China and silverware provided for a very delicios complimentary breakfast. Waffle maker made it complete!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q8451YTcathyf
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed our social hour. I am also happy you noticed and liked our real china, food just doesn't taste as good from paper and plastic, does it? Did you notice the little BW logo on your waffles?

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very well run property. Staff is helpful, rooms are always clean and the breakfast offering is excellent. Happy hour Mon-Wed. is most appreciated with free wine, beer and pizza from 5 - 7pm.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesmR6889IV
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Charles, I am glad you liked our social hour. It is my favorite and a great image builder when a guest comes in and sees guests sitting in the lobby sipping wine and beer while munching on our snacks. Oh, and we have great music too! My favorite is French Cabaret on Tuesdays :)

Belvidere, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When checking in at 2:50 we were told the room would be ready in 15 minutes. 30 minutes they finally had it ready. The hotel wasn't full do why not just give me another King? They finally did because they couldn't figure out the channel selection for the TV. It turned out that the guide was incorrect on the two...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harryg1948
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Harry for your review. I do apologize for the initial confusion with the channels but I am glad my staff was able to help you find your channel so you could watch the Masters. We have recently changed out all our TV's and on top of that our local cable provider realigned their channel lineups, thus creating some...

Bourbonnais, Illinois, Usa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was covered in ants! We were told to just keep killing them, there were too many to kill. The room had just been remodeled so there was no excuse. Front desk told us it was because it was summer! It was April!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dawn, we are very sorry for your experience. We were completely sold out and were not able to change your room at the time. We gave you an option of a complete refund and cancellation but you chose to stay accepting our discounted rate. We did not want to spray with you present in the room as that would jeopardize...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

The only reason not to rate 5 is: we requested a top floor room when making the reservation on Best Western.com and the person assigning rooms for the night ignored the request. Fortunately the hotel was not full and the night clerk could fix the problem but this shouldn't have happened in the first place. We were in room 304...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadtripwoman
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the good words. We always try and accommodate guest requests and I am glad we were able to get you your top floor room as requested. Happy travels and come back when in Des Moines.

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The front desk staff was very rude the moment we checked in. They proceeded to watch our group on cameras then call our room to say we had too many people. Told me to leave, hung up then called cops. There was no service what so ever and the best western customer service did not comply either. The escorted 5...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K7140MFsarahw
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sarah. we were not rude when we asked you to kindly let us know how many people were in the room. You paid for two and had seven people in the room. When we inquired you told us "it is none of your business". I am sorry but it is my business. As the owner I am responsible to...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.4 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: RM387 - RM793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer first floor if available because of elevator but it's really not a big thing.”
mikekW6915XL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are much larger than the standard rooms for a few extra dollars.”
AitutakiGirl, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrading to a suite was worth every penny.”
AudreyF178, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nothing really other than main level if you do not want to climb stairs. One elevator. Overload”
tomaT8622LX, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“314 is near elevator/ice machines. No noise from them but some interstate noise. Rooms at west end are further from the interstate.”
srehmann, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5