We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chimney Rock Campground

Save
Share
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible25%
23 Oct 2017
“Beautiful Area, Decent Amenities”
4 weeks ago
“STRANDED”
AMENITIES
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Reviews (20)
    Filter reviews
    20 results
    Traveller rating
    6
    5
    1
    3
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    6
    5
    1
    3
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 20 reviews
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Rented a canoe from Chimney Rock,scenic peaceful float July 2018. DEB said she would pick us up at 1 pm We were at the pick up point at 1240. At 330 we were hitching a ride with a complete stranger to take us back to...More

    Thank Sue L
    Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

    Rented a cabin a weekend in October. Very quiet given the time of year. Gorgeous, untouched area. I recommend kayaking in that area if you're thinking about it. Nice, clean cabin and was enough room with four people. Spacious loft with two beds upstairs. Nice...More

    Thank cljenson
    Reviewed 27 June 2017

    Well kept secret in a beautiful corner of Iowa. Campground is basic, but pristine sites, stunning location and not crowded. Low key staff but helpful and supportive. Great canoe livery service. Canoeing or kayaking the Upper Iowa is an experience not to be missed. Well...More

    Thank Susan C
    Reviewed 13 June 2017

    Kayaking was great. Highly recommend the Upper Iowa River. However this campground was disappointing. Little to no shade in lower electric area. No water available anywhere except at check in building. No place for tenters to fill at water bag even. Porta Potties - less...More

    1  Thank Deborah S
    Response from Deb K, Owner at Chimney Rock CampgroundResponded 22 October 2017

    I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience. There are 3 places to obtain water which is the same for primitive campers, electric sites and cabins. You are the first to complain about my porta potties, I rent from 2 separate suppliers so they can...More

    Reviewed 4 August 2015

    Our experience and two cent advice... We stayed the last weekend in July 2015, my boyfriend and I arrived on Friday afternoon, before his Dad and Dad's friend did. It was beautiful and clean. We were at sites #12, #13 and #14.. We had plenty...More

    7  Thank Jessie K
    Response from Deb K, Owner at Chimney Rock CampgroundResponded 22 October 2017

    Camping in any campground can be an adventure on Friday/Saturday nights from my personal experience. There are 4/5 other outfitters on the river besides me and yes Saturdays are extremely busy. I am available 24/7 if you have a problem with any of my campers....More

    View more reviews
    About
    Price range
    US$10 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    Number of rooms
    80
    Location
    United States > Iowa > Cresco
    Also Known As
    Chimney Rock Campground Hotel Cresco
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (15)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Chimney Rock Campground staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Submit
    Posting guidelines
    Room Tips
    "all the sites looked very nice! The picture I posted was our site & we loved it! It is Site H. We also..."
    Read review
    "Cabins 1, 2, 3, & 4 are far enough away from the river tents and road to the river so are quieter than..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing