We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chimney Rock Campground

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible21%
23 Oct 2017
“Beautiful Area, Decent Amenities”
26 Jun 2017
“Chimney Rocks Campground and Upper Iowa River”
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Rented a cabin a weekend in October. Very quiet given the time of year. Gorgeous, untouched area. I recommend kayaking in that area if you're thinking about it. Nice, clean cabin and was enough room with four people. Spacious loft with two beds upstairs. Nice...More

Thank cljenson
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Well kept secret in a beautiful corner of Iowa. Campground is basic, but pristine sites, stunning location and not crowded. Low key staff but helpful and supportive. Great canoe livery service. Canoeing or kayaking the Upper Iowa is an experience not to be missed. Well...More

Thank Susan C
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Kayaking was great. Highly recommend the Upper Iowa River. However this campground was disappointing. Little to no shade in lower electric area. No water available anywhere except at check in building. No place for tenters to fill at water bag even. Porta Potties - less...More

Thank Deborah S
Response from Deb K, Owner at Chimney Rock CampgroundResponded 22 October 2017

I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience. There are 3 places to obtain water which is the same for primitive campers, electric sites and cabins. You are the first to complain about my porta potties, I rent from 2 separate suppliers so they can...More

Reviewed 4 August 2015

Our experience and two cent advice... We stayed the last weekend in July 2015, my boyfriend and I arrived on Friday afternoon, before his Dad and Dad's friend did. It was beautiful and clean. We were at sites #12, #13 and #14.. We had plenty...More

6  Thank Jessie K
Response from Deb K, Owner at Chimney Rock CampgroundResponded 22 October 2017

Camping in any campground can be an adventure on Friday/Saturday nights from my personal experience. There are 4/5 other outfitters on the river besides me and yes Saturdays are extremely busy. I am available 24/7 if you have a problem with any of my campers....More

Reviewed 31 July 2015

We didn't stay at the campground, but we drove through it and it's very nice! Huge! We rented canoes from Chimney Rock and it was great. We opted for a 2 hour ride, and it was less than a 10 minute drive away (you leave...More

1  Thank Denvergal1234
View more reviews
Price range
US$10 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
United States > Iowa > Cresco
Also Known As
Chimney Rock Campground Hotel Cresco
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chimney Rock Campground staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"all the sites looked very nice! The picture I posted was our site & we loved it! It is Site H. We also..."
Read review
"Cabins 1, 2, 3, & 4 are far enough away from the river tents and road to the river so are quieter than..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing