We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I just came back from staying three nights under two different stays. I worked a trade show, and then didn't want to drive home in the rain (and dark), so grabbed a room with points. OK, lets get the good out of the way first: This was a fairly typical budget hotel overall. The beds were fine, the TV worked,... More 

Helpful?
Thank kansasccw
Aurora, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is directly across the street from an entrance to the state fairgrounds, which would make it very convenient to someone spending a couple days checking out events. I stayed here mid October when the fair was over and it was a nice, quiet location. First impressions: Hotel was out dated and worn looking, area didn't look the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The staff was quite nice, and I like the chocolate chip cookies in the evening, the parking is convenient right out front, but that is about all I can say really positive. The place in general appeared dingy including the room but the room itself was clean. The A/C did not work right as it was cool enough but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ralph r
Missy J, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to fill out a survey and give us feedback about our location. I am happy to report this week we received fridges and microwaves for all rooms. And in the next several months we will be painting and carpeting all our public areas and receiving many new items for rooms, we are quite excited to... More 

Stoddard, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016

This hotel is located right next to the IA state fest grounds. We weren't there during that time of the year though and it had a great rate. The check-in was quick, although they were unsure of when their breakfast hours were. All of the walls in the building, halls and rooms, REALLY needed a fresh coat of paint. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
Lathrop, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My husband & I were in Des Moines for a couple of nights. As soon as we walked into the hotel we could tell it wasn't clean. They keep cookies in the lobby area & there was cookie crumbs all over the floor. We checked into our room. As soon as we walked in the room it did not smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxannepage
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Roxannepage, I am very sorry for your unfortunate experience at this hotel. I really do appreciate the feedback and we are taking some big steps here to get every room and every area up to the standards that all guest deserve and expect. We have recently changed management and implemented some very specific changes and standards. This fall we... More 

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The good: Right next to the Iowa State Fair grounds The BAD: Check in "service manager Sam Derr" is very unprofessional, a liar and gives this hotel a very very poor reputation. The hotels antiquated computer system does not allow you to add a name to a room without adding an additional room onto your reservation. So we checked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, I am truly sorry for the experience you had with the desk representative at this hotel and for your your inadequate room furnishings. As you mentioned, I had just arrived at this hotel and we were definitely going through a tough spot, the "personnel over-haul" that you felt was needed was addressed quickly and we are moving... More 

Moville, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Excellent, very comfortable rooms, very quiet. Located just next to the Fair Grounds main gate. Must reserve early in the year for rooms during the state fair as it fills up fast. Breakfast isn't much but that is the only fault. We have been staying there for several years

Helpful?
Thank larryep
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and repeat business! We hope you continue to chose our facility for your future visits to the fairgrounds or Des Moines area. We have some big improvement plans for this fall and winter so we hope you come back to enjoy the changes. Thank you again for taking the time to comment! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here using our Choice Rewards for fair night and it was excellent proximity right at Gate 11. Older hotel but our room was clean, General Mgr. was friendly. After the fair we soaked our feet in the hot tub, too many crickets floating in the pool for me😳 our bed was comfortable but the pillows were small. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendi S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you had a wonderful experience at the State Fair. Things are changing and improving at this hotel every day and we hope you continue to stay her in the future to experience that. We are excited for the... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning on driving all the way through from Michigan to Colorado but after getting stuck in traffic we decided to find a spot for the night. Got in late, after making a same day reservation online at about 7 pm. Upon checkin the front desk manager was very friendly and we had no problems checking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess F
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I went to a concert on a Wednesday night and all the hotels around the arena were over $200, so looking around we found this hotel. The rates were very reasonable!! The rooms were a lot smaller than I was expecting. We stayed in a 2 bed room and it was much smaller than I was expecting. There was only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgan R

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
5.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
65 reviews
7.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
99 reviews
6.6 km away
Travelodge Des Moines IA
Travelodge Des Moines IA
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
532 reviews
9.7 km away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
139 reviews
9.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 410 E 30th St, Des Moines, IA 50317-2404
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: RM267 - RM413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The closer you are to the lobby, the farther away you are from the biker bar.”
 of 5 bubbles kansasccw, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only stay in rooms opposite from the "Biker" bar.”
 of 5 bubbles 786ralphr, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the rooms are smaller than expected”
 of 5 bubbles 459morganr, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not room 115. Smelled horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles josephb169, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Just be aware of the deposit, that's all I'm sayin'”
 of 5 bubbles 405kariej, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay