We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 899: English reviews
North Branch, Minnesota
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This hotel is fantastic! If this is how every Embassy Suites is, then they are offically my favorite hotel. Rooms are clean and updated. I think what makes this hotel exceed over others is their continental breakfast. It's over the top. And an added touch was the magician that came to the tables for the kids. How cool is that!?!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janell F
CASCADE, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was surprised to learn that they did not offer parking for their guest free of charge. Valet parking was $28.00. Street parking was available or a parking garage 7 blocks away. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for this stay. The bacon was overdone and the hot items were cold. The hotel was clean and welcoming. I did enjoy...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E7023RBjeanm
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry about the parking being somewhat difficult due to the construction and development of the new city parking garage on the lot where we used to have our lower cost option self-parking lot. The valet parking we offer is in our opinion the best alternative and provides the highest level of...

Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, loved the breakfast, they checked us in early, staff friendly, quick and helpful. Our room was clean and roomy, we had lunch at the cafe, was very good. Valet service for the car was fast and efficient and they offered directions when needed.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy I
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kathy I - Thank you very much for the fantastic review - please come back soon! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Des Moines, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay was awesome enjoyed the whole time I always had fresh towels at the pool or in the workout area. I would see the staff in the halls and would always receive a hardy hello. Just a wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank randolphs63
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear randolphs63 - Thank you for staying with us. I am delighted you found our staff to be friendly and hospitable at all times. We all greatly appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Davenport, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is beautiful. The suites are very spacious, the staff is extremely friendly, helpful and happy. The breakfast was fabulous with very delicious pancakes and omelettes made to order and plenty of other foods.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GumpGump
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GumpGump - I am glad you enjoyed our large two room suites and the fabulous staff we have at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Des Moines Downtown. Please come back soon! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Clarion, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, friendly hotel with excellent amenities. A great place for a family stay and to enjoy the downtown Des Moines activities. Metered street parking is available along with valet parking. The hotel is continually running shuttles to requested destinations of the guests. They will also pick you up if you call them. It is located right next to the ice...

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonnn2017
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear jonnn2017 - Thank you for your business! I ma glad that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the great area immediately surrounding the hotel. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I stay here last night. It was as comfortable as I remembered! The pillows are awesome and the bed very comfortable. The night reception was enjoyed and the morning breakfast was delightful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCHS1972
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear LCHS1972 = Thank you very much for staying with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary cooked to order breakfast as well as the complimentary evening reception. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Splurged and booked the two-bedroom family suite for a Christmas celebration. What a disappointment!! The furniture was worn and outdated, with stains, as was the carpet. Overall, a dark and dingy room that obviously hasn't been updated since the place was built. Was NOT worth the extra $100 we spent. I should have downgraded to a regular room once I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cedmark3
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cedmark3 - Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy our Family Suite. The hotel had a full guest room renovation a couple of years ago and the color scheme is quite masculine with some brown tones and a dark purple accent wall in each room. The corner suites we have a lot...

Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My adult children and their families met with us for two nights at the embassy suites in Des Moines. When we arrived, not only did they maneuver to get us all on the same floor but also close together and put us in rooms that met our needs perfectly. One family of 8, were put into a family room (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaboWaboWanttobes
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CaboWaboWanttobes - I am very glad that you had a wonderful Christmas with us and that our staff provided you exceptional service! Thank you or having your family here over the holiday - please come back soon! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

Lee's Summit, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a Monday night here since we were in town for the hockey game. Everything was fine, as far as we were concerned. The evening reception was nice, and the breakfast the next day had everything you could ask for. We used the shuttle to and from the Wells Fargo Arena, which saved us a cab ride. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalen1970
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dalen1970 - Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites by Hilton Des Moines Downtown for your Hockey Game Trip! I am delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary amenities we offer to all of our valued guests! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.8 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.0 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#11 of 49 in Des Moines
399 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
7.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 E Locust St, Des Moines, IA 50309-1802 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: RM723 - RM1,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 month ago
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay extra for the largest suites.”
 of 5 bubbles cedmark3, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher the floor, the better. Also, try getting a room facing the river or the State Capitol.”
 of 5 bubbles Kashbcn, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can be noisy. If there is a wedding reception or reunion going on, get the highest floor you can.”
 of 5 bubbles IABeachLover, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The further up,the more the kids will love riding the glass elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles richardmY61SV, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the West side of the hotel for views of the river and downtown”
 of 5 bubbles gburgess99, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay