We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 74: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The staff was very nice and the rooms are very clean. There was fruit and tea in the lounge area that was free for guests. The bed was also very comfortable. My only negative comment is that there is quite a gap between the bottom of the room's door and the floor. Which allows light to shine in at night...

Thank katiesg07
Reviewed 27 February 2016

The room was spacious, the breakfast was great with so many choices. The pool and atmosphere was so delightful and the hot tub was "Heaven!" We will stay here again. The hotel was so nice and quiet, and every member of the staff were so professional and so friendly.

Thank Tim M
Burlington, Iowa
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We stay quite often at numerous hotels as a family and group. This hotel was very nice for being in such a small community. I would recommend staying here if in Mt. Vernon! Cedar Rapids of course has more selection but this hotel meets all expectations! Will not disappoint.

Thank Smorcs
Jason L, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such positive feedback. I have passed your comments onto the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 November 2015

We've stayed here each time visiting our daughter at Cornell College. It's clean, roomy, good breakfast, a good value and close to campus and the airport. My only complaint is the internet service - it's so slow in our room as to be mostly useless - and never seems to improve.

1Thank ELP59
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! I would like to apologize about the speed of the wifi during your last visit. As part of our major 2 year renovation, we upgraded our wifi network, adding more access points, switches, etc. Unfortunately, when you have a full house weekend, and you figure at least 2 devices are being used per room,...

Alma, Michigan
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This is the classic example of "You get what you pay for." The hotel was extremely inexpensive and was totally adequate for our needs. We were visiting Cornell College with our daughter and this is really the only hotel in Mt. Vernon, Iowa. We were surprised that nobody was staffing the front desk when we arrived at 11:30 PM, but...

Thank JoMich
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Stayed overnight on a Sunday night. Was accommodated with an early check-in. Found this motel to far surpass my expectations. These folks give attention to detail that normally only comes with a more expensive place to stay. The staff, the room, the beds, the cleanliness, and the breakfast all get an A+ from me. I would recommend this motel to...

Thank askmrg
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your most recent visit to our Hotel. The last couple years we have been very busy remodeling the entire Hotel, training staff on how its the little things that count as well. It is so wonderful to hear these things did not go unnoitced. I will be sure to pass your comments onto...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Clean spacious rooms; awesome beds; very nice computer in lobby with printer; friendly and helpful staff; easy to get to from Hwy 1 and Hwy 30; closer to the Eastern Iowa Airport than you would imagine. hot and cold breakfast - delicious with great selections; restaurants and grocery moments away! Not a lot of outdoor amenities but an overall excellent...

Thank FloridaGoose
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent visit. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to many more visits.

Illinois City, Illinois
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Mt. Vernon Iowa for one night. The Sleep Inn staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. From the reservation process, to the nice staff working at the front desk, to the breakfast staff, everyone had a kind and friendly word for us. The hotel was clean and recent renovations were...

Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

It was my pleasure to help get your belongings back to you! I have passed your kind words onto the remaining of the staff, it is their hard work & dedication that make this business a success.

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast had many options and was clean and fresh. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Great stop on the way to Mechanicsville. First time I have ever slept in a corn field! Love the decor and atmosphere. Even our dog was happy here.

Thank Miley B
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Mount Vernon! We have done a lot of renovations the last 3 years, including all new beds (which is why they are so comfy!), complete room makeover (new carpet, drapes, artwork, bedding, furnishings, etc.), and a complete public area makeover. It is nice to know these things do not...

Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

We were in town for a national conference and we booked close to 50 rooms. Staff were amazing, hotel was great, breakfast was wonderful, pool was awesome, rooms were comfortable, price was right! Would book here again easy!!! Most of our group that stayed here were Deaf and the staff did an amazing job with communicating with them. We walked...

Thank Mendy O
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Mendy, It was our pleasure accomodating you and your group during your National Conference. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!! We only wish your conference was in Iowa every year. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

62 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (62)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (18)
Bathroom (2)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (1)
Other (26)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
17.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Marion/Cedar Rapids
22.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
19.3 km away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
Best Western Plus Longbranch Hotel & Convention Center
20.5 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#20 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
59 reviews
21.2 km away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon

Address: 310 Virgil Ave, Mount Vernon, IA 52314-9569
Region: United States > Iowa > Mount Vernon
Price Range: RM385 - RM629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Sleep Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for farm view for privacy and quiet”
tlanagnos, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Third floor may be quieter.”
onthebeach36, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor, I heard nothing!”
Veronique82, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Third floor, west side of hotel offers the best view.”
CWSMuse, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“King bed, no smoking 3rd floor. Did not hear a peep from anyone.”
timmI4276GZ, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$82* /night
View Deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates