We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale\/Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 585: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Stay here often and love it! Clean, friendly and easy to get to location. The beds are to most comfortable beds I have EVER had in a hotel! I want that mattress for my home!!!

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank X332WBjenniferb
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review, but I'm sure we might miss the bed here if you took it home..lol. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will see you again soon. Thank you and have a great week. More 

Midwest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night, family of four. Having never stayed at a Microtel before and having heard from many people the rooms are tiny, I was thrilled this was just not the case. Spacious room with two queens and a pull out couch. More than enough room for my little family with two teenage boys. Nicely updated and quiet. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank hawkeyemomkaye
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Yes we do have small rooms which are our 1 queen only room, you had one of the bigger room which was a 2 queen suite. We are glad you had a good stay. Have a great week. More 

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The room was clean and comfortable. We liked the mirrored wall. It was a good value for the money. We checked in at the same time as another family member, and they split us up between the third floor and first floor, which was spdisappointing, as they were not at all full.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Q3005SCannc
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Im sorry you were split. There could have been several factors to that if there were long term stays in or the type of room you had, some are only on the upper floors and not the 1st. When you make a reservation ask the person to note you want rooms adjoining or near each other. Here at the Microtel... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

For the cost it was not bad. However the room I stayed in was very tiny, smelled a little musty and not very clean.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank 969grantd
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy but please give me a call and let me know what was wrong with the room. I like getting reviews it helps us do better so we know what to improve on. I understand on the smallness of the room but that is what our 1 queen rooms are all like. It was... More 

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
0.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
4.7 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#1 of 11 in Urbandale
113 reviews
0.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly remodeled 76 room Hotel. We have 1 queen, 2 queen, 1 queen suites ( includes microwave, refrigerator, and pull out couch ), and 1 queen jacuzzi suites on property: including accessible rooms. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6:00 am to 9:30 am, free wi-fi, on property fitness room, and on property guest laundry. We are pet friendly with a fee per pet per night of $10.00. Our check in is anytime after 3:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Address: 8711 Plum Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: RM320 - RM400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Microtel Urbandale
Urbandale Microtel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are quite”
 of 5 bubbles Jedd1017, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“None the internet is probably bad everywhere”
 of 5 bubbles david5162, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One of our rooms was by the elevator and was told she didn't notice any elevator noise of snack machine noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jeand133, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ice and vending is only located on 2nd floor (3 floors total)”
 of 5 bubbles jeanm381, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We were on second floor. Did not hear outside noise nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jejjr, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay