We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wolwedans Dune Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NamibRand Nature Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wolwedans Dune Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This camp was nice but slow paced. No night drives, just a sundowner and beautiful landscapes but not a lot else! Service was friendly and Goodly was a great driver. Food a solid B, but nothing creative. Drive was great but it's much the same after two hours. Oryx is the only animal we saw. It was a great camp... More 

Helpful?
Thank croakies
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Simply put, Wolwedans is breathtaking. From the moment you are driving through the incredible surrounding landscape you know this is a special place. The reception we received from our personal guide, along with the ladies at the camp itself was extremely welcoming. We felt straight at home, and as if nothing was too much to ask. In particular, my mum... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimmymp23
Wolw123, Wolwedans Digital Team at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Good Day Thank you for such a lovely review. We made sure to share this with our team. It is really heart-warming to get feedback of this nature. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy yourselves at our camp. Take care and kind regards The Wolwedans Team More 

southern California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We finished our recent 3-week trip through Namibia with 3 nights at Wolwedans Dune Camp. Based on what we heard from our agent and other travelers along the way, we were excited to arrive at Wolwedans and expected a fantastic stay. Unfortunately, we found the experience at Wolwedans quite average. The location is indeed stunning: the spacious tented camp is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kismet007
Wolw123, Wolwedans Digital Team at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Good morning. Please allow us to express our genuine apologies for the experience you had at our Dune Camp. We at Wolwedans, have always prided ourselves on our service delivery and our general rating speaks to that. We do however, receive your constructive feedback with open minds and have actioned an internal investigation into the key observations that you have... More 

Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Wolwedans Private Camp for 3 nights and it was marvelous. Absolutely quiet and private- a magnificent site- lovely accommodations!!! A splendid experience. Our delightful and knowledgable guide was David. We thoroughly enjoyed the Bushman's Walk activity and highly recommend this. We went out for several hours with the very charming Gideon and Paulus. We learned a tremendous... More 

Helpful?
Thank castlegreenph
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dear Castlegreenph What a review and what a rating ... Asante , Iyaloo , Vielen dank , Ndapandula u nene ...It is always wonderful to read such positive feedback and reviews, it is very motivating to the team that their dedication and commitment to the Wolwedans ethos does not go unnoticed and more importantly made your visit an unforgettable one.... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

It was the second year in a row that we spent 2 days in this wonderful camp. The accommodation is superb and cosy, the guides are are friendly and very professional, the food is excellent and everybody makes you feel at home. It's the ideal place to relax and enjoy the amazing scenery. Peter and Marie-Dominique

Helpful?
Thank Marie-Dominique K
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dear Peter and Marie Dominique It is always wonderful to read such positive feedback and reviews, it certainly is very motivating to the team that their dedication and commitment to the Wolwedans ethos do not go unnoticed. We look forward to having you visit us again soon. Best Regards, Nankelo Katjiuongua on behalf of Wolwedans More 

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Where to begin? The philosophy here seems to be that even though you're in one of the most remote spots on the planet, you can still enjoy fine wine, gourmet dining, and impeccable service. I'm an amateur astronomer, so for me the best part of the Dunes Camp was the night skies. The Milky Way here has to be seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank james3343
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dear James Wow .. What a way to share your experience at Wolwedans Dunes Camp with the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for taking the time to do so. The team was really chuffed to know that you gave your " Wolwedans experience" a 5 star rating and we all look forward to welcoming you back again. Safe travels till next... More 

Rumson, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

My wife Virginia and I spent 3 days/ 2 nights in the Private Camp at Wolwedans Dunes in March 2016. Cecilia was our guide, Andrew managed the house, Yvette was our chef. Each of these people made our trip the most special time. The beauty of the camp surroundings was only exceeded by the friendliness of these people. The owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank walter o
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dearest Walter Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Private Camp with the TripAdvisor community. It is always great to receive feedback from our patrons, our team certainly appreciated hearing how they made you and your wife's stay special. We look forward to having you visit us again, hopefully a little longer the next time. Warm... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Room fabulous, view stunning, food brilliant, service great! Brilliant! Drive to the middle of nowhere and taken by safari jeep to the camp - amazing - fabulous safaris - just stunning country side - colours out of this world. Sundowners, and sunsets - wow! Love the Namibians - such lovely people - guides and everyone who worked at the Lodge.

Helpful?
Thank Sally L
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sally Thank you for the 5 star rating and for taking the time to share your experience at Wolwedans with everyone. The team was delighted to hear that you feel your visit at Wolwedans was the highlight of your Namibian trip, it reminds us that every little bit goes a long way. Namibia and we at Wolwedans look forward... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on or way through the Namibian desert and could not recommend more highly. The lodge has an incredible position on top of beautiful red dunes with immense desert scenery as the backdrop. Everywhere is remote in Namibia but Wolwedans has the feeling of being truly in the middle of nowhere, with Martian landscapes that totally absorb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe F
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dearest Joe Your rating and recommendation are much appreciated and more importantly your visit to Wolwedans, hopefully with your next visit ,we will be able to arrange a scenic flight so you can see the spectacular Namib desert from the sky. Thank you also for taking the time to share you experience with the TripAdvsior community and we wish you... More 

Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2016

What a blast. It all started with a lovely, picturesque and smooth private charter flight with Westair Aviation (ask for Lizelle to be your pilot!). And then we had 4 unforgettable days at Wolwedans Dune Camp. A truly caring and knowledgable guide (Theresius - many thanks!), excursions twice a day, the most beautiful spots for sun downers each and every... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christoph H
Nankelo K, Public Relations Manager at Wolwedans Dune Camp, responded to this review

Dear Christoph Our team at Wolwedans were really pleased to hear that they succeeded in giving you the ultimate Wolwedans experience, when we receive feedback such as this, it really motivates us to work harder and improve. We wish safe travels and look forward to having you visit us in the near future. Best Regards, Nankelo More 

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
3:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near NamibRand Nature Reserve
0.0 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Kanaan N/a’an ku se Desert Retreat
0.0 km away
Soft Adventure Camp
Soft Adventure Camp
#12 of 12 in Sossusvlei
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
117 reviews
0.0 km away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 7 in Sesriem
229 reviews
0.0 km away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#9 of 11 in Kaokoland
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Wolwedans Dune Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DUNE CAMP – has six canvas tents built on stilts atop a 250-metre-high grass covered dune. A spacious deck allows for sleeping outdoors under the stars, and an en-suite bathroom completes this very civilized camping experience. The main area comprises a lounge, dining area and open-plan kitchen, which allows guests to chat to the chef while their meals are being prepared. The charm of Dune Camp, lies in its tranquil and intimate atmosphere, capturing the romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wolwedans Dune Camp

Address: NamibRand Nature Reserve, NamibRand Nature Reserve, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Hardap Region > NamibRand Nature Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wolwedans Dune Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wolwedans Dune Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“le WIFI est disponible dans la partie commune du lodge mais qui a besoin de Wifi dans un endroit si merveilleux”
 of 5 bubbles mariedominiquek349, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The canvas chalets have panels that can be raised so that essentially you are sleeping outdoors except for a roof over your head.”
 of 5 bubbles james3343, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have amazing views. Individual 'tents' (luxury). No wi fi in rooms but good availability in reception”
  • Visitor!
  • Sunset having sundowners.
  • The rooms.
  • More views - breathtaking colours
  • stunning views on safari from Wolwedans
  • Stunning!
 of 5 bubbles 7sallyl, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the chalets face the dunes. And all of them are equally beautiful and surrounded by red sand dunes.”
 of 5 bubbles gitane_in_zim, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Private Camp is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles DdJacques, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5