We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. The room was fantastic, breakfast was lucious and the spa treatment was extraordinary. The grounds were beautiful for an evening walk. We will be back!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KEQB
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KEQB, Sounds like your stay was absolutely flawless and we are so thrilled to hear that! We always love to hear great things & we appreciate when our guests take the time to share them with us! We are excited & look forward to welcoming you guys back sometime in the near future! Have a wonderful week! Best Regards,...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The wife and I just wanted to get away for the weekend, and we enjoyed our stay. A lot of different themed rooms to choose from, and we had stayed in the Mayan Rainforest. Wow! A lil surprised for the wife, treated her with a rose and rose pedals on the bed (extra cost), darkened room with light effect to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lazy002
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lazy002, Thank you for the amazing review, we are so happy you and your wife enjoyed your weekend getaway! & thankful for the time you took to write a review about it! We all look forward to welcoming you both back soon! Sincerely, Laura

Centennial, Colorado
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It's a great idea. The facility was nice, the location was nice, the setting was great. Our room was nice as well. We went down to the bar one evening and the bartender was great. We enjoyed drinks on the patio. All that was fine. However, the staff was surly at times, and I got the impression they were understaffed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Neil H
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Neil H, Thanks for taking the time out to write a review reflecting your thoughts & experiences on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve on the things that need improvement! We hope to regain your full trust along with the other 2 stars in the near future! Sincerely,...

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel makes for a great anniversary outing, but my husband and I weren't really thrilled with the price value. The food is really good, but the room was small. If I am going to pay over $300 for something, I want it to be a bit more extravagant. I just wasn't wowed. We did get the entertainment package, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HBR2002
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear HBR2002 - Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am sorry you didn't enjoy the suite you were in but we do have 23 different concepts and 61 rooms that are all a little different from one another! Although this one wasn't the right fit there is one here that I am sure would suit you both...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in Buckingham Room. It was clean, but overpriced. No bedside stand or lamp. Front desk crew needs a class in hotel hospitality. They should have someone to help with your bags even if on a part time basis. The gourmet breakfast advertised is not gourmet, The giant cinnamon rolls was good. Other food was not. The Library room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank estell5
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Estell5 - Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your time and making us aware of the things that need attention so we can continue to improve, both as a team and as a hotel. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay but I hope that we may regain your trust in the future....

Wright City, Missouri
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a good time, it was a fun stay and we really liked that we could pick which theme room we wanted to stay in, we picked the Presidential Suite which was cool, i wanted to try the Camelot one but the wife wasn't having any of it due that the tub/jacuzzi looked like a boat, so we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laruetl
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laruetl - Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review! We appreciate your time and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Maybe next time you can convince your wife to give the Camelot a try! It's a popular favorite around here & we are sure you both would enjoy it! We...

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in the Presidential Suite. The bed was vert comfortable and had a built in massager. The whirlpool tub was big enough for two people. Breakfast is included in your stay and delivered to your room. The wine bar had a nice patio to sit out on and relax. This place is close to the Legends shopping center, Speedway,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mkltll
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mkltll - Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I'm so happy your time here was wonderful & that you were able to visit our d'Nile Wine Bar! We appreciate the amazing review and look forward to welcoming you back when you stay in the Camelot Suite! Sincerely, Laura

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is our favorite place to go for a short getaway! I cannot express how much we love this place and everything about it. It is so romantic and perfect for a night with your significant other. The rooms are so cool and you feel you are not in Kansas any more! We are so ready to go back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jferguson5
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jferguson5 - We appreciate you so much and the time you took to write such an awesome review for us! It never gets old hearing guest testimonies about how amazing the stay was. The owner did pour his heart and soul into Chateau Avalon and will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay once again! I hope...

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the buckingham room it was Nice. But the outside security light kept me me awake. Worst night sleep. Breakfast was a 2 out of 5. Wine bar was a plus. 2$ beer. Great flatbread. If breakfast was good and no security light I would have rated very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damerson
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Damerson - I apologize that your stay had some hiccups in it, we appreciate the time you took to inform us with this feedback. Thanks to guest like you we are able to improve on the things that need attention immediately. Best Regards, Laura

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we had a LivingSocial deal, and I would have demanded a refund had I paid full price. We stayed in a Buckingham Suite, which was interesting, but small. The shower is in their two-person bathtub... which is in the bedroom! The last place I stayed with a jacuzzi had a separate shower in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Allison A
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Allison A - Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us, although we weren't able to make it everything you'd hoped it would be and more, your feedback is very important to us and we have actively addressed the concerns that you brought to our attention. If there is anything I can personally do please feel free to...

432 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Camelot (36)
Viewed
Colorado Frontier (24)
Viewed
Mayan Rainforest (26)
Viewed
Monte Cristo (40)
Viewed
Pirate's Cove (29)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
2.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
21.2 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: RM566 - RM902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a Jacuzzi - there deep and wide and can definitely accommodate 2 people. The Roman Dynasty room on the 2nd floor has a great view of the grounds and beautiful trees from the bay windows in the bedroom area.”
CVPDRN, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to check out the many themed rooms before deciding. They do offer tours during the day if you are in the area!”
scottlF9679OT, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Install dimmer lights in Tuscany room. Need larger sectional couch or add an ottoman. Unused hallway under stairs (storage?). Have music playing in rooms for added effect. Provide chocolate candy on bed pillows.”
johncC5852OC, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look through all the rooms online before you book-- there are so many fun choices!!”
kerriscarbo, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring a ash pay with cash and bring a coffee maker rooms dont have one”
williambU3096AT, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5