We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Winfield, KS
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Tuscan suites for our anniversary. We had a really nice time and the room was beautiful, unlike anywhere we have ever stayed. The staff is very friendly, the room was very clean, and it was great to get breakfast in our room! We also loved the open house in the afternoon...

1Thank lalobu
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Lalobu- Happy belated anniversary! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The Tuscany is one of my personal favorites, and the feedback you gave on the room is very helpful to us. We are always wanting to better ourselves and thanks to people like you we know where to start. I am excited to hear that you are considering...

Chanute, Kansas
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I surprised my husband on his birthday with a stay here and added a massage, champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries! it was all very good. they had a shuttle van that took us to dinner, picked us up and back to hotel. I liked that it ran so late most places stop early but they end at 12:45 am and...

1Thank Jeanie2012
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jeanie2012- WOW! What a great birthday stay! I am so happy everything went as planned and we were able to make your husbands birthday a memorable one! We adore Judy, she is such a gem and I will be sure to pass the message on to her. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit...your birthday?..Anniversary?..Just to...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Best romantic couple retreat in KC. Huge rooms with big jetted bath tubs in every room. Been 5 times and have loved every visit. No other hotel comes close in price and admities. Most other hotels you can't even find a private jetted tub in your room. Go to Jazz to eat.

Thank PHILLIP452
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

PHILLIP452 - Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your wonderful review! We appreciate it and are so pleased to hear we have made 5 memorable experiences here for you! Thank you and we can't wait to welcome you back on your 6th visit! Best Regards, Laura

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a nice stay for our anniversary but i'm not sure we will be returning. The staff was very prompt and courteous and the room was a little smaller than expected but it was clean and neatly decorated. The breakfast was rather skimpy but it came right on time and was still warm upon delivery. The coffee delivery was...

Thank C J
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear CJ, Thanks for taking the time out to inform us about the pros and cons you experienced during your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I guarantee that the message will be relayed to the rest of our management team. Thanks again for your comments, without guests like you we wouldn't have the...

Derby, Kansas
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at Chateau Avalon for our Anniversary, there was a problem with our booking so it took a few extra minutes to check in, because of this they upgraded us to the Presidential suite, very nice room on the third floor. The D'Nile bar is new since our last stay, Beau the bartender was great.

Thank Nelda C
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Nelda C - Happy belated anniversary! I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at check in and I'm glad we were able to upgrade you to the luxurious Presidential Suite! In addition I am pleased to hear you were able to experience d'Nile Wine Bar and Patio and I will be sure to pass the compliments onto our bartender. Thank...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Situated across the road from the Kansas Speedway, it's a ways out of Kansas City near the freeways, but feels like it's in the middle of the countryside. Every room is themed and there are lots of pros and cons. My room was the Presidential Suite and when you enter the room it's a library and a restroom. Nothing else....

Thank ThePackedBag
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

The Packed Bag- First of all thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We appreciate the feedback of both the pros and the cons as it gives us things to rejoice about and things to work on. I will be sure to pass on this review to the rest of the management team...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I spent an October evening at the Chateau Avalon. The rooms were extremely small and the jacuzzi tub doubled as a shower. The place was nice and included breakfast delivered to your room, unfortunately the cinnamon-swirl french toast was delivered hard and cold. We visited the D'Nile Bar while we were there, very nice and great happy...

Thank carrotsandpeas
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

carrottsandpeas - Here at the Chateau Avalon we take pride in our breakfast being delivered hot and delicious right to your door in the morning. We do get behind occasionally and a breakfast may be delivered not up to our standards. However we are happy to remedy the situation as soon as we are informed our error. Some of our...

Carl Junction, Missouri, United States
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Pros: Very conveniently located if you are attending a Sporting KC game, going to the Kansas Speedway or eating/shopping in the Legends area. Unique themed rooms with nice, relaxing baths. Ours was an Egyptian themed room, which was a little creepy, but interesting nonetheless. Staff was nice and responsive to our requests. Cons: Wireless Internet is very slow. We had...

Thank Dustin_Franks
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dustin_Franks - Thank you so much for the wonderful review & sharing both the pros and cons to your stay! We have so many different concepts and next time would love to accommodate a room on the other side of our hotel for you to help with the noise that may occur from the patio. I am so sorry to...

Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It is difficult to write a review of the chateau Avalon. We loved the place, and stayed five days during a trip to the Kansas City NASCAR race. The hotel has so many positives, but also some problems. The staff were all great. The bar manager is great, helpful and always cheerful. The shuttle drivers were always awesome. The rooms...

Thank Art H
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Chr0me_Drag0n - Wow! Thank you for such a detailed and great review! NASCAR Weeks get pretty crazy and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed it here! Some of our rooms however, as you noticed are smaller than others. Whenever you are next in Kansas City again and plan on returning - let us know your previous story and...

Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here twice a year when we come to town for business. While my husband is working there's great shopping close by for me. The hotel is a very cool place. Each room is themed. That sounds silly but it's a lot of fun. We stayed in the presidential suite and loved it. I would highly recommend this hotel...

Thank Manistee

432 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (152)
Bathroom (8)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (27)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Camelot (36)
Colorado Frontier (24)
Mayan Rainforest (26)
Monte Cristo (40)
Pirate's Cove (29)
Presidential Suite (37)
Dining (18)
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Dining (4)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (6)


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: RM572 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a Jacuzzi - there deep and wide and can definitely accommodate 2 people. The Roman Dynasty room on the 2nd floor has a great view of the grounds and beautiful trees from the bay windows in the bedroom area.”
CVPDRN, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to check out the many themed rooms before deciding. They do offer tours during the day if you are in the area!”
scottlF9679OT, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Install dimmer lights in Tuscany room. Need larger sectional couch or add an ottoman. Unused hallway under stairs (storage?). Have music playing in rooms for added effect. Provide chocolate candy on bed pillows.”
johncC5852OC, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Look through all the rooms online before you book-- there are so many fun choices!!”
kerriscarbo, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring a ash pay with cash and bring a coffee maker rooms dont have one”
williambU3096AT, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5