We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Altenhofen Inn & Suites

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Altenhofen Inn & Suites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Altenhofen Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights in the two room suite for a family wedding. It was nice to have the large living room area to visit with family. Small refrigerator in the room was handy, too. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast had a great variety and was tasty.

Thank rgomao
Forest City, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were part of crew working on the first Sonic in Seneca/KS. We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Very clean, people are very cordial and helpful. Loved my experience! Very nice hotel. Can stay there anytime! Thanks to Altenhofen team!!!

Thank luizahall06
Reviewed 15 March 2017

So a few weeks ago I was doing some work in Bern, KS and the closest/most reasonable/only acceptable place to stay was here at the Altenhofen. The travel leading up to how we got here is a long story. It involves SuperBowl Sunday, eating dinner/watching the halftime show in a gas station McDonald's and driving across state lines into Nebraska...

Thank sanchezluk
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed at this hotel four nights February 6 - 10, 2017. Rooms had a refrigerator bigger than other chains at this level and a microwave. The king size bed was comfortable. It has a small workout room with a good elliptical machine. The property itself is not fancy, it is a nice spot to rest. Front desk employees were very...

Thank RAS60
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed 7 February 2017

In an area that might otherwise be lacking in travel accommodations, this was a welcoming hotel. Easy access, right on Highway 36. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Friendly, helpful front desk. The breakfast was good - with waffles, ready-made egg and cheese omelets, sausage, hash browns, biscuits and gravy. A nice little plus was cooked apples. There...

Thank HobNobbin
Altenhofen Inn a, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our accommodations. We do not have a porte-cochere and understand that the ramp is not immediately adjacent to the front door. The site design was an engineering decision. We do try to keep the spaces immediately in front of the hotel open...

Reviewed 7 January 2017

I travel a lot for my job and I stay at a lot of hotels. This hotel was a nice gem to find out in the middle of Kansas! The hotel was very clean and in great shape. So many hotels I stay at have dirty floors, bathrooms, etc and usually the wallpaper is peeling away and the furniture is...

Thank Wayne M
Altenhofen Inn a, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are very happy that we met or exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Seneca. Thank you.

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Clean, friendly, small town hotel. The breakfast was adequate. The beds were fine. The free wifi was great. The only issue was the hotel side door didn't work but the staff made us aware of it. Overall, good customer service & reasonably priced.

Thank Paula L
Altenhofen Inn a, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The side door is working. Unfortunately, electronic locks can be finicky and sometimes obstinate. We have upgraded our WiFi as we did have connectivity issues with previous electronics. If you have any suggestions as to how we can make our breakfast more than just adequate we are always looking for ways to provide more value.

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We were very pleased with our stay here. We were there for a family wedding. Several family members stayed here as well. Amelia was great; very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely recommend this place!!!!

Thank navymom0917
Altenhofen Inn a, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We very much appreciate your recomenndation.

Overland park
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stay every year over the Labor Day weekend. We experience easy check in and check out. The hotel offers nice breakfast choices which is great with a family of 6. The rooms are quiet and beds comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. Amelia who was in charge of the front desk took time to help my daughter who...

1Thank J R
Altenhofen Inn a, Owner at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Sorry for being slow in responding to your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can meet or exceed your expectations in the future.

Reviewed 25 September 2016

I have to admit I haven't stayed here since May of 2015. The hotel was okay. Clean. Large rooms. They have since changed ownership. Everytime we tried to stay there they were booked or their rates were outrageous compared to the quaint, locally owned motel down the street. They're worth checking out.

Thank Sara N
Altenhofen Inn a, Manager at Altenhofen Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but just to clarify a few things: We left the franchise in January 2016 but did not change ownership. We are comparable in rates to other hotels in the area that offer the same amenities such as an elevator, indoor heated pool, free wifi internet, large guest rooms, self adjustable temperature controls in rooms, full...

43 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (43)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (32)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (4)


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Altenhofen Inn & Suites is the newest lodging facility in the area. Conveniently located right off of U.S. 36, our Seneca, KS hotel is just minutes away from the Spring Creek Golf Course and beautiful historic downtown. Whether you're a traveler passing through town or a visitor coming into the area to hunt, attend a wedding or group function, go shopping in historic downtown Seneca, or hit the links at the 18-hole Spring Creek Golf Course located right next door, the Altenhofen Inn & Suites is sure to have all of the comforts you come to expect while traveling. Our great rates, exceptional customer service, and quality amenities are what we take pride in. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Altenhofen Inn & Suites

Address: 1615 North St, Seneca, KS 66538-2412
Region: United States > Kansas > Seneca
Price Range: RM454 - RM454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Altenhofen Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Altenhofen Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Altenhofen Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Kansas City, Missouri, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Altenhofen Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the back side of the hotel.”
pbfh2016, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room not facing the Highway”
X3883SLjohnw, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“just dont drive by without stopping.”
345anonymous1941, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor back side has great views”
DeeD568, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There are suites in the four corners, the east end is near the pool, breakfast area and vending machines. I have stayed in several different rooms and found them all to be pleasant.”
E6984HLkevinr, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates