We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cottage Plantation

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cottage Plantation
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Gause, TX
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Four of us stayed one night at The Cottage Plantation. We were disappointed, but still really enjoyed the visit if that makes any sense. I am going to attempt to describe what we saw and how everything was so that you will know what to expect. The whole place is full of artifacts, but is very disorganized and not well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Beautiful grounds surrounding an old plantation. Wonderful peaceful setting in the original plantation house. There are several rooms on the second floor of the original building. Breakfast is served family style followed by a group tour of the home and outbuildings.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janell S
buckeye
Reviewed 23 March 2016

We are so glad we had the opportunity to stay at Cottage Plantation. It is a very historic place. The owner, Mary, was friendly and made us feel very welcomed. She offered to bring us coffee in the morning, but we chose to go downstairs. The breakfast was really great, if you go, I hope you have the opportunity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivamex
Yokohama, Japan
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We spent our Valentines weekend at this property and was very happy with our choice. We had a choice of a room in the main house upstairs with a king bed or a room with a double bed with an outside entrance, we decided to go for the outside entrance room, it was $100.00 usd for the night, plus breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corafay
River Ridge, LA
Reviewed 14 September 2015

My husband and I have been making an annual summer stay here, usually on Labor Day weekend. Why do we always return here? Because we love everything about it! St. Francisville has many beautiful, historic plantations, but we wouldn't choose to stay at some due to the tour busses, traffic, and commotion. A weekend at Cottage Plantation offers peace and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elaine E
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Beautiful property with lots of history! Just a shame to see so much of it unkept! Host was super sweet, breakfast was wonderful and very interesting story! Needs some TLC! Decent price as well. Very relaxing weekend! Wonderful town to visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pachildress
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 July 2015

It was very quiet very secluded, you did not know anyone else was in the building. the accommodations were extremely authentic ! breakfast was amazing ! You got a great feel for what it was like to live in that time, Other than having your own bathroom ! We would stay there again in a heartbeat .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
Deer Park, Texas
Reviewed 25 April 2015

this so-called plantation inn, is a run down rotted row of cottages with no actual plantation house on the properity. The rooms are VERY small with stained up bed,the room had a 20in TV that you cant even see from the bed. tt was dirty and didnt have any locks on the doors. The grounds are over run with snakes,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank james d
HARVEY B, Manager at Cottage Plantation, responded to this review

The plantation house is where you stayed, the rooms are larger than most plantations, and none of our beds/chairs/linens are stained. The televisions are small because most people do not watch television while here and a larger television would ruin the ambiance of a 1790's house. We are not over run with snakes, but we are in the country so...

Oklahoma
Reviewed 16 March 2015

My wife and I went to this plantation for a tour, since it was one of the most 'intact' according to the literature. The signage to the house is terrible. Once parked outside, there were no signs, no name, no hours, no way to know what door to enter. The person answering the door and giving the tour seemed put...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shawn W
Reviewed 29 October 2014

Enjoyed our stay on the property at Mattie's House. It's a large cottage on the property and very quiet and private. Explored the family cemetary, took the tour of the main house and enjoyed a magnificent breakfast in the main house. Took the time to hike at Clarks Creek while there and explored a number of the waterfalls.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank erinnkim

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
204 reviews
7.8 km away
The Hotel Francis
The Hotel Francis
#3 of 3 in Saint Francisville
160 reviews
31.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
20.7 km away
Cypress Inn - New Roads
Cypress Inn - New Roads
#1 of 2 in New Roads
9 reviews
6.0 km away
The Myrtles Plantation
The Myrtles Plantation
#1 of 9 in Saint Francisville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Cottage Plantation

Address: 10528 Cottage Ln, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4617
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: RM333 - RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cottage Plantation Hotel Saint Francisville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cottage Plantation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are first and second floor rooms. If you cannot climb steep stairs, specify first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JanellS495, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We always book a veranda rooms with an adjoining "traveler room" for my sister. The price of adding the traveler room is very reasonable.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineE505, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We only saw the room that we had,but it had a fireplace ! it's on bathroom,sitting room, and large sleeping area.”
 of 5 bubbles 225stacym, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We slept in the back wing, don't know what the upstairs rooms are like.”
 of 5 bubbles PegC899, 28 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Mattie's House has an amazing porch and is secluded from the rest of the B&B - definitely the way to go!”
 of 5 bubbles 326lindseyg, 17 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5