We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Butler Greenwood Plantation

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Butler Greenwood Plantation
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Shreveport
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently visited for a night and stayed in the pool house. There is a king bed downstairs and two twin beds upstairs.. I had the best nights sleep! The sheets were cool and cotton and reminded me of childhood. This almost reminded me of a camp. Our visit was great. I was prepared for the continental breakfast in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JFrancesShreveport
La.
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. It wasn't what I expected, first they are using Bed and Breakfast loosely. The breakfast was 6 mini crossants in a ziplock bag in the fridge, 2 muffins, milk and orange juice, a container of raisin bran and some packets of instant oatmeal, and coffee. You can go to any other bed and breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ginnylou
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed. We do not advertise or serve a full breakfast, only continental in each cottage. Every B&B has its unique specialties, and here we offer peace and quiet, historic structures and gardens which in March should have been beautiful. The Gazebo is our honeymoon suite with 3 9-foot-tall stained glass windows, kingsized cypress four-poster bed, double Jacuzzi,...

Brussels
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The first contact sets the tone: you cross a magnificent huge alley of oaks, probably three times the size of the famous oak alley plantation. You then arrive to a pretty 18th century plantation, behind which there is a huge park and a pond, with cottages. We slept in dovecote, some kind of windmill transformed into a triplex, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank angelbe
port allen la
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Butler Greenwood for over 20 years. If you want a quiet weekend away from the city, this is the place. It's only 35 minutes from our "city" home but feels like we are truly in the country. Miss Anne and her staff do everything to make you feel welcome and give you the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lisa h
Cecilia, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was the 3rd trip that my wife and I have made to Butler Greenwood, and this time we were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary, and this place as always, never ceases to amaze me…. Anne Butler even took the time to get us an anniversary card… This place captures the word “Charm”, from the get go… If you’re...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chad D
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We love having repeat guests, and we have many of them.

Harvey, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I just spent our fourth visit at Butler-Greenwood B&B in less than a year. Every time we leave, we plan our next visit. We love the seclusion. No one else exists in our world when we are there. Anne Butler is the perfect hostess. She's there if you need something but respects your desire for privacy. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Butler Greenwood is a beautiful location. Quiet and peaceful. But found it to be more like going to a camp, than a bed and breakfast. Found it to be uncomfortably dirty. Was afraid to sit on furniture, or take my shoes off. Slept in clothes. Everything was dirty from the floors to the ceiling and everything in between. Appears to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dianaetjh
butler, Owner at Butler Greenwood Plantation, responded to this review

We're sorry your experience with us was not pleasant, and we would certainly have addressed your problems had you mentioned them to management and would also have refunded your payment. We want our guests to enjoy their stay here, and so does our cleaning staff, who take great pride in their work. Our linens are laundered daily, so we're not...

PORT HUENEME
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

If you want the real charm of a southern plantation, you must stay here. We were in Cook's Cottage and it had a great location and fantastic Jacuzzi for relaxing. Don't miss the tour to see original furnishings and a beautiful home. Only plantation to be owned by the 9th generation of the original owner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelprin
Lacombe, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Owner gives accurate picture of what to expect. Not a luxury hotel but some people expect more than they should. B & B visitors have changed now. Owner is considering stopping house tours - a shame because the furnishings are original and have never changed families - but tourists are not appreciating the experiences. The grounds are like going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael S
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

My BF is a fan of B&B's but I prefer more privacy. The cabins of Butler Greenwood offer a compromise. A private cottage on the beautiful and historic grounds of this unique Antebellum House is St. Francisville offer peace, tranquility all in the privacy of your own cottage complete with full kitchen and jacuzzi tub. The Cook's Cottage is small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Angel T

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Hotel
BEST WESTERN St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
219 reviews
3.9 km away
The Hotel Francis
The Hotel Francis
#3 of 3 in Saint Francisville
165 reviews
26.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
29.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Zachary Inn
39.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Baton Rouge Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Butler Greenwood Plantation

Address: 8345 US Highway 61, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-6671
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Price Range: RM352 - RM484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Butler Greenwood Plantation Hotel Saint Francisville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Butler Greenwood Plantation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3 story dove Côte was memorable. Cottages by pond offered great view. The kitchen cottage is most historic.”
SouthernLad1952, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps choose 1 of the newer cottages”
KiwichickAuckland, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check out the rooms on the website. Each one differs.”
SPerkins2015, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you like lots of privacy, check out the Treehouse!”
AbrahamPotappel, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The cottages provide various options of adequate space according to the number of people in your party”
472marcieh, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5