We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dakota Edinburgh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,671: English reviews
oxford
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Check in was simple and a very pleasant experience, staff very good. Room was very clean and tidy. Bathroom spotless. Shower is excellent and the bed and pillows comfortable. A very good desk in the room which I found very useful fit working. Skysports in the room as well 👍🏻 water provided on first night but not second. Room service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oxfordred
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear oxfordred, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay, and that our facilities have met your requirements and expectations. Our team works very hard to create a 'home away from home' environment for our guests. Please accept my apologies for the delay you experienced...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I don't often write reviews but felt this place warrants a special mention. We have stayed at the Dakota on a few occasions now and we keep returning because of the beautiful rooms and decor, the fantastic food which never disappoints - and the service which is always exceptional. The rooms are lovely and the industrial style decor and exposed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronaboat
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear ronaboat, I am delighted to hear you have chosen to return to stay at Dakota on several occasions, and even more so, that you have taken the time to share your feedback with us. Our team, across the board will be thrilled to hear such positive comments, and I certainly look forward to passing your compliments on our menu...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a super lunch with the family From the time you walk through the door of this hotel the Staff make you feel very welcome the Reception were so helpful and friendly The bar staff were extremely helpful with the drinks and wine list The quality of food was five star along with the waiter who could not do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank don63
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear don63, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. We aim to deliver a First Class service in all areas of the hotel, and I am delighted to hear you have been able to experience this during your recent visit. I look forward to passing your comments on to our team, particularly our Food and...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a total surprise, very classy and modern. Lovely spacious rooms all spotless. The staff very professional, breakfast was superb, the bircher, something I have never come across before was delicious. We enjoyed this hotel soooo much. The reason I did not give a better score on its location was because we were having the weekend in Edinburgh, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardsL5933VD
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear richardsL5933VD, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we have exceeded your expectations. Our ethos is based around our guests eating well, sleeping well and relaxing, and it is clear that this has been fulfilled for you. Although the hotel is outside...

Antigua
Reviewed 1 week ago

very good hotel , staff very helpful , rooms comfy and breakfast well enjoyed . hotel in a good situation for Edinburgh , the airport and visiting South Queensferry . Had a family get together in the restaurant . The service and the food was excellent .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolmc185
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear malcolmc185, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We aim to always deliver a First Class service, and so our team will be thrilled to hear your comments. I look forward to passing them on. Kind regards, Guest Relations

Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well I've passed this hotel a number of times before the change of road from the forth road bridge and didn't even realise it was a hotel. Now don't let that put you off the fact I thought it was a really modern office block and envied people who were maybe working in side it. Putting that misjudgement aside my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank treacletart72
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear treacletart72, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is wonderful to hear that you took the chance to come in and allow us to show you all we have to offer. Our bold exterior leaves much to the imagination, so it is only on entering the hotel you can fully experience Dakota at...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my husband booked a wee nite just as a treat before back to normality. Room of good size . Very clean . Bathroom spotless. Very comfy bed . We never ate here or bought any drinks as too expensive for us . Took our own refreshments. Staff all very friendly . Seemed like a lovely atmosphere. No complaints....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Carol A, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is wonderful that you chose to spend the last night of your holiday here at Dakota, and I am delighted we could make it a comfortable one. I may only apologise for any confusion there has been regarding the cost of our breakfast. It is priced at £14...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at the Dakota and it was just as wonderful as the first. The hotel is chic and luxurious from the minute you enter. The reception staff couldn't have been friendlier and bar staff were very attentive throughout our stay, serving the best cocktails! My room was spacious and immaculate with a comfy bed and fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heathera17
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear heathera17, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was thrilled to read that our team were able to make your return stay a memorable one. We aim to deliver a consistently high standard of guest service, and so I very much look forward to passing your comments on to them. Our Head Chef,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions now and it just seems to get better and better. The reception staff are always welcoming and attentive and our room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed a few cocktails (top marks to your fabulous bar staff!) before dining in the restaurant. The restaurant is always the highlight of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Rachael H, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. I was delighted to read that you have chosen to return to Dakota several times, and that we have been able to surpass your expectations on each of these occasions. We aim to deliver a First Class service, and so I was particularly pleased...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at the Dakota Edinburgh hotel with my husband from 24-27 December 2016. The hotel is really very good indeed. High standards of cleanliness and maintenance are evident throughout the hotel. On check in we were warmly welcomed by the staff & informed that our room had been upgraded. This was a lovely unexpected surprise. The room was spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaycee109
DakotaGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Dakota Edinburgh, responded to this review

Dear Kaycee109, Thank you for taking the time to sharing your fantastic feedback on your experience with us. I was thrilled to read that we could make your stay with us such a memorable one, and I am delighted to hear you loved your room upgrade, our Executive rooms are indeed very luxurious. Our Housekeeping team are dedicated to ensuring...

732 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (391)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Junior Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (93)
Viewed
Suite (70)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,729 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,222 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 150 in Edinburgh
729 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,717 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Price Range: RM413 - RM761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dakota Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Staines, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Boise
Canberra, Australia
durham
over a year ago

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Dakota Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view of the Forth Bridge , from the 4th or 5th floor”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmc185, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms pretty quiet but best away from main motorway”
 of 5 bubbles HazelC542, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Only was here for the Christmas Lunch with family no overnight stay”
 of 5 bubbles williamp372, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very close to the airport - super handy.”
 of 5 bubbles NoraC986, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the Firth of Forth if available.”
 of 5 bubbles StuartW507, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay