We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bethel Inn Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Bethel Inn Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Start your review of The Bethel Inn Resort
 Click to rate
Brick, NJ
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in the Oak building. The room was large and very comfortable, the breakfast was excellent but most important was the staff. They were very responsive and helpful. I particularly want to thank Pauline who helped me find an item we left behind and is having it sent to our home. I just made one call and she took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosesaluti
USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bethel Inn has a handsome lobby and old world charm. Set in the center of a picturesque Maine village, the setting is classic, old New England. Our room was spacious, clean, and the gas fireplace was a very nice touch. But stylistically our room was tired and stale. It was traditional, as you would expect at an old inn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ProfessorTravelmuch
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Bethel Inn Condos for a three day ski trip to Sunday River. We've been there many times. The condo was comfortable, clean and seemed fairly well kept. Typical condo furnishings, LR, BR with a comfortable bed but uncomfortable bed linens and adequately equipped Kitchen. It had a gas fireplace as well. Not terrible, not luxurious, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Oakford, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used our RCI points to exchange for a week in a one-bedroom condo at the end of February. Not sure what to expect after reading the mixed reviews here, we were very pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to the unit in the Millbrook section. The bedroom, with two queen beds and full bath with whirlpool tub, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhipple21
Worthington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed here for the weekend to attend a Bill Koch Ski Festival nearby and were very pleased with the hospitality extended by the staff of the Bethel Inn & Resort. We had several terrific breakfast buffets and a nice evening meal in the tavern. It is always wonderful to stay at historic New England Inns

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRenfrew
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Over the years we have made many renovations and upgrades to this century-old property while preserving its historic ambiance. It is so gratifying to hear from guests like you who enjoy our traditional New England hospitality. Please take the time to say hello when you return. Allen Connors Managing Partner

Telluride, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bad service!!!! That's what this place has. While asking the front desk lady where the sauna was I was berated with questions as to what my age, room number and business at the hotel was. I'm sorry, but I was asking a simple question, I didn't ask to be on trial. Second was the bad experience was in the tavern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 333miakk
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize if we were off our game during your recent visit. As you can see from the reviews above and below, it certainly is not our normal practice to disappoint our guests as we did in your case. If you decide to give us another chance, please look me up personally so I can apologize in person and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic experience at The Bethel Inn! The staff was very helpful and courteous, the dining was great, and what's offered by the Inn should satisfy any family looking for a winter resort. Bethel is a New England postcard town. The winter activities in the area are world class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Recently, Yankee Magazine selected Bethel as one of the three best destinations in all of New England and singled out our resort as well. Our guests really appreciate the “off-mountain” ambiance of our town and National Historic District and we appreciate your reflecting these thoughts. We look forward...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in to the Bethel Inn over a holiday weekend. Our goal was to go skiing at Sunday river which was about 10-12 minutes away.Our Initial impressionof the Old Inn was "cozy" The front lobby area has a large fireplace and front desk staff were helpful. We stayed at the Oaks building. It was so hot in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyfullyinme
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review. While we make constant improvements in our 104 year old property, we continue to work on our “rough edges” and hope you will be even more pleasantly surprised on your next visit. I will look forward to meeting you! Allen Connors Managing Partner

Shutesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The inn seems nice although we stayed in a one bedroom, 1 bathroom condo w/pullout couch for second couple operated by the Inn. At $500.00 per night this unit was grossly overpriced given the quality and accommodations. I travel quite a bit for business and have stayed at many hotels whose accommodations far exceeded this condo unit for much less....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevenhb8
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and we are sorry you feel we are over-priced. We hope our guests can take advantage of our many amenities in the winter like our health club, outdoor heated pool, cross-country ski trails, on-site dining, and public rooms which often require full-service resorts like ours to charge more than private accommodations. We...

Amherst
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Three of us booked one of The Bethel Inn Resort’s condos for this past weekend (shout out for the wonderful Women’s XC Ski Day hosted by NENSA - a great event!). My complaints are not so much for the condo itself, but the outrageous price. For $500/night we got a modest 1-bedroom condo with uncomfortable pull out sofa for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phoenicopterus
BethelInn, General Manager at The Bethel Inn Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and groomed ski trails and we are sorry that you feel our prices are out of line. We check our competition regularly and by any comparison we offer reasonable packages which include the many amenities we offer our guests. If you can find more reasonable rates at comparable properties, I would...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
29.3 km away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
31.0 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
406 reviews
0.5 km away
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#8 of 15 in Bethel
238 reviews
2.3 km away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#3 of 15 in Bethel
159 reviews
1.0 km away
Norseman Inn
Norseman Inn
#10 of 15 in Bethel
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience The Bethel Inn Resort in Bethel, Maine, honored with the 2014 Award of Excellence by TripAdvisor. Just 6 miles from Sunday River Ski Resort, The Inn was recently named "Best of New England" -Top Resorts for Outdoor Sports by New England Travel Magazine. Find guest rooms from traditional Inn rooms to luxury townhomes, many with fireplaces during the winter season. Choose from the comfortable fine dining setting of our Main Dining Room or our casual Millbrook Tavern and Grille with live weekend entertainment. Rela at our health club, featuring a 90° outdoor heated pool, whirlpool, saunas, fitness center and spa services. Plus, enjoy resort activities this summer at our 200 acre resort including our 18 hole, 6,700 yard championship golf course, lake house with canoes & kayaks, tennis, lawn games and more! Sunday River & Mt. Abram Resorts, the Androscoggin River and scenic State Parks are less than 10 minutes away. With an array of professional guide services, world-class fly fishing, canoe/kayak river treks, hiking, ATV mountain adventures, scenic chairlift rides, mountain biking and more just minutes from The Inn. The Bethel Inn Resort is the clear choice for those who love skiing, golf and outdoor recreation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bethel Inn Resort

Address: 21 Broad Street, On the Common, P.O. Box 49, Bethel, ME 04217
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Price Range: RM758 - RM5,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bethel Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bethel Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bethel Hotel Bethel
Bethel Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bethel Inn Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Bethel Inn Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All condos have golf course views, ask for something close to the Inn itself.”
 of 5 bubbles paulsW6708RK, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“One-bedroom townhouse much better than studio for RCI exchange”
  • Dining area in one-bedroom townhouse
  • Kitchen in one-bedroom townhouse
  • Bedroom in one-bedroom townhouse
  • Living room in one-bedroom townhouse
 of 5 bubbles rhipple21, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't rent a condo unit associated with the Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles Stevenhb8, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building are convenient to the lobby and tavern.”
 of 5 bubbles TheAmators, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try not to get a room next to the outside door.”
 of 5 bubbles Barry528, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5