We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highland Lake Resort

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Highland Lake Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Highland Lake Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Highland Lake Resort was so much fun. We had a very relaxing stay and never had any trouble. The service was excellent and I strongly recommend coming here. The rooms were very accommodating and had a lot of space.

Thank Thomas S
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had stayed here before and wanted to go back with our friends. Our rooms had a nice view of the lake and we sat out on the porch with our friends, The owners have a fire pit now so I imagine it's very popular all season long. The owner is very personable and he said he remembered me from...

Thank foxy345
Reviewed 8 September 2016

My only complaint, would be that they need thicker bath towels, but otherwise a clean relaxing place. The setting by the lake, corn hole and ladder ball all made foe a great night. And Woody the owner is a humous guy

Springfield, Virginia
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Our room was small, but clean and adequately furnished. The facilities on the lake are fine, including several wooden chairs and a grill. There is a boat ramp to launch kayaks or a power boat. My two complaints are the wifi (could not log on after repeated attempts due to password issues-the manager attempted to assist, but still no connection)....

Thank authored
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'd much rather hear about problems and get a chance to fix them than to have the same issues happen to other guests because we never learned of them. In the case of the internet, the situation was, unfortunately, out of our control. We had two days without WiFi this August, and we were going...

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The people were friendly, the one women we met. The room was average, nothing to write home about. Our room had a small shower stall, very hard to wash up and turn around but the water was hot and the pressure was good.

Thank nicolebarishian
Glenburn Center, Maine, United States
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice view of the lake. Peaceful and quiet. Nice fire pit as well as plenty of places to cook out and a large fireplace at the waters edge. A little disappointed with the beds as the site stated pillow top mattresses but the queen size bed was far from. It we not very comfortable and was noisy with every...

Thank Ida M
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here the other day! We just added the fire pit last fall, but have had the lakeside fireplace, grills, and picnic tables for almost 20 years. As for the beds, I'm sorry for the confusion. The top-of-the-line Serta pillow-top mattresses are a feature of our Executive Rooms only, which have either a king...

Reviewed 27 April 2016

The rooms were very clean and had a lot of space. The lake is beautiful and we really enjoyed all of the activities especially kayaking. It was a very relaxing and we truly enjoyed all the outdoor activities.

Thank Ellen A
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Although not as up to date as most chains, the location is great and the owner is very friendly. This town has a variety of eating establishments from fast food through fine dining. You may need a reservation to get in the better places on the weekend. Our room was a suite with kitch and living room area, ideal for...

Thank Lisa S
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I was a little surprised to see one, since we've been closed over the winter. But then I saw that your stay was in October. Whew! We are definitely not as "up-to-date as most chains, which, to me, is good. Most chains require upgrades whether they are needed or not. I sometimes think the costs...

Brockton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Looking for accommodations for three days for ourselves and our extended family, three distinct groups, while attending the wedding of our daughter, we were not expecting more than a typical 'motel' type of room. However when we arrived we were personally greeted by Woody, the owner and when we entered our room we were overwhelmed by the pleasant and comfortable...

Thank James P
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Knowing that there is limited lodging options in Bridgton my wife and I had hoped that the good reviews and the comforting feeling one gets around the word "resort" would offer us lodging that we could enjoy. This was not the case. This was a typical motel with zero updates made for many many years. The beds were small and...

2Thank Kris B
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review

I'm so very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the resort! We obviously didn't live up to your expectations of what we should be, and must have been truly disappointing to you to receive a "one star" rating. I could explain the reasons for the relatively-small rooms, but I've discussed this in other guest responses before. I should...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (32)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (6)
View from Room (1)
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Room/Suite (3)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgton
23.4 km away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
72 reviews
4.0 km away
Pleasant Mountain Inn
Pleasant Mountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Bridgton
52 reviews
0.9 km away
Noble House Inn
Noble House Inn
#1 of 3 in Bridgton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Lakeview Inn
Lakeview Inn
#1 of 5 in Naples
48 reviews
31.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
28.7 km away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, Family recreation area, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 N High St, Bridgton, ME 04009-3734
Region: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highland Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Highland Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a suite available, but all of the rooms that we saw were well worth the cost.”
jamespP110HH, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Every room has a view on the lake....you can't miss it”
Nanlea, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have kitchenettes; rooms perpendicular to N. High St. are likely quieter.”
DeniseB454, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Its all about the lake.”
135glennz, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“all the rooms have a lake front side”
wendysQ4943PY, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates