We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Certificate of Excellence
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 191: English reviews
Start your review of Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had two rooms for two nights as on a business training trip. Rooms were pretty fresh, well appointed etc. Parking is good, the food was good. The only problems was a very strong smell of what can only be described as cooking oil/wet potatoes emanating from the bathroom - but only between 5pm and 7pm on each day! We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I_SpyUk
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Golden Lion Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear your stay was not up to expectations. We can discuss this further if you would like to contact me offline. Mr J Austin Proprietor

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a business meeting- staff all very helpful and attentive. For dinner they were informed in advance that I was coeliac, and advised what I could and couldn't eat, and were happy to check any extra details with the chef to make sure I had peace of mind with what I was eating. Rooms could do with a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Rich, great to hear that your coeliac requirements were catered for and that you found our team to be helpful and attentive. I have passed on your comments regarding the decor to the owners.

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Two couples meet just once a month at a surprise location,One of us just selects a pub or restaurant for lunch and the venue is unknown to the other three people until we finally arrive on the car park. Today,from Hinckley the Golden Lion at Easenhall was selected. We were firmly welcomed by the bar man who showed us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

What a fabulous idea, surprise location lunches, so pleased that the Golden Lion reached your expectations. Perhaps a bigger surprise will be "Surprise. We are at the Golden Lion again."

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Having stayed here several times, I would not hesitate to recommend - apologies for not reviewing sooner! Family owned, very well run hotel, with excellent restaurant. Everyone is very friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped - the Four Poster Rooms have not to be missed !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuitcaseReadyDot
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review
Google Translation

Fab-u-lous

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

A really lovely true country pub. Great car park, like the fact that the hotel is separate so it's quiet, although we arrived late and had to go into the pub to check in. Very cosy pub, packed with locals eating what looked like delicious food - good menu. The room was small and simply furnished but very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Sarah, I love your comment about bath sheets not enlarged flannels. My husband (who doesn't work in the hotel industry) says isn't a towel a towel and I always correct him and tell him the importance of good quality bath sheets.

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Four of us stayed here on a Saturday night, we all agreed it was a first class experience, from the friendly greeting on arrival to the service in the bar and restaurant, the rooms were well presented and spotlessly clean with a nice comfortable bed , there was also a well stocked tea tray. A good choice of breakfasts, again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Very happy to read this, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Dereham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The room (212) was very comfortable, with a good sized double bed, very clean throughout, although the towels were a little bit worn, and could do with replacing soon. Poor mobile reception in the lower floors, but fine elsewhere. Breakfast well presented, hot, freshly cooked and really good quality ingredients. All staff were very friendly and helpful, and most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PM02-08-44
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We have spoken to our linen supplier about the quality of our towels as these are not up to the standard you should expect.

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This pub is local to us in a nearby village. We are never disappointed with the food, the drinks, the welcome, staff or anything.....it just feels like something is missing somehow. It's a wonderful building and they can't do enough for you. It just feels like it needs a bit more atmosphere. If anything it can be a bit formal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john c
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

John, many thanks for your compliments and comments

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

My friends booked us and themselves into this Inn rather last minute as we were visiting the area and decided to stay over to catch up over dinner and drinks. Accommodation was well fitted out and a good size with plenty of space. The main central heating appeared not to be working however an electric oil heater in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roddy B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here on business and found it to be more than adequate. Arrived to a very warm welcome and although the room was without frills, it had everything I needed. Spotlessly clean and although the shower was a bit unpredictable the towels were nice and fluffy and the bed was comfortable. The only downside was that when my neighbour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intrepidexplorersid

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easenhall
4.8 km away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
6.0 km away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,760 reviews
8.0 km away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
429 reviews
5.9 km away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the atmosphere of this 16th-century village inn, its welcoming bar, range of traditional ales and delicious, freshly cooked food. Menus are available throughout lunchtime and evening, offering a wide range of food from light snacks to a la carte meals, complimented by an extensive list of fine wines. The en-suite bedrooms are individually styled to suit the character of this historic inn and have been rated 3 Stars by the AA. Two bedrooms feature Four Poster Bed and Spa Baths. A lovely rural location just 4 miles from Rugby, 13 miles from Coventry. Enjoy a romantic break with your partner, here in a beautiful tranquil village location. Package includes bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, three course dinner from our a la carte menu, one night overnight accommodation in one of our four poster bedrooms featuring a spa bath and traditional full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Address: Main Street, Easenhall, Rugby CV23 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Easenhall
Price Range: RM364 - RM501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Rugby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Lion Hotel & Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Lion Hotel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed to be pleasantly located”
T9149HDjohnb, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I found no preference, all rooms very quiet during my stays.”
SuitcaseReadyDot, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay lunch was great!”
ClareR578, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bring an umbrella!”
philinda24, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“OK if you are tee total”
DougJ925, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates