Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel

M.G. Road Woodlands Junction, Opposite Malabar Gold, Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011 India
Traveller (183)
cozy wooden beds
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#11 of 72 hotels in Ernakulam
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Grand Hotel has combined traditional charm with modern convenience. A Four-star hotel situated halfway down M.G Road, the city’s nerve center. The airport is 38 Kms. away, while railway and bus stations are merely a half kilometer away. Shopping malls, business houses, theaters,metro stations and cafes are close by. As the hub of Kerala’s commercial world, Cochin is well connected to all places of interest in the state.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

M.G. Road Woodlands Junction, Opposite Malabar Gold, Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Kochi Airport
23.4 km
See all flights
520Reviews3Q+A85Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 161
  • 237
  • 90
  • 14
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MsLiz wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a joy it was to stay 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. Our group arrived a few hours earlier than anticipated, yet we were warmly welcomed and ushered into the dining room to enjoy a hearty breakfast. Not long after we were shown to our rooms - or in our case a suite.
Upon opening the door, we entered into a spacious lounge room complete with a 3 seater couch, 2 armchairs, mini bar, desk and TV. Such a perfect place to watch a movie, do emails and simply relax. Down a short hallway, with the bathroom on the left and a large wardrobe to the right a well sized bedroom can be found. The bright room with large corner windows, a dressing table and further television was a cosy cocoon for a good night's sleep.
This hotel provides everything a traveller could need: safe, hairdryer, fast stable WiFi and an iron & ironing board. Located on a main road with rail transport just metres away, and the beach promenade a couple of blocks away.
The large dining room served up some good food, although the service was a bit patchy. All in all, a very comfortable stay was enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K C James, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your valuable and encouraging feedback about your stay at Grand Hotel, Cochin. It's a pleasure to know that you liked the comfort and service of Grand Hotel. Indeed it's our endeavor to provide everything from clean and comfortable rooms to lip-smacking food to ensure complete satisfaction of our esteemed guests. I am really glad that you were amazed by our room facility and breakfast. Being located in the heart of Cochin has added value to our guest as everything is in the near vicinity. Our dedicated staff work hard to delight our guests and I am happy to know that we managed to deliver. Thank you for your support on our endeavor to be the best among Kochi. Sincere Regards, James K C
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VijayPanickar wrote a review Oct 2020
Bengaluru, India
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Positives:
The Grand Hotel's cultural significance to Kochi would be difficult to over-estimate. For over half a century, it set the standard against which many of the other hotels that followed it were compared. The weight of that history is evident in almost every aspect of the Grand: its unmatched central location, the generous size of its rooms, the Old World charm of its design and not least, the very good food served therein.

The Challenges:
That being said, the Grand suffers the bane common to many venerable "heritage" hotels: the inability to easily maintain and manage standards equivalent to its more modern competitors. The rustic interiors mean interior light is often insufficient; modern room amenities are few; hot water, often scanty; the furniture in the large rooms, sparse and the linen (while clean) worn and visibly well used. While the food is undoubtedly good, it is simultaneously not noticeably better than that available from many of the other restaurants nearby while being significantly more expensive.

As such, the rationale for staying at the Grand is clear. If you feel the need for modern fixtures/services and a more reasonable room rate, the Grand may not be the best choice. If, however, your main consideration is a large room in the center of town with Raj Era charm, then the Grand is an easy recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krishnan wrote a review Jan 2020
Newport Beach, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic food and service. Came here last year, it was the same. This year, I went with a large group. Excellent for Kerala food. We had Karimeen polichedu, parottas, prawns masala and a nadan chicken curry, and a fresh lime soda. All of it was fantastic.
Service was fantastic. Another thing to note is unlike most restaurants in India, there was no smell of non vegetarian cooking in the restaurant. I love that as well.
Definite must visit if you are in Kochi. Never stayed in their rooms and so can’t review that part.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to book your table early. We had a 30 minute wait because it was holiday season.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K C James, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Our warm and heartfelt thanks for sharing your feedback about us. We are delighted to have given you a feel of nostalgia which prompted you to write this note about Grand Hotel. Although our restaurant gets busy often, its delightful to know that our struggle to maintain the aromatic ambience sometimes pays off. Once again thank you for showing your patronage and I would be privileged to invite you to try out our newly renovated rooms on your next visit to cochin. Warm Regards, James K C
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph S wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a really stressful experience staying here. Nowadays the most abused word and reason for below par service is Covid. We had booked 2 rooms and one of them got a free upgrade to Executive. We were happy but that was short lived. The room did not have the usual supplies like tea bags and toiletries. We told
housekeeping but even after repeated calls, there was nobody who turned up for 2 hours. Finally the receptionist had to come and deliver these items. The key to one of the rooms also stopped working and we had to get a new one. The most annoying thing however, was the AC in the Executive room. Even after setting it to 16 degrees, there was no cooling. The AC technician and housekeeping staff didn't come to the room(you guessed it! due to covid restrictions set by the hotel) and we had to use the fan to get some sleep. In the morning, while having bath the shower head fell off and luckily it didn't hit my head. This was our first stay at the hotel and based on this painful experience, I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay at this place. It is supposed to be a 3 star hotel, but the service is pathetic. The one person who may have helped to an extent is the receptionist Shyam. Without a doubt, I would recommend everyone to avoid this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kamaaina96822 wrote a review Mar 2024
Honolulu, Hawaii
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While dated, the hotel was built more than a half-century ago, rooms reflect the care that era afforded guests.

My room was surprisingly large with a separate low table and lounge chairs. I liked the non-slip tile panel in the shower, an unheard of safety feature in Indian hotels I stayed at. The niche for the coffee maker was comfortably placed at chest level separate from the desk.

Usually the desk is crowded with the hot water, kettle, phone, water bottles and the like, limiting the available work space. Not so here.

The restaurant is famed for the biriyani and very popular with local residents despite a higher pricing.

Overall I had a very pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EASWARCHANDRAN P wrote a review Apr 2024
Mumbai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Grand hotel is a four-star hotel situated in the MG road in Ernakulam (Kerala).
The location of the hotel is so superb that all important places like Ernakulam junction railway station, shopping malls, leading jewelleries, theatre eateries (small & big) metro rail facilities etc are within easily reachable distances.
It has a huge complex with ample parking facilities. It also houses a great restaurant on the ground floor serving tasty food.
The hotel has range of rooms to suit every one’s need.
I had the privilege of staying in this hotel with my spouse recently for four nights (between 19th & 23rd April 24).
On entering the lobby, I found a neat large and convenient waiting area. The receptionists were very pleasant and helpful.
The room given to me (102) was very spacious with a dining table set apart from a visitor’s sitting arrangement. The room was very neat and clean with good lighting and AC effect.
The toilets were very comfortable, neat & clean. The bath area was very convenient with non-slippery tiles for safety.
The room was provided with tea/coffee making arrangements.
Our room had a very good view of MG road.
The toiletries, drinking water etc were supplied adequately. The rooms also had ironing facility and safe vault facility. The room had ample lights.
The house keeping & room service personnel were very prompt in their daily service.
The restaurant personnel were also very helpful. The food served (both in restaurant & in room service) were of good quality.
Though the hotel was commenced in 1963 it is still in very good condition due excellent maintenance.
The hotel atmosphere itself is very pleasant.
Overall, we were very happy to have stayed here.
We had a feeling of staying at home.
Our choice was right.
We definitely recommend this hotel for a safe, hassle-free family stay.
Good teamwork by the hotel personnel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Fit for a safe family stay comfortable and enjoyable stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sijojoy wrote a review Apr 2021
Istanbul, Türkiye
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited today ( Saturday) entrance no proper covid protocol is following, we entered in to restaurant and seated in a corner table waited 10 mintes minutes for to attend a person we ordered Vegatable meals , karimeen pollichathu ( special dish) prawns dum biriyani , fish dum biriyani and waited anthoter akmost ore than half an hour for the food, the service was very slow and not satisfactory, they are providing pepper glass for water due to covid but stands are not following proper covid protocol service juice served by normal glass, food that we had was one 9f the worst food that ever i had in my life. Karimmen Pollichathu was so halorrible ,the fish was stale both biriyani was full of dalda fish biriyani fish is also very old. Prwans quite okay now everyone of us having stomach upset due to karimeen . We are extremely sad bith t we went to the hot tea and we Three first we went to the hot tea and we enter the hotel. There is no proper temperature chicken. No be covered product release following and we came around 2:30 in the restaurant and we ordered some of the iTunprawns es meals Brioni.

And a little some of the items. the hotel. There is no proper temperature chicken. No be covered product release following and we came around 2:30 in the restaurant and we ordered some of the iTunes meals Brioni.

And a little some of the items.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shjdsouza wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Kochi for "Kerala Travel Mart" The hotel was booked by the organizing committee.
I must say that the hotel is well maintained being built in 1963.
The ambiance of the rooms are totally made of wood, furniture, bed & flooring too.
Room sizes are bigger than any hotel rooms.
USP of the hotel is their food. I wos told by my industry friends that not to miss the food there its one of the best in Kerala, And yes indeed i had ordered for their specialty seafood " Fish Karemi (Pearl Spot)" hmmm it was mind blowing , the breakfast was also different each day. I stayed for 4 Days had a very good experience.
And yes i would like to thank The GM . Mr. James, Chef Rajesh,Front Office Mr. Manu and the Housekeeping team and restaurant team for giving their best services and living up to the expectations and maintaining the standards and quality .
Once again thank you very much for all the help and support from the team.
I definitely recommend this hotel to my corporate and travel industry friend its a must stay .

All the best to the team of Grand Hotel - Kochi

Kind regards
Sanjiv D'Souza
HillSea Holidays
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All rooms are the best, espcially with the balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jayan wrote a review Mar 2022
Kottayam, India
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Food is tasty. Restaurant is large and neat. Number of wash basins are two only and are placed in a small room. If two persons are there in front of basins we have to stand behind the door. The food ordered was supplied after a long wait. Then the supplier disappeared and again came back after another long gap to see whether I am in need of further stuffs. To tender the balance cash he took another long gap.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manu J wrote a review Jan 2021
Alappuzha, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We Visited Recently ; glad to say ambience was good . But really bad taste of food and overpriced . not worth of the money you gave . Also behaviour from manager side was terrible ; as if we are there for free food or something . These type of arrigant managers will bring the property down
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from K C James, General Manager at Grand Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for taking time out and sharing your feedback of your visit to Grand Hotel, Cochin. We understand that we did not meet up with your expectations, kindly accept our sincere apology. Please be assured that we treat each and every guest with utmost respect and best of hospitality. We leave no stones unturned to achieve ultimate customer satisfaction. Unfortunately we have fallen short in delivering the same. Kindly accept my sincere apologies. Its a pleasure to know that you were amazed by our ambiance. Kindly reach me on +919895721018 on your next visit and I assure that you will be treated with nothing but the best standards of service and amenities. Best Regards, James K C
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from salu t
57 contributions1 helpful vote
From the bus stand the hotel is few kims away u need to take an auto. Lu Lu is far from the hotel.call taxi will be ideal.
s0livagant asked a question Jan 2017
Bengaluru, India69 contributions8 helpful votes
do you have flexi check-in & check-out? looking for a transit accommodation.
Answer from Lalumanji
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India297 contributions98 helpful votes
Depends on the season
Answer from SAVIN55
Kochi (Cochin), India744 contributions138 helpful votes
No they don't have electric kettle with tea/coffee essentials in the room.
EASWARCHANDRAN P wrote a tip Apr 2024
Mumbai, India108 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fit for a safe family stay comfortable and enjoyable stay"
Read full review
suffolksalami wrote a tip Jan 2024
Woodbridge109 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here rather than the disappointing, over-priced Fort Cochin district!"
Read full review
Carol M wrote a tip Nov 2023
Perth, Australia8 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not near historic area"
Read full review
hyacinth p wrote a tip Apr 2023
Kochi (Cochin), India10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fairly good parking area is available."
Read full review
shjdsouza wrote a tip May 2022
Mumbai, India2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are the best, espcially with the balcony"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ernakulam area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 146 - RM 207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel kochi
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaErnakulam DistrictKochi (Cochin)Ernakulam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶2̶2̶7̶) RM 179: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 193 Photos (Ernakulam, India) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Shiva Temple (0.4 km), Durbar Hall Art Gallery (0.3 km), and Padma (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Pavilion, Kayees Rahmathullah Hotel Restaurant, and Uruli.
Does Grand Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Ernakulam HotelsErnakulam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ErnakulamHotels near Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire