We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

When me and a group of 27 arrived at the establishment at 14H45 we checked in only to find out when we got to our rooms that the rooms were not made up, only later we got an appology saying that they had a problem with their service provider. At 16H30 half of the rooms still didn't have any linen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume Z
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the late check in. Our linen is out sourced and unfortunately it was delayed. We are in the process of improving our systems so we do not have this issue in the future.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

After along flight this was a nice hotel. Because of our anniversery we got a beautyfull room. Only the second morning the shower didn't work. Breakfast and dinner good. Try the muffins they are so good! People friendly, zebra's and impalas in the garden. We enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PetraSuzan
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with shower. We do have a full time maintenance who attends to issues like these. It is important that all our guests have an enjoyable experience at Zulu Nyala Country Manor.

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We only stayed overnight at Country Manor on our way to our Zulu Nyala Photo Safari. Everything was great and we had no complaints on anything! We only had breakfast there on the day we left and it was wonderful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 619wendif
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback we strive to make all our guest experiences a memorable one.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I had the pleasure of attending a full day event here. I cannot speak about the accommodation though I can tell you that this is a great conference venue. The food was good. The variety of drinks was great. The people were very friendly and welcoming. The only let down for me was the poor layout of the pay point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrantH490
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We shall have a look at the challenges with the pay point and bar service. We hope to one day welcome you back to Zulu Nyala Country Manor.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I stayed at the lodge for one night on Saturday because a function I was attending was close by. Originally I had tried to book directly and thought that the rates were fairly high but on the weekend in a 4 star hotel I would have been willing to pay the premium. Fortunately I was able to reduce the rate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michtrav_1
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need attention. We will be putting forward a plan to address these issues. In taking great care...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Friendly and helpful staff! Huge room, beautifully furnished! No problem with transfers at all and the costs for transfers were quite reasonable! Dinner was served by candle light and the chef outdid himself with the pasta meal served. Only regret is I only booked myself for one night!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CynRR
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. I do hope that we get to welcome you back to Zulu Nyala Country Manor sometime soon.

Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed at Zulu Nyala Country Manor and on the second occasion waited over an hour at the airport to get pick up. We called multiple times and were told that they would call the driver and call us back which never happened. After he finally arrived the driver drove erratically with others on the highway honking us and later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
ZuluNyala, Front Office Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am sorry to hear about your experience with your transfers. Rest assured extensive training as well as systems have been put in place in order for the...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed here for 02 nights, amazing hotel apt for Safaris. Kind and helpful staff. Need to improvise the breakfast buffet though, very few options however must say that the dinner i had was satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikhil3186
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Attended a meeting. Good service, friendly staff, enjoyable tea time snacks, conference lunch not on standard, note however that the carrot cake is utterly delicious. Attractive gardens, loads of space for team building activities, meeting / function rooms can accommodate small groups with the biggest venue taking more than 200.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla R
San Bruno, California
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I stayed here two nights, before and after going to their other resort in Zulu Nyala game lodge! My 2 cents are listed below: 1- You can connect to Wifi if your room is close to reception! I ended up changing my room because of this. Although the speed is super slow anyway! 2- There is no water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Omid M

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartwell
4.9 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
437 reviews
19.1 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
5 reviews
8.2 km away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#57 of 70 in Johannesburg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
854 reviews
12.2 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
415 reviews
30.2 km away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take big city glamour, mix in some country escape, add a twist of the bushveld, warm hospitality, excellent food and truly great value - and you'll have Zulu Nyala Country Manor. Situated in gracious Chartwell on the outskirts of Northern Johannesburg on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, Country Manor is ideal for overnight stays, conferencing, business trips, functions and weddings.The Manor is home to some wild African residents. Take a stroll around the lush grounds and you'll encounter Zebra, Blesbok, springbok, Nyala and other creatures that provide a delightful taste of the bush. Despite this, you'll be just five minutes away from Johannesburg's premiere nightlife, restaurants and shopping areas. A selection of golf courses and the must see Cradle of Humankind - a world heritage site. Quality accommodation is offered on a Bed & Breakfast basis with additional meals or function catering by arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Address: 270 E Third Road, Chartwell 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Chartwell
Price Range: RM399 - RM674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zulu Nyala Country Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Zulu Nyala Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Zulu Nyala Country Manor staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Zulu Nyala Country Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms were very large in my opinion! Beds were the biggest and most firm beds I have ever slept on! I love firm mattresses so this was a plus!”
 of 5 bubbles 619wendif, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get good directions.”
 of 5 bubbles GrantH490, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Looking for serenity - visit zulu nyala”
 of 5 bubbles nikhil3186, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Loved the room off of the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Jillbuhler, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is great!”
 of 5 bubbles SusanLillyR, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay