We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shorelands Guest Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Shorelands Guest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I am not happy with what I am writing. I firmly believe when you pay good money to stay in a hotel/motel/resort you have a reasonable expectation to NOT have your privacy or safety compromised and this happened earlier today. I feel it is important to share my experience as a warning to future travelers and to Sonja Ducharme, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
Shorelands, Front Office Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

It is extremely unfortunate that this happened, and that Marina finds it totally impossible to believe and accept the possibility that I made an honest mistake. We NEVER entered their unit without their permission. The minute I first knocked on the door, and unlocked it when there was no response, I noticed that a personal shopping bag was on the...

Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stay here for three nights on our way to Nov Scotia. We stayed in building #8 , had two full baths and two bedrooms with living room between . Each bedroom and the living room had a tv. The kitchen was very cramped but we were able to squeeze in for dinner. Rooms clean, baths clean. Beach was 1/2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Photorambler
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Had a lovely one-night stay at Shorelands Guest Resort and hope to return again. About a 15-minute walk to Parson's Beach (my new favorite beach - so quiet, peaceful and lovely). Had nice take-out dinner and breakfast picnics on the beach (low tide was on our side). We stayed in a studio and while small, the vaulted ceilings made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyes_9802
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with your positive review. It is very much appreciated. This IS what we strive for: Casual Country Comfort. We look forward to having you all again as our guests.

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Yes very outdated. Needs to modernization some. The place where we stayed was misleading some. Said we were to get 2 rooms. Both with queen beds. And bathroom between them. It was nice and furnished. So basically bring self. Had a stove and small fridge. Nice patio overlooking game Reserve. Yes it smelled like a person died there but after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jag18702
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

"as we have communicated, the only 'one bedroom' apartment open for your dates is a small older suite on 2nd floor of our motel building and we have booked you there after your last comments. there are 2 units on that floor. the unit has a queen bed in bedroom and a sleeper couch in the sitting room/kitchen. hope that...

East Burke, Vermont
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stopped in despite all of the negative reviews because the price was right & the location was excellent. It was clean & there was plenty for kids to do :) the room was equipped with everything you needed- even had a small kitchen. There were bikes to borrow there was ping-pong there was a heated pool that was basketball...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer I
New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Big mistake booking 2 nights paid $189.15 a night for a cottage unit they put in an outdated hotel room on the second floor w/no elevator. Bed linens smelt like BO, Be extra careful booking at this place!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Wendy, we are very sorry that you felt it necessary to use this vehicle for your dissatisfaction. I recall you coming to us about the bed linens, which I KNOW where changed before your arrival. And I offered to have our staff change them for you. BUT you stated you only wanted new sets and were comfortable doing it yourself....

Amenia, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I made the mistake of booking 2 places for one night , so We arrived at Shorelands at 8 am the morning that We should have spent the night.The owner was too busy to deal with Us so She blew Us off and said to come back after 2 pm.We came back at 4 to check in for the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

When you arrived in the morning, you did NOT let us know that you had booked 2 rooms by mistake! I merely took you for one of our regular scheduled check ins for that day. So I told you to please come back after 2 pm, which is our check in policy. Weekends in August are extremely busy, and we...

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Excellent location with beach a short walk across the street from nice little cottages. No frill cottages, but still very nice. Rooms were clean and grounds well taken care of, including a small pool and hot tub, with lots of flowers. Very close to Kennebunkport, about 5 miles, and other surrounding towns. Excellent spot to enjoy Maine and what it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ctgzyl
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to respond. We do appreciate your comments. btw, Dock Square is a little over 2 miles away, although sometimes with traffic it may seem like 5... thanks again.

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This place lost my reservation. We traveled from PA to Maine to pull in after a very long drive to find out that they had no record of my pre-paid reservation. I produced my receipt and confirmation. The lady who owns this place is very unprofessional and was not helpful at all. She told me it was not her fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracie1052
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this mishap. however, we checked through all of our email bookings, and somehow, you were not included in them. Computer systems work well for the most part, but every now and then mistakes can happen. I did stay on the phone to the company you booked through, with you, for at least 30 minutes, on...

Reviewed 10 July 2016

It does not get any better. We've been coming to this place for 20 years and never got tired of it -- always look forward to coming back. The real Maine vacation. The best is easy access to the beach, can't beat this location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomek S
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Tomek. It IS always a pleasure to welcome you back!

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.5 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
243 reviews
3.6 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
287 reviews
10.6 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
191 reviews
4.1 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
243 reviews
4.1 km away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 25 in Kennebunkport
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Price Range: RM472 - RM623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shorelands Guest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage 38 (studio) was close to the dog-exercise/relief area”
 of 5 bubbles Buckeyes_9802, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 18 - it was clean and well equipped :)”
 of 5 bubbles jener8love, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the Wifi because it's intermittent. But who cares? It's a vacation, for heaven's sake!”
 of 5 bubbles brendam2013, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We enjoy unit 14 for our large family.”
 of 5 bubbles jenniferhW4026MH, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“It may be best to wend a certified letter to the motel or an email and keep it informing them if they do not meet the basic standards, you will, and they are obligated to agree on a refund. NO QUESTIONS ASKED...BAD IS BAD.”
 of 5 bubbles 631lyna, 2 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay