We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lodge on the Cove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Lodge on the Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Lodge on the Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Beach Haven, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I stayed at the Lodge for a work conference and loved it! I enjoyed getting to experience the outdoors right outside of my door instead of being stuck inside a hotel hallway. I had access to open my windows and enjoy the night air. I got in late and the receptionist had left me a note with how to access... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy W
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear Amy, We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We're happy you were able to enjoy our fresh Maine night air and hope the next time you visit you are able to do so solely for recreation. Best regards, Dianna More 

Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Just got back from a weekend away with my girlfriends. We were all SO impressed with The Lodge on the Cove. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and so tastefully decorated. There were a lot of nice little touches, including creamers in the fridge for coffee, ear plugs, noise machines, and fans (which I loved since I sleep with a fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica E
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! We were happy to be able to switch your rooms to make your girls weekend away that much more enjoyable and love that you enjoyed our property as much as we do. We would be thrilled to have you all stay with us again in the... More 

Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I hate to give away such a good little secret spot but I have to share. I loved it, I got a groupon for this last year and it was such an unexpected surprise. The rooms perfect, the food yummy and we had so much fun playing pingpong and shuffleboard. We borrowed an old movie for the evening from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizajlabelle
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear lizajlabelle, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We're happy to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary bikes to explore the surrounding area and that it wasn't too cool when you were here for you to enjoy some of our other outdoor amenities! Unfortunately, we have to pick a date to close... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed at The Lodge on the Cove for three nights in September 2016 and had a great stay! Helpful staff as we have never been to Maine before with lots of recommendations and area maps. The Lodge is about a 15-20 minute walk to the center of town, which includes restaurants and shopping. It's a nice walk in the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdr1985
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear JDR1985, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us for your 1st visit to Maine and that you were able to enjoy so many of our amenities. We would love to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Dianna More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We just got home and I can't tell you how sad I am that our time at The Lodge is over. We spent 2 nights (tried to stay a 3rd but they were booked) and hated leaving. Everything about this place is just incredible, from the decor, the casual funky atmosphere, the wonderful staff, all of it AMAZING. By far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Hello Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review! We love that you had a wonderful stay and are thrilled that your whole family enjoyed our many family friendly amenities. The fall is a wonderful time to be here, the s'mores by the fire taste especially good in the crisp autumn evenings. We look forward... More 

Fishers Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was our 3rd stay at the Lodge on the Cove. The atmosphere is very relaxed, so it is easy to feel like your on vacation from the time you arrive. The Dory has great food and cocktails.The nightly bonfires are an added bonus and everyone enjoys the smores. Well done LOC and we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Gina S
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear Gina, Thank you for your lovely review. We're so happy you've been able to stay with us 3 times and think it's great that you enjoy the Dory as much as we do! Kind regards, Dianna More 

Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2016

very overpriced, front desk staff is rude. the cove is a swamp. the pool is the size of a postage stamp. not located in walking distance to anything . very noisy , hotel supplies ear plugs and noise machines. would not advise staying here if you are looking for a relaxing vacation .

Helpful?
1 Thank sk0rr
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear sk0rr, Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were very sorry to hear that you and your family were unable to enjoy your time with us. Because we are located on a tidal cove, it ebbs and flows with the tides of the ocean and you must have somehow... More 

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I will first say The Lodge on The Cove is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. Every staff member from the front desk to The Dory restaurant is very friendly and helpful. Here are the negatives; this is a very Family Friendly place, so if you are a couple and are looking to relax I WOULD... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mrb525
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear mrb525, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that the complimentary ear plugs and in-room sound machines were not effective enough to help with the sound of families running around in nearby rooms. We have recently done quite a bit of sound proofing in... More 

Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Evidently I drew the short straw and got the "only room without a assigned parking spot in front of it" stated the front desk clerk who checked us in but wouldn't change our room. That said, the lodge was absolutely wonderful and it seems that everyone from the cleaning staff, the breakfast attendant and the short order cook, wanted my... More 

Helpful?
Thank KJ231
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear KJ231, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience with us here at Lodge on the Cove. We do apologize for any confusion surrounding our parking spaces, as only half of our rooms have assigned parking spaces. Because of this, and because we were sold out for the dates that you stayed with us, the front... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I booked a room at The Lodge on the Cove without knowing much about it other than it had an open room the night I needed one. As soon as I settled in, though, I asked if I might stay another night because this motel's chic, modern style and thoughtful details are right up my alley. Unfortunately, the hotel was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sprocketella
lodgeonthecove, Manager at The Lodge on the Cove, responded to this review

Dear Sprocketella, Thank you taking a moment to write such a positive review. We were so happy that you found us on you recent trip to Kennebunkport! Hannah was especially thrilled to have been able to take care of your TV problem for the evening. We all look forward to welcoming you back again another time. Kind regards, Dianna More 

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.1 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
593 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
261 reviews
7.0 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,553 reviews
1.0 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
241 reviews
0.5 km away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lodge on the Cove offers a modern and light hearted approach to the quintessential relaxed Maine experience. This newly furbished classic motor lodge is nestled on a wooded cove in Kennebunkport with a relaxed, yet refined, feel. The Lodge offers a vibrant mix of vintage, classic and contemporary furnishings, bold patterns and an upbeat color palette. It is a combination of natural elements, nautically inspired accents and local art that together bring an organic and eclectic Maine vibe. The Lodge will be the hub of activity with check in, lobby and a poolside bar – the perfect place for relaxing and soaking up the fresh Maine air. Onsite bar and restaurant, The Dory, will offer a wide array of fresh cocktails along with simple and delicious light fare. Glass doors open up to the pool deck creating a spacious area for games, gathering, dining or to simply just laze about. Welcoming and unassuming, The Lodge on the Cove is a happy place to visit, perfect for multi-generational travel, couples and young families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Cove

Address: 29 South Main Street, Kennebunkport, ME 04046
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: RM666 - RM795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge on the Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge on the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cove Hotel Kennebunkport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge on the Cove staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge on the Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 17 was extremely quite and away from the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles AmandaT881, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The BayBerry was ground level, beautiful views of the cove and perfect for me!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyW799, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have pool and river views, while others look at the woods.”
 of 5 bubbles jdr1985, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms are beautiful. Those by the pool have a nice view, but all are great”
 of 5 bubbles D76VDkellyb, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“very overpriced”
 of 5 bubbles sk0rr, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay