We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our one night stay here in October as part of our road trip through New England in the Fall . The hotel is out of the main town just over 1 km along the estuary towards the sea , and we enjoyed the location . There was a large car park immediately behind the hotel annexe where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good Location, between the Atlantic Ocean and tourist area. The staff was Friendly and helpful. Comfortable Bed in a Large room with a wonderful view of the Kennebunk River. only had breakfast at the restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Sleeper2012
Weare, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

EVERYTHING about this place is incredible...service...accommodations...spa...EVERYTHING!!! Thank you for a wonderful anniversary weekend!! We will return and we highly recommend when you travel to Kennebunkport :)

Helpful?
Thank dfrowery1972
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear dfrowery1972, Happy Anniversary! We are so glad that your stay at The Beach House Inn made your special day even better. Our team is the heart and soul of our property and they are honored by your kind words. Thank you for sharing! Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Needed a little time away from the busy schedule and my wife and I found this place to be perfect for that. Great view of the bay, no elevators but that added to the experience, you get an actual key vs. a key card. Nice place to kick back and relax.

Helpful?
Thank Jwelsh70
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jwelsh70, It is wonderful to hear that we were able to help you relax and get away at The Beach House Inn. The history of our buildings is something that makes us proud, and we are glad that it made your stay memorable. Hopefully, you will find some time to relax again soon, so we may welcome you back!... More 

Alexandria, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our wedding night, Spa Package (great value) couples massage and a King room with a porch overlooking the river and ocean! Historic building: a barn conversion. Beautiful views! Included a bountiful continental breakfast. Walk to quaint shops and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank jrfb2016
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear jrfb2016, Congratulations on your recent marriage! Thanks for spending your first night together with us at The Beach House Inn. We are so glad that we could help you relax and enjoy the beautiful Maine landscape. Please do visit us again soon. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich More 

Thornbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip. We stayed in the new part of the Inn. Some of the staff were not too friendly but overall we found the accommodations to be quite good. Free bikes are a hit (reserve them the evening before) The breakfast is great. The bartender makes his own version of "sangria" which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jim K, Thank you for visiting us, and taking the time to share your experience! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time in Maine. Sorry to hear that some of your interactions with the team did not exceed your expectations. They work hard to provide memorable experiences, but will certainly take some time to see... More 

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We just got back from a night away here, and thought it was quite nice! The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. It's a nice location with views of the river. We had no complaints at all and would stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Julz2381
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julz2381, We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at The Breakwater Inn and Spa! Your kind words made our day. Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again soon and stay a bit longer this time! Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich More 

Frisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I should have read other reviews carefully. The room has no working AC, broken refrigerator, stains on the floor. The King Spa Suite that has the "Waterview" is a joke and more like a parking lot view. Total false advertisement!! Super thin walls and can even hear next door occupants speak and the TV is blaring. The Romance Package consists... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sabrinae710
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sabrinae710, We were disappointed to hear about your experiences when you first arrived for your stay. Ensuring that our guests are wowed by our property, amenities and services is something we take pride in and we didn't quite put our best foot forward. Everyone appreciated that you gave us the chance to make it right while you were still... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We chose the hotel for the view. It had a view of the river and local inlet but overall the hotel for the cost was far from being what it notes it is on their website. The hotel is located in one spot, The check in is another building down the street where the spa is. Parking is down the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kennethp105
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kennethp105, We are really disappointed to hear about the challenges you faced while staying with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that you encountered. The team tried hard to ensure that we could accommodate the change to your reservation and were sorry they couldn't make it happen. The historic nature of our property does create some unique... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at The Breakwater Inn and Spa. It was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The location was not really within walking distance to town, but we liked the convenience to other attractions and restaurants. We enjoyed everything about it and highly recommend The Breakwater Inn and Spa!

Helpful?
Thank THC24
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear THC24, It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Breakwater Inn & Spa! Our team works so hard to create memorable experiences for our guests, and your kind words are most certainly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and recommend us to others! We hope to see you again soon.... More 

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
593 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,553 reviews
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: RM362 - RM1,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in the main hotel , not the nearby annexe .”
 of 5 bubbles GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a water veim away fro the Road.”
 of 5 bubbles Sleeper2012, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the rooms with a view of the water!”
 of 5 bubbles jrfb2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor balcony room in the new Inn is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles JimK765, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The river rooms are the best rooms as for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethp105, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay