We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Official HotelUS$169*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$189*
US$169*
Great Deal
US$189*
US$189*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Thornbury
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip. We stayed in the new part of the Inn. Some of the staff were not too friendly but overall we found the accommodations to be quite good. Free bikes are a hit (reserve them the evening before) The breakfast is great. The bartender makes his own version of "sangria" which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim K
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jim K, Thank you for visiting us, and taking the time to share your experience! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your time in Maine. Sorry to hear that some of your interactions with the team did not exceed your expectations. They work hard to provide memorable experiences, but will certainly take some time to see...

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We just got back from a night away here, and thought it was quite nice! The room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. It's a nice location with views of the river. We had no complaints at all and would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julz2381
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Julz2381, We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at The Breakwater Inn and Spa! Your kind words made our day. Hopefully, you will be able to visit us again soon and stay a bit longer this time! Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

Frisco
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I should have read other reviews carefully. The room has no working AC, broken refrigerator, stains on the floor. The King Spa Suite that has the "Waterview" is a joke and more like a parking lot view. Total false advertisement!! Super thin walls and can even hear next door occupants speak and the TV is blaring. The Romance Package consists...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sabrinae710
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sabrinae710, We were disappointed to hear about your experiences when you first arrived for your stay. Ensuring that our guests are wowed by our property, amenities and services is something we take pride in and we didn't quite put our best foot forward. Everyone appreciated that you gave us the chance to make it right while you were still...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We chose the hotel for the view. It had a view of the river and local inlet but overall the hotel for the cost was far from being what it notes it is on their website. The hotel is located in one spot, The check in is another building down the street where the spa is. Parking is down the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kennethp105
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kennethp105, We are really disappointed to hear about the challenges you faced while staying with us. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that you encountered. The team tried hard to ensure that we could accommodate the change to your reservation and were sorry they couldn't make it happen. The historic nature of our property does create some unique...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at The Breakwater Inn and Spa. It was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The location was not really within walking distance to town, but we liked the convenience to other attractions and restaurants. We enjoyed everything about it and highly recommend The Breakwater Inn and Spa!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THC24
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear THC24, It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Breakwater Inn & Spa! Our team works so hard to create memorable experiences for our guests, and your kind words are most certainly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share with us, and recommend us to others! We hope to see you again soon....

Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Lovely little Oceanside town with nice shops and restaurants. Quiet place to unwind in Natures beauty. It is popular and it is busy. The Leaves are at peak and it is a great place to spend some time. Hotel is older, but bedding is fantastic. Great mattresses, sheets, pillows, comfy. Clean and the staff here is excellent. I'm glad I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewgren
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear lewgren, We are so glad that you were able to experience the Breakwater Inn & Spa, and coastal Maine during autumn! Each season brings new landscapes for our guests, but leaf season is especially beautiful. That being said, winter is also breathtaking, perhaps you can visit us again soon. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Breakwater Inn & Spa consists of several houses. The rooms at the Seeside House are old but spacious and clean. The service is mostly absent. The breakfast is terrible. The breakfast must be taken temporarily under loud vacuum cleaner noise, because just the corridor was cleaned during breakfast time. Food such as pan cakes or fried eggs were completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kittlitz
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kittlitz, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. Our team really appreciates hearing from our guests how they think we could improve. We have developed the offerings for our breakfast menu after much input from past guests, and will be sure to keep your suggestions of enhancements to our current offerings...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed at the Breakwater Inn for one night in October. The room (in the Inn building) was pretty and spacious, with a lovely view. Pillows were good, bath adequate, and there is a fridge in the room but no coffeemaker. The restaurant had the same nice view, across the mouth of the river and out to sea. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palmira B
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Palmira B, We are honored that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Kennebunkport. It is great to hear that we could make your stay memorable in so many ways! It is disappointing to hear about the water bottle in your room upon arrival. Our housekeeping team works diligently to ensure no details are missed...

Edgartown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, shoulder season. Close to $300 per night. Website is deceptive, hotel is in two different buildings, with a home in between. The Inn building does not have an elevator. Not fun for 4th floor room holders! We were in the spa building, which does have a lift. Peeling wallpaper, terrible wifi, room furniture that looks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lukerlou
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lukelou, We are disappointed also that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any part of your visit that did not meet your expectations. Our team is never satisfied with the bare minimum and works very hard to go above and beyond to provide exceptional experiences. If we fell a bit short during your...

Reviewed 4 October 2016

Rented a room at the inn with my mother and we stayed on the 3rd floor (walk-up, no elevator). Room was small, yet cozy with ocean-facing windows. There was a wedding in the evening when we checked in, but the noise was reasonable and the event didn't go too late. Unfortunately, our view of the ocean was obstructed by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juan I
GuestExperience_2016, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Juan I., We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time in Maine! Unfortunately, the weather sometimes does bring circumstances beyond our control to the area, and we are sorry the rain came during your visit. We do hope that you will return again soon. Best Wishes, Naz Jenulevich

255 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
0.2 km away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
1.4 km away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: RM683 - RM1,527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room overlooking the river and ocean. great view.”
moose5183, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Be sure of your room location and size”
679shawnd, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have better views.”
schultzc1, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the King Spa rooms they have a great view and very spacious”
, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in the main hotel , not the nearby annexe .”
GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Hotel
US$169* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$189
Expedia.comUS$189
TripAdvisorUS$169
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates