We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norseman Resort

Save
Share
135 Beach Street PO Box 896, Ogunquit, ME 03907
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$120
Agoda.comUS$120
eDreamsUS$120
TripadvisorUS$120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (210)
Room & Suite (127)
Pool & Beach (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#19 of 35 hotels in Ogunquit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ogunquit's only beachfront resort. Variety of accommodations to meet your budget and expectations. Free parking for guests in our own private lot on the beach. Outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room. All rooms have fridge, hairdryer, iron, safe, queen or king beds. Our hospitality professionals have been taking care of our guests for over 40 years. Experience the Norseman and find out why our guests return year after year.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Beach
Bicycles available
Taxi service
Gift shop
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Fence around pool
Complimentary instant cofffee
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
624Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 182
  • 56
  • 17
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pat R wrote a review 24 Jul
Fishers, Indiana171 contributions35 helpful votes
We come every year in May before in-season prices, so this time $310 in June for an old room seemed pricey. However, it's the location - the only hotel in Ogunquit directly on the beach. We usually stay in the Dunes building when we come for a 4 night long weekend. This time we were only here for 1 night and stayed in the River building. However, parking for the River building is at the public parking lot across the street (Norseman gives you parking pass). So not as convenient but it was OK.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We like the 1st floor Dunes for the patio out back
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
al23456 wrote a review 18 Jul
Lafayette, Colorado2 contributions3 helpful votes
For $400 a night this place should be ashamed with what they offer. We got a dank, smelly, 2nd floor room above the restaurant. The room was dated, sandy, mildewy and in desperate need of an update. We could hear every step of the people staying above us. Many of the lightbulbs were burnt out. They don’t offer daily housekeeping service and say it is because of COVID safety concerns, yet none of the staff wear masks so clearly they’re not that worried about covid. Also the fire alarms either malfunction or get set off in the middle of the night which is just awful. This place will wring you for every last dollar and clearly puts nothing back into the property. The owners and management should be ashamed of themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramsey Lafayette, General Manager at Norseman Resort
Responded today
Hello there, Thank for your feedback and review. I am so sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Some of our rooms are not as renovated as others, but we always do our best to make sure the rooms are clean and enjoyable. We renovated 20 rooms this past off season and have plans for many more along with the elevator we are building this fall. Half of our rooms have been fully updated, half have yet to be renovated. COVID did slow down this progress, but this doesn't change your less than satisfactory stay with us. It would be great to touch base about your experience directly as I am unable to locate your reservation. Please give me a call at 207 646 7024 so we can discuss this matter further. My sincerest apologies again for a less than enjoyable experience. Kind regards, Ramsey
Read more
TravelGuide3 wrote a review 6 Jul
Rockland, Maine2 contributions20 helpful votes
We did an extended stay at the Norseman as a family of four. Upon arrival the beach is as breathtaking as the pictures. Beautiful. We checked in and found we were on the third floor. There’s no elevator so I carried suitcases, baby bags, travel cribs by myself while my wife stayed with the kids in the car. No big deal, but keep it in mind. Here’s where it gets important. There are two Norseman experiences-old rooms vs renovated. We got old. I slid the slider door and was immediately blasted with the strong smell of rotten shellfish and urine. My immediate thought was “my wife is gonna freak.” (We we’re spending close to $2000 for our week stay). The carpet was wet… the cushion chairs were wet… the bedding was wet. It was clear moisture could not escape. I know if I had pulled up the old carpet it would have been loaded with black mold. The shower was old and rusted. The room was awful. We stayed the night because we had an infant and we’re tired but it was gross. The next morning I talked to the front desk. Let me be very clear here… the staff is incredible. I said our room was damp and foul smelling. They said we could move rooms but there might be a waterfront up charge which I instantly protested. I mean, if my room didn’t smell like Irvine I wouldn’t have moved. Anyways they were able to move us and the manager approved no additional charges… again, the staff was fabulous. But we could only move two nights then we would have to relocate again. (Remember the part about no elevator? … yeah, got my workout). Our new room… freshly renovated… amazing. The Norseman should be ashamed trying to rent their old rooms. Honestly it felt like being in a different hotel. Fresh carpet, stone shower and new vanity. It was like going from eating dog food to eating filet. Unfortunately we only got it for two nights then had to move again. This time to a half renovated room that was old but didn’t smell of urine so there’s that. Our last night concluded with a false fire alarm at 1:30 Am, 5 Am and 5:45 Am. Real fun with a baby and small child. In conclusion. Don’t stay here unless you specifically request a newly renovated room. The staff is great but they know they are working with a polished turd. The beach is great but as it stands the Norseman is NOT a resort (like Marriott, Hyatt, etc). It is an econlodge that happens to be lucky enough to be on the beach. I plead that old rooms never get rented until renovated or they do at a supreme discount with honesty. “It’s 60 bucks a night, but this wing is very dated.” That way folks know what they are getting. $350 a night for a new room on the Atlantic? No problem $60 a night for a room that is on the beach and smells of urine? Ok, that’s fair. But don’t try to pretend these two experiences are equal. That’s where I got angry.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ramsey Lafayette, General Manager at Norseman Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
TravelGuide3, I wanted to thank you for your feedback and the assessment of your stay. I do wish your stay was better received but am very familiar with the challenges you encountered and the resolution during your stay. The Management at The Norseman is continually updating our product offering, and do have varying stages of updates throughout our property. We do reflect the levels of product offering in our pricing tiers to accommodate travelers on any budget I really appreciate the positive way the staff responded to your concerns, and appreciate you mentioning them during your review. We are blessed with very dedicated employees and responsive upper Management team that recognizes the necessity for change and is always looking at opportunities to improve the guest experience. In a very tough year for many hospitality venues, The Norseman is proud of our recent upgrades to 15 rooms, the beginning of our elevator construction ( to be ready for the start of the 2022 season), and our on-going discussions for continued upgrades this off season. We thank you for your feedback, it is an essential element to our decision making process going forward, and do hope that you allow us an opportunity to earn your trust in a future stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again. Staff & Management
Read more
vanksullivan wrote a review Jun 2021
Rocky Point, New York7 contributions
Have been to the Norseman many times and couldn’t wait to go back for our first vacation in two years. It’s clear they had a tough year and yes, the place got run down a little and the amenities suffered but that is to be expected. Shame on people leaving bad reviews, you don’t deserve this place and will never understand it. I’m quite happy to be a part of keeping this tradition alive for future generations after the financially devastating year we just went through, and frankly, have the means to have gone anywhere we want but chose to support a place that really matters. This is an old fashioned beach front hotel that is all about the location, there is no pretense and you either get it or you don’t. We will be back and hopefully things will be back to normal - in the meantime thank you to the staff for doing the best they could and congratulations to management for the fiscal prudence to survive and rebuild.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Kylee S wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I had probably the worst experience ever at this place. My mom got a room for the weekend and when we got to her room, the phones didn’t work and the safe DIDNT work either. She travels with a lot of meds and wanted them locked up. So that was our first problem. Then our tv didn’t work. So we told them and the switched our rooms. Which was cool, we got to our second room and there was sand all in our beds and stains on the sheets. Absolutely disgusting especially with covid going on. The counters were covered in sticky stuff and looked like sugar from someone’s coffee. There was coffee sticky stains all over the counters too. Then this tv didn’t work either. It was getting annoying cause we wanted to stay in and chill and watch tv. So we told them again what had happened then they upgraded our room to a suite which was so kind of them! We loved that!! We said thank you a hundred times. We thought this room was going to be absolutely spotless, we were wrong. These beds also were covered in sand, and I know being on the beach you can’t get every grain of sand out of the rooms, but it was our beds and where we were sleeping. Both of our beds had sand all in them and all over our pillows. We were like are kidding? So at this point, we cleaned off the bed ourselves and didn’t say anything til we left. Our suite had a nice beautiful fire place, that didn’t even work. We were excited to turn it on, didn’t work. The plugs next to our bed, also didn’t work so we had to charge our phones across the room, not a big deal. The shower was absolutely DISGUSTING, I took a shower and not even 20 min later, the bottom of my feet were BLACK AND FILTHY DIRTY. So we took a face cloth and put it under hot water and whipped the floor and I can’t even make this up, the face cloth was DISGUSTING AND BLACK covered in sand and DIRT. They take absolutely no pride in how clean their rooms or beds are. When it was time to check out, we told them about our stay and our concern especially with covid goin on, the person at the desk (I think the manager) didn’t seem to care at all. We tried really hard to not make it sound like we were complaining but all we wanted was a clean room and in all 3 rooms, every single one was dirty. He rolled his eyes at us numerous times when we expressed how we felt and didn’t care at all. Never again will I stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Norseman Resort
Responded 8 Jun 2021
I am so sorry that your stay wasn't a 5 star experience, we strive to make everyone's stay a memorable one. I will assure you that your experience will be shared with all applicable departments. I do hope you will offer us another opportunity to earn back your trust and provide the experience you are paying for. Staff and Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$162 - US$479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
norseman hotel ogunquit, norseman motel ogunquit, norseman ogunquit
LOCATION
United StatesMaineOgunquit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Norseman Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Norseman Resort?
Nearby attractions include Marginal Way (0.8 km), Ogunquit Beach (0.07 km), and Ogunquit Beach District (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Norseman Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Norseman Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Norseman Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, free instant coffee, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Norseman Resort?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Norseman Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Omelette Factory, Bread and Roses Bakery, and The Greenery Cafe.
Is Norseman Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Ogunquit.
Are there any historical sites close to Norseman Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Founders Park (7.8 km) and Storer Garrison State Historic Site (6.2 km).
Does Norseman Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Norseman Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.