We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchorage By the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anchorage By the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 974: English reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in late July. The property is very nice, with easy access to Marginal Way and great views of Ogunquit Beach and the ocean. We stayed in the Towers across the street. The room was fine, but a bit on the small side. Beds are smaller than normal. The pools were fairly crowded with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tigerstank
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Tigerstank, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your compliments and are happy we were able to accommodate you during your four night trip to Ogunquit. We are certainly a family favorite resort with the many amenities we provide and excellent location. We are also a favorite among couples as we offer a variety of room types. The Lighship...

Littleton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came into this vacation with high hopes.. I have vacationed in Maine my whole life an walked by here on marginal way.. this is very top line on outside.. very expensive.. we were originally staying near pool but moved across street to save "money".. I thought being across the street would be okay but I felt way separate from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jg9214
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear jg9214, We appreciate your feedback. We would like to thank you for staying with us during your trip to Ogunquit. No matter where guests stay on our property, they have full access to all of our amenities. As far as parking is concerned, we are bit confused by your comment as we have no assigned parking. You may park...

Watertown, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This in my opinion is the best place to stay in Ogunquit. We have been staying Anchorage for 15+ years and it's been great. They continually invest in the property which makes our stay better each year. The location is perfect and the staff is outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Joe M, Thank you so much for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for being a loyal patron of the Anchorage. We are so happy we have been able to accommodate you over the years. 15 years and not a bad stay? What a great compliment to receive! We are delighted you feel...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently came back from a 3-night stay at Anchorage. My husband and I have been vacationing in Ogunquit every summer, but have never stayed at this hotel. We wanted to try it because the grounds are so lovely, and they have an on-property restaurant/bar. We will NEVER stay here again. You should also reconsider booking in this "Corporate" hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank CaptCheeseSticks
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Cheezburgerparadise, We certainly feel the need to address the points you have made as they can easily be explained. We have the right to respond to any reviews, especially when they contain false or misleading information. We would like to start off by saying we are not a corporately owned property. We are one of the longest run family...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are a young couple who booked this hotel just a few days before our stay. We were not in the main building but across the street in the "lightship" building. I was worried about not being in the main building, but the "lightship" was clean, quiet and nicely renovated. It was just a quick walk from the beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Pamela S, Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy we were able to accommodate you! Thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room in the Lightship. We find many couples enjoy this location as it is quieter with...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Anchorage By the Sea and Ogunquit are very special places for my husband and I. This resort is what I would refer to as a "forever" place because we will forever come to stay here. From the moment we drive in, we always get a big welcome from the staff as if we are family...the management and staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick A
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Patrick A, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy we have been able to accommodate you and your husband over the years. Thank you for your loyalty to the Anchorage. We greatly appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for all of your positive feedback on our property and staff. We...

Reviewed 25 July 2014

For all the annoying folks who write poor reviews just to get self gratification, let me tell you that they do little to help others seeking advice. I am pretty fussy when I travel but not so low as to complain when the soap is wrapped too tight or the toilet paper perforations are not precise enough to allow for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Robert O
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Robert O, Thank you so much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. Your patronage in greatly appreciated. Guests like you truly make our jobs more enjoyable. It was such a delight to read...

Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great stay at Anchorage and will likely be back. We stayed at Sea Rose last year, and found the accommodations and location much better here. The room was spotless, albeit a bit small. It had a private balcony which we hung out on when the kids went to bed. We barely heard anyone from inside our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddrenik
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear ddrenik, Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We appreciate your patronage. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you! We would like to thank you for all of your compliments about our resort. It is...

Longueuil, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful resort. Very clean. Well located. Superb view of both the sea et the beach. Good quality restaurant. We have been there several times and will return. Best rooms are on the Starboard second floor with both ocean and beach view. They improve the resort very often.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michel P
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Michael P, Thank you so much for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion. We would also like to thank you for being a loyal guest of the Anchorage. We greatly appreciate your patronage. What a compliment to be called the "Best Resort in Maine"! Thank you so much for giving us this wonderful title! We...

Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family just came back from three nights at the Anchorage and enjoyed our stay. The resort grounds are spotless and is located right on Marginal Way, which we walked multiple times a day. There was always activity in the resort and the staff was very friendly, especially the greeter at the "front gate". The only negative was that the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert H
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Robert H, Thank you so much for reviewing the Anchorage here on TripAdvisor. We'd also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your recent trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage. Thank you for sharing your compliments on our property and staff. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us. Our pool...

768 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach Upper Room (26)
Viewed
Garden House Suite (63)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Lightship Room (23)
Viewed
Ocean Upper Room (26)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (20)
Viewed
Poolside Lower Room (22)
Viewed
Poolside Upper Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Shore Lower Room (34)
Viewed
Shore Upper Room (34)
Viewed
Studio Fireplace (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Towers Back Room (22)
Viewed
Towers Front Side Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.3 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
523 reviews
0.1 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#5 of 36 in Ogunquit
604 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Rose Suites
Sea Rose Suites
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pink Blossoms Resort (Family Suites)
0.9 km away
Juniper Hill Inn
Juniper Hill Inn
#12 of 36 in Ogunquit
449 reviews
0.6 km away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#6 of 36 in Ogunquit
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Surf Point 360
Surf Point 360
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Price Range: RM612 - RM1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchorage By the Sea staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
East Berlin, Connecticut
2 months ago
New York
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchorage By the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit hotel website of call direct to understand various views.”
864JohnL, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Starboard building, Beach rooms have best views. Rooms near pool are noisier.”
beachlovinmom001, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have a lot to carry stay on the first floor!”
SusanGG498, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Awesome view from second floor.”
mcb1213, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get rooms in. The Starboard Building”
Z2211FAfrankm, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5