We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cherry Tree Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Cherry Tree Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Cherry Tree Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Great, very clean room and superb breakfast with really friendly staff, the perfect pub getaway for a weekend in the Thames Valley. Will be there again for a great pint and and a restful getaway.I was made welcomed and shown to the room immediately, local knowledge and a very friendly pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithwyness
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My partner and I stayed at The Cherry Tree on 01.05.2016 just for one night. We arrived around 3.30 PM decided to have a drink in the pub. The food looked good. I was informed they only service until 4.30 and was given details and directions to The Angel who serviced food later into the evening. We checked in to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We booked a table for a family meal to celebrate a big birthday. The pub has been a firm favourite of our parents for almost 15 years. We pre-ordered due to the size of the party, which we had no issue with. However there were items on the "specials" which I would have substituted my choices for, if I'd have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LSandMS
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Drove past, saw the pub and turned around straight away. wasn't really looking for lunch but soon changed our minds when we saw the Burgers!!! they are amazing and would challenge anyone not to get one. in fact other people ordered them after seeing ours. the staff are really friendly as well. all in all as thetitle says its is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BillyD76
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We booked The Cherry Tree for our anniversary. With 29 in the party i was a little concerned there might be issues dealing with the variety of menu choices even though we had given the selections in advance, but no problem it was seamless, the service was great and the food excellent. We had a really good time , Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLD307
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We chose to stay at The Cherry Tree as there was a family celebration there on the Saturday so we stayed on an extra three nights to look around the area. So what makes it very good. The very comfortable and good value B&B, the very good food? all of that but most importantly the service. Nick was very welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Accommodation just in need of some TLC but that is being a little harsh as it is not bad but could be better, internet very poor in barn accommodation very thin dividing walls luckily our neighbours were quiet, however staff very friendly and breakfast very good. The restaurant food was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
London
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night - nice clean, warm room and a delicious breakfast in the morning. Had to find food elsewhere in the evening though as they shut the kitchen at 6pm and bar was closed at 10pm when we got back from our meal elsewhere (blessing in disguise as had a really lovely meal at the Crooked Billet). Shame that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRS85
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

We are fairly local, but this was our first visit. The Inn is traditional English and has a warm ambiance. We had booked and were seated promptly by our waitress, Paige. She turned out to be a real gem with a great sense of humour, and it wasn't her fault that there was no ribeye steak or the main lamb...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riggorz
Woodley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Earlier today me and three others drove to this "pub" for a meal and few drinks was then rudely spoken to by a male staff member, after he ignored me 3 times then was rude Again to me. Unfortunately we then decided to leave as we couldn't sit and enjoy our weekend off as it was ruined by this individual!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mjputt
Iloveagoodfoodpub, Owner at The Cherry Tree Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your visit wasn't up to scratch. Our attempt to give you the level of service you individually required did not meet your expectations, apologies. However, it is not our policy to consolidate our efforts on a single group of four people that arrived without a booking on Good Friday, whilst we were fully booked with diners and...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoke Row
7.9 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
737 reviews
10.2 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
180 reviews
7.9 km away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
508 reviews
3.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
551 reviews
7.8 km away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful pub/inn/restaurant in Stoke Row, in the heart of the South Oxfordshire countryside in the Chiltern Hills. Elegant, chic design gives a warm, inviting feeling and the overall ethos of The Cherry Tree is one of comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. Food is key here with bi monthly menu changes of seasonal produce. Well kept beers, fantastic wines and great champagnes make this a place for a weekend away with a loved one, catch up with friends or equally happy catering for corporate groups. Likewise, it is a wonderful local pub in a beautiful Oxfordshire village. Four en-suite letting rooms in the barn are fresh, crisp, elegant and clean and most comfortable. Overall, a wonderful experience and not to be missed if in this part of the country. There is a definite air of class about this place and the London set flock to it in droves for a great country fix. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree Inn

Address: Main Street, Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames RG9 5QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Stoke Row
Price Range: RM397 - RM556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Cherry Tree Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cherry Tree Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Henley on Thames

Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor. As local regulars it is with concern that I hear of your experiences at the Cherry Tree. We are a Brakspears pub therefore our beer supply, offer, and deliveries all derive from them. We always stock their ‘best’ bitter and vary the other pump. The seasonal ales are very popular but somewhat erratic in supply, so we stuck with Ringwood which is proving popular until we get our 3rd pump put in which will allow a much better offer across the board. However, in reference to your comments about running out, I’m not aware of ever running out of both lines, ever!

We stock at least 3 types of gin, Gordons, Bombay and Hendricks, so if we have ever run out of one we always have at least 2 others to offer. We are now stocking English Chase Gin to broaden the offer.

Our wine list has 4 red wines by the glass and 12/14 red wines to offer in total, so not having a good red on offer would be unlikely. There was a very small cross over when we changed our list 2 months ago, so if there was a bit of disruption i can only apologise but i hope you made the best of some great bin end deals!

Our draft Thatchers was a problem over a few weeks when it was on and off, which was a technical issue and very frustrating so apologies once again. However, we stock Bulmers, Rekordling, Addlestones Cloudy and Aspalls ciders by the bottle to hopefully fulfill the cider drinkers.

If we ran out of Guiness it may be that we struggled to maintain a consistent offer when we swapped over from Brakspear Black, back to Guinness, due to lack of interest in the Brakspears brand; this was some months ago.

Your comments are really appreciated and taken on board but we try our very best to maintain a good, interesting offer across the board and running out would not ever be the scenario that both parties would enjoy!

Please drop me a line as I don't believe we've spoken before and i would love to get your comments on a new ale and perhaps sample a few gins!!

Many thanks,

Mr Douglas Green

Landlord

over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cherry Tree Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“recommend plum room but all probably ok”
 of 5 bubbles A9542IWlindad, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“downstairs rooms cooler in the summer than upstairs ones.”
 of 5 bubbles Katimay85, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Can hear some bar noise from rooms but nothing too loud or too late.”
 of 5 bubbles Q3252GRdeborahs, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“outside rooms are best”
 of 5 bubbles 704DavidS, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are separate from the pub building and easy access to the rooms. Ideal for disabled as rooms are ground level.”
  • rooms along side of pub building.
 of 5 bubbles 643kayeb, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5