We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beach Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 488: English reviews
Olney, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We have frequented Beach Plaza Hotel in Ocean City, MD for about the last 25 years, and stayed through their fabulous renovation to modernize the hotel without destroying it's old time charm. If this hotel would stay open year round, we would only stay there. The staff is great, the ambience is great and the rooms are very clean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gregoryrX5121CZ
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you keep returning to the Beach Plaza year after year. We are proud of the work we have done to maintain the Beach Plaza while still keeping it's unique charm and I thank you for noting that in your review. I'm glad that... More 

Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Great place......Right on boardwalk at 14th st. Big porch with rockers to sit and people watch. Close to restaurants. Tram car runs right in front...plenty of parking.very clean, although not very modern...family units available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. As you noted in your review, the Beach Plaza is an older property, but we place an emphasis on being clean. The central boardwalk location of the Beach Plaza is convenient to everything you might need... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016

ok nice time at the sun fest. would come back to that again.would mind staying at the apartment for vaction.rooms in the hotel need updated bad they should do this because it is a nice place. elevtor was very slow. the lobby area was very relaxing to sit and listen to the paino player and singer play in a elgant... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Z3729SCjamesn
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy that you would consider returning to stay with us again. While the Beach Plaza is an older property, we work hard to keep it well maintained. The Beach Plaza's classic decor and oceanfront porch give it a unique charm that keeps many of our guests returning every year.... More 

Phoenix, MD
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice to sit and look at the ocean from the front porch. Ocean front rooms are very quite. Right on the board walk. Good parking for car guys. Nice staff, always nice to talk to. Now the bad stuff. Beds are like sleeping on the floor. Bathrooms need to be updated. Why have a I stayed their over a dozen... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank howardl694
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoy our location and that you continue to come back to the Beach Plaza. All the beds in our oceanfront rooms were replaced this year, and we hope to upgrade the beds in our non oceanfront rooms for next season. Thank you again for your review,... More 

Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016

the hotel experience was great, the rooms were well maintained and the staff was very nice but one night security was extremely rude to me and a friend of mine after he was in the parking lot for more than 5 minutes. security said he was there for 45 minutes but he was only there for less than 10. I'd... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jscott_151734
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm glad that you found the Beach Plaza a clean and comfortable place to stay. I'm sorry that you had negative experience with a member of the security staff, and I would be happy to talk with you about it if you would like to contact me directly at... More 

New Market, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The prices of the rooms vary. You can stay in a room exactly like someone else and pay $30 per night more. NOT happy!! I asked the front desk women and they were not helpful. The rooms were musty and if you have asthma or allergies - stay away!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 770kathleen
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I believe our prices are competitive and typically vary based view or amenities. I'm sorry to hear that your interaction with our front desk staff was less than pleasant, we strive to provide great customer service to all our guests. I would be happy to talk with you about your stay and your rate if... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The front desk staff is unfriendly and not helpful. It was the off season October , so we were hoping for a little R&R. No continental breakfast, Hotel restaurant only open at night. Our room toilet was broken upon arrival and my husband spent the rest of the weekend fixing it every time we used it. The hotel did send... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Donna E
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not more pleasant. We do provide complimentary coffee in our lobby every morning, but we do not offer a continental breakfast. Our front desk and maintenance staff are usually complimented on their friendliness and helpfulness, so I apologize that your situation was not handled better. Thank you... More 

Middle River, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

everyone very helpful couldnt do enough for you !the rooms are very old but they were very clean.the elavator was so old made my grandaughter scared at first but tthen got use to it.the food at the resturant was out of this world i would eat there every night!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lindacameo
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you found the Beach Plaza's staff friendly and helpful. Thank you for noting that you found your room clean and comfortable. While the Beach Plaza is an older property, we work hard to keep it well maintained. Thank you again for your review and we... More 

Pikesville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016

the room was good. the only thing we missed was a balcony but we still could listen to the ocean with the window open. The room could have had a better coffee pot but that was minor. Overal the room was clean, the staff was great, and we were pleased with the experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robertu691
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay at the Beach Plaza and that your room was clean and comfortable. Our oceanfront location and friendly staff are always popular with the Beach Plaza's guests. Thank you again for your review and please come visit us in Ocean City... More 

Ellicott city Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stay at the beach plaza and only the Beach PLAZA hotel when we go to Ocean City whether it's a weekend getaway or our 10 day vacation in the summer. We love the covered porch with the comfortable seating and rocking chairs to people watch everyone going by on the boardwalk we love that we can sit there and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia N
Paul K, General Manager at Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Beach Plaza Hotel. I'm happy to hear that you have been enjoying the Beach Plaza Hotel for so many years. Our oceanfront porch with rocking chairs and is always popular with the Beach Plaza's guests. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities the Beach Plaza has to... More 

378 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (157)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
RM207 Standard Queen Room (21)
Viewed
RM210 Ocean Front Standard (18)
Viewed
RM415 Apartment ocean Front (33)
Viewed
RM421 Efficiency Ocean Front (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 108 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.1 km away
Harrison Hall
Harrison Hall
#17 of 108 in Ocean City
836 reviews
0.3 km away
Beach Walk Hotel
Beach Walk Hotel
#52 of 108 in Ocean City
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#86 of 108 in Ocean City
68 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#76 of 108 in Ocean City
489 reviews
2.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza oceanfront hotel is located at 13th Street on the famous Ocean City, MD Boardwalk. The hotel’s beachfront location is ideal for family beach vacations, weekend getaways or your next golf vacation. Beach Plaza guests are just a short stroll down the boardwalk to numerous restaurants, nightclubs, amusement rides and shopping.The Beach Plaza Hotel offers a variety of accommodations to meet your needs, from oceanfront guest rooms, efficiencies and 1-bedroom apartments to spacious 3-bedroom apartments that can accommodate up to eight guests. Hotel amenities include free parking, on-site bike rental, comfortable rocking chairs on the spacious porch overlooking the boardwalk and convenient beach rentals for your chair, umbrella and boogie board desires.Enjoy our warm Eastern Shore hospitality, spectacular ocean views and spacious accommodations - all just steps from spectacular Atlantic beaches and the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, 13th Street & the Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-7348
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: RM431 - RM1,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phillips Beach Plaza
Phillips Beach Plaza Ocean City
Phillips Beach Plaza Hotel
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Baltimore
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Beach Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the rooms are small but okay”
 of 5 bubbles Z3729SCjamesn, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“check your bathroom first, then ask for another room!”
 of 5 bubbles 157donnae, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We love the oceanfront rooms we also love the back corner room because on the 3rd floor you can have a view of the ocean and of the sunset on the bay.every day while we're there we get up early go for a bike ride or a walk on the boardwalk and then lay out on the beach the rest of the day! In the evening we go to one of the many numerous restaurants within walking distance and enjoy a great dinner and end the day by sitting on the porch with a glass of wine people watching chatting with our friends and laughing best vacation ever!”
 of 5 bubbles julianC8798IY, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request Ocean View. Room 110 is over the restaurant and can be noisy.”
  • It doesn't matter how old the hotel is, there is no excuse for this...
  • Dusty
  • Security of the door was questionable for me.
  • Shower
 of 5 bubbles ZiggyMoondust, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“It has a kitchen connected to it.”
 of 5 bubbles ArcturusZimbo, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay