We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Empress Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Empress Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Empress Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2015

very nice and helpful front desk clerk (woman). when we arrived this past saturday, may 30th - we had come to find that the room we had booked and paid for was NOT handicap accessible like the gentleman had told me over the phone on both days i had called prior to making my reservation and booking my room. no... More 

Helpful?
Thank cwickard88
East Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Stay the weekend of 5/8/15.The noise at night was terrible. Saturday night was the worst night to sleep. The noise and partying went on to 5:30 AM. What happened to your noise curfew? Why wasn't there someone to check? This was the worst weekend we ever had. Empress had send us a survey to fill out. I sent it back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lea J
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lea- Thank you for the high marks on the cleanliness, rooms and service. Unfortunately the post-check out survey is anonymous, as we find this helps for the most candid feedback. With that in mind, I have taken the time to scour all of the returned May surveys, and there is NO contact information left from any completed surveys, so... More 

Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We are "locals" to some extent. Just live about 30 minutes away. Drove to Ocean City last week to check things out and walk the boardwalk. It was a weekday and we noticed work being done at the Empress! We stopped and chatted with the workers and found out first hand about the improvements and renovations being done! We are... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank K C
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi KC- Thank you so much for the compliment. Yes, we have spent a lot of time, effort and manpower this winter on the Empress. We are very happy that you not only noticed the changes and improvements, but also were impressed by these updates. I know that the winter crew are very proud of the work they've done and... More 

Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2014

It use to be a great family experience but has since become commercial. No longer does it have the appeal of a family atmosphere but more of a college party. Very disappointed With the front end staff as I felt unimportant and less appreciated. This hotel has lost its appeal such a shame!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Ed C
j w, Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ed C – Sorry to hear that you were not as pleased with your visit as you have been in the past. It does sound like you still had an enjoyable time overall at the Empress, as your complaints are very personal interaction specific. I am however unsure what you are referencing when you say it’s become ‘commercial’, as... More 

Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Stayed a number of times in the past over ten year period. Recently stayed a day and found it is not longer the same place. Room rates use to be a little lower than others, no more. Noticed things needing repair. Just doesn't seem the same anymore.

Helpful?
Thank P A
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

Hi – Sorry to hear that your one night stay was not the same that it used to be. Yes, there have been some changes, but all have been improvements to the property. I hope you noticed that the pool is cleaned every morning and kept up throughout the day, we have updated all locks to the use of electronic... More 

York, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have been quest at the Empress for over 15 years and this year after finding out the Empress was sold we were a little worried. Well, our fears were justified. The place is not kept up like it was before, parking lot dirty, pool not cleaned properly, no one cleaned up around the whole place. The rooms are missing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy E
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

You wrote this review literally the day you arrived at the Empress for a 5 day stay. Not sure how you can make the above statements merely hours after arriving. Since you wrote your above review, we assume you have noticed that the parking lots are cleaned daily, just as they were previously. In addition, the pool is cleaned EVERY... More 

Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at the empress motel the room was very clean the pool was also very clean had no problems everyone was friendly enjoyed are stay would definitely stay again . Everything we needed was within walking distance very close to the beach .

Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first time staying at the Empress. Usually my husband and I stay at the Sahara but by the time I was able to book a hotel the Sahara had no vacancy. I was told the Sahara bought the Empress, so I thought it would be just as nice. If you have young kids this isn't really the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jflargent
colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I don't get too picky at the beach, we don't really spend much time in our room. We didn't have reservations, but they were happy to accommodate us. The room was a little dated, but clean. We prefer a smaller property with personality and The Empress is a cute little gem of Ocean City past. Friendly staff, we loved Wilsie... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank coloradobeachgirl
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your kind words above and were so happy we were able to accommodate you on your recent visit to Ocean City. We are hoping to make some great improvements to the rooms this winter, so we look forward to having you again next summer! More 

Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have always stayed at The Sahara Motel when visiting Ocean City. This past visit we tried The Empress Motel as we had heard it was now a sister property to The Sahara! What a great little motel. We decided to have quick getaway for the weekend and we were curious about The Empress and just had to check it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LAXMOM2009
j w, General Manager at Empress Motel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you gave the Empress a try for your weekend getaway and are ecstatic that you had such a great experience. We greatly appreciate your excellent review above. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 km away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#76 of 108 in Ocean City
489 reviews
0.7 km away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 108 in Ocean City
490 reviews
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 108 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.2 km away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#18 of 108 in Ocean City
393 reviews
0.3 km away
Ocean Mecca Motel
Ocean Mecca Motel
#82 of 108 in Ocean City
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Empress Motel is a fabulous place for a family vacation. Choose from a standard room, fully equipped efficiencies or apartments. Each standard room includes a air conditioning/heat, refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV, and daily maid service. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in our sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Empress Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Empress Motel

Address: 20th Street and Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Empress Motel Ocean City
Empress Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Empress Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Empress Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“first floor is best (only 3 floors tall but no elevator)”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM452, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 88edc, 6 Nov 2014 | Read review
“They have rooms on the back of the building with balconies, you can see the boardwalk, beach and ocean!”
 of 5 bubbles LAXMOM2009, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Try to get 2nd or 3rd floor, you can see the beach out the back window past the next row of buildings (it's on the back side of the beach on the main street). Corner room was nice because of lack of neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles 711jonathanw, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Bring your own instant coffee, coffee cups and hand towels.”
  • same old bedspreads, sigh.
 of 5 bubbles genoac, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5