We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 290: English reviews
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I just returned from a two day stay at this hotel and loved the entire experience. We chose this hotel for our college reunion and all five of us in our party loved it. The location is probably the best on the island and the hotel staff was always courteous and extra helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary bikes & helmets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rrtraveler88
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We’re so glad you were able to get the band back together in Edgartown! We’re delighted that your whole group enjoyed their stay. Thanks for the high marks on our location and staff, and we’re thrilled that you were able to take the Schwinns out for an island tour. Looking forward to your return visit!

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed 6 October 2016

we stayed here last year for our 20th anniversary. upon arrival we were delighted to find that they had upgraded us to a nicer suite than what we'd booked -(the sqibnocket) it was truly wonderful. we loved our time at this hotel. all of the staff were so friendly & helpful. our suite was cozy & the balcony was perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kyralanequenan
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words and for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! Vineyard Square has truly become home for all of our staff, and we're delighted to see that our guests feel the same way. Hope to see you back on the island!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Just finished a stay at this hotel in Edgartown. An old property and the room reflected it. We had a queen size room that was quite large. Bed was comfortable though slightly on the squishy side. My rating is just average because the bathroom was surprisingly small. So small that the sink needed to be in the bedroom! I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harcapster
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing relaxed luxury in the heart of Edgartown, so we’re glad to hear that you found your room spacious, comfortable, and well-located. We also acknowledge that, at more than a century old, our historic building does indeed have a few eccentricities. We certainly hope these quirks didn't interrupt your island relaxation....

Maryland
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We selected this hotel because of the good reviews. It was a nice place though a bit outdated and worn. I was given a handicap accessible room so it was a little larger. Our other family members got a regular room which was small. We had a little difficulty figuring out how to work the air conditioning unit. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsGME
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Sounds like you found some of our favorite spots to kick back during your stay — the porch is ideal on warm day. We’re glad you enjoyed our signature breakfast and took full advantage of the perks of being right in town. As you mentioned, our Cozy rooms are indeed cozy, so we always recommend giving us a call so...

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

What a lovely getaway! I can not wait to come back. Everything was perfect. Everyone was wonderful! ! The staff was helpful in pointing out which lovely beaches were the ones worth going to in our short trip. Everything we needed was provided. The continental breakfast was above expectations! This hotel is now at the top of my list of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gschuck
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

And this is now one of our favorite reviews! We're delighted that you had a perfect stay on the Vineyard. Our front desk team adores helping guests find hidden gems on the island, so we're glad you got to chat with them! Here's to more tasty breakfasts, beach days, and relaxing getaways on the island!

New York
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Great location nears shops and restaurants. Our one bedroom suite had a great bed, small kitchen and a view of the Edgartown harbor. The furnishings were a bit dirty and chipped. Front desk does its job but lacks warmth. The breakfast is standard. All in all a decent but not stellar experience.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NewYorkWendy
ny
Reviewed 19 September 2016

the lobby and front porch are very nice. The rooms, however, are junky. they need to be updates. The breakfast is good and that was why we stayed here. Parking is about two blocks away so if you have trouble walking that could be a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ccwebsNy
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay. Our front porch is one of our favorite spots on the island, so we’re pleased you were able to enjoy it. We’re also flattered that you chose us for our delicious, complimentary breakfast. In regards to your room, we apologize that it wasn’t up to your standards. We’re continuously working...

massachusetts
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed at the Vineyard square for our 34th wedding anniversary on September 11th. We arrived early and our room was not ready-not a problem but I was told I would receive a text when our room was ready and we did not receive one. We went back at 6ish and we were told our room was ready. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawaii046
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your detailed feedback! If you're open to it, I'd love to discuss your experience in more depth. I reached out with my email last week, so feel free to respond to me directly — any additional information you can provide will help us improve the Vineyard Square experience.

Woodbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My family of 4 enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Vineyard Square a couple of weeks ago. We stayed in one of the 2 bed suites named Katama and enjoyed the fact that we had plenty of space to relax, enjoy a spectacular view of the harbor, a small kitchenette, and two full bathrooms. Originally we weren't sure whether we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wraa85
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the kind review and for making Edgartown your island home — as much as we'd consider ourselves beach bums, there's really nothing like being in the middle of downtown, is there? It was a pleasure to get to chat with your sons about the island, and we'd love to welcome you and your family back anytime!

Falmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We came over from the Cape to celebrate an anniversary. The room was clean, neat and well appointed. The bed was so incredibly comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Located in the middle of everything, this place is a winner. We will be back for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
Wesley D, General Manager at Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Congratulations on your anniversary, Susan — we're so thrilled that we were able to be a part of your celebration. Thanks so much for your kind review, and we hope to see you back on the island!

956 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (882)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Chappaquidick One-Bedroom Luxury Suite (114)
Viewed
Cozy Double Room - #309 (59)
Viewed
Cozy Double Room - #403 (55)
Viewed
Harborview Room (68)
Viewed
Nunnepog Two-Bedroom Luxury Suite (168)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite with 2 Double Beds (105)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (104)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Standard Room - #208 (56)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Standard Room - #310 (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.5 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
899 reviews
10.4 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
750 reviews
8.4 km away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.5 km away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#1 of 10 in Edgartown
465 reviews
0.0 km away
Kelley House
Kelley House
#7 of 10 in Edgartown
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking Edgartown harbor and the historic waterfront district, this Martha’s Vineyard hotel is just steps from world class shopping and dining in downtown Edgartown. Guests gather on the welcoming porch and front garden square, share island experiences, and chat with the knowledgeable staff. Come visit and discover a mixture of "beach modern" style and warmth; an unexpected blend of history, popular art, spa services, harbor views and exceptional, upscale cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites

Address: 38 N Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539-8145 (Formerly Colonial Inn)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Price Range: RM333 - RM1,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Square Hotel And Suites
Vineyard Square Hotel Edgartown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the suites. The higher the floor level, the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles mrslupner, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early especially during holiday weeks”
 of 5 bubbles htak2016, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great harbor views”
 of 5 bubbles rrtraveler88, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get help with luggage if on the upstairs floors.”
 of 5 bubbles MsGME, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room on the top floor by the veranda. Room 402 which is a corner room was awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles hawaii046, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5