We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We live in Florida, but had to make a quick trip to New England for a funeral. We booked the Best Western due to location. We were in the back building next to on ramp for 495. Could not ask for a more convenient location. I had to run into Boston to pick up family from Logan a couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reba L
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

I am terrible sorry for your loss. We appreciate you choosing Best Western as your hotel while in town. It is nice to hear that the location along with the friendly staff made your stay a good one. We hope to see you again for a happier occasion next time. More 

Ballston Lake, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I have visited this motel for on going 8 yrs, and suddenly there was new staff, and my price went up by 20 or more dollars. When I arrived in spite of telling them I was arriving late and even called to tell them I was 45 minutes out, my single single was stifling hot, and smelly. This trip I... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ellen-Joanne B
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

I am terrible sorry you found your room hot upon arrival. We try to pre-cool in the summer months and pre-heat in the winter so that our guests are comfortable upon arrival to the room. I apologize this did not happen this time for you. I hope you are able to give us another chance in the future. I appreciate... More 

Travellers are raving about these Haverhill hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed it here. We were given a nice quiet room upstairs as we had requested. Good facilities & a nice swimming pool. Very pleasant staff. Good breakfast. I would recommend without hesitation. Immediately opposite all sorts of shops including a large Market Place where we sorted out our supper.

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your quite room and happy our staff was so pleasant and helpful. More 

Haverhill, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Booked room was in newly renovated portion of hotel.. Room had balcony, comfortable bed, new furniture and very clean bathroom. Stayed for 6 days and hotel was quiet. Across the street is a plaza with Market Basket, restaurant. Hotel is conveniently located next to Route 495,

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn A
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel while in the area. We are very pleased you enjoyed your updated room. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Mooresville, NC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The hotel charged us twice for the room. When we found out about this we were in Maryland and consequently out of funds to buy gas or a hotel room. The hotel would not help us for either. We had to stay in the car overnight. The next day we continued driving to NC after the debit card company restored... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the trouble with the billing and the problems it caused. We hope you will come back again to give us a chance to provide excellent service. More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

At least part of this hotel is old and tired and does not meet the Best Western standard that I've become accustomed to. A serious upgrade or a serious drop in price is required to match up the value here. I will not stay here again for the price I paid. I have stayed at other Best Western's in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel did not meet standards. You will be pleased to know that we have a renovation that is in the process of being scheduled. We hope that once this is complete you consider staying with us again. More 

Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

If not for the fact I had a nonrefundable reservation I would have kept on driving. The hotel had trash in flower beds and parking lot. Halls and room had musty smell and dust everywhere. I must say the bed was comfy and no noise to be heard. The pancake machine was broken. The hotel staff seemed like they did... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank noraasgranny
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We will take your comments and learn from them. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you are able to give us another chance in the future. More 

Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Has everything a traveler expects but the hotel is fairly old and the rooms we were in definitely showed it. The staff were excellent and the location was great to be able to get to local attractions such as Canobie Lake or Hampton Beach. Internet and breakfast also met expectations for a BW hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rob O
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I am so glad you found our location perfect for summer fun and our hotel was able to provide all the amenities you needed to enjoy your stay. Pleas note that we do have a major renovation coming down the pipeline that with fix the age of the property. We hope to see you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Mari was extremely helpful during our stay, she was quick to answer any questions and provide us with information on the area. Jose also helped me finding things in the area and giving me a background.

Helpful?
Thank Jose P
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our area. We look forward to your next trip here. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Just needed an overnight stay on the way to Bangor. Older hotel, no elevator and Breakfast downstairs from where we were. That being said it was a good price at $124.00 and the room was small but very clean with frig and microwave plus a safe. Had trouble finding our room but Robert (front desk) guided us and couldn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank terryVDR
Manager22031, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind notes about our hotel and staff. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon. More 

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverhill
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Haverhill
Hampton Inn Haverhill
#1 of 2 in Haverhill
454 reviews
10.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Salem
Red Roof Inn Salem
#3 of 4 in Salem
209 reviews
8.8 km away
Days Hotel & Conference Center - Methuen MA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Park View Inn Inc.
Park View Inn Inc.
#1 of 4 in Salem
193 reviews
10.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
11.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Andover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley is located in Haverhill, MA. We offer a full hot complimentary breakfast, wireless internet throughout the building, as well as ample parking. We are situated right off of Interstate 495 Exit 49 which is very convenient for traveling throughout New England. We love having you stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley

Address: 401 Lowell Avenue, Haverhill, MA 01832
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Haverhill
Price Range: RM371 - RM447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Merrimack Valley Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Hotel Haverhill
Best Western Haverhill
Haverhill Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Merrimack Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at back quiet”
 of 5 bubbles X683OGmarks, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles W1419ZDstever, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for main floor no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles terryVDR, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a king size bed room it was lovely. Nice seating area, desk, fridge, wardrobe, lots of nice pillows, also a nice large TV”
 of 5 bubbles carlaf689, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have elevator access”
 of 5 bubbles aggiemom99, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay